The Range Employee Reviews

Found 583 reviews matching the search See all 609 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak management, lazy work ethic
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bangor, Gwynedd7 December 2018
Without doubt the worst place I have worked.

Lazy manager with equally useless assistants (barring one who actually grafts)

No direction or targets, easy if you want to slack.
Pros
nothing expected of you
Cons
The grafters have to pick up the slack of pretty much everybody
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place i have ever worked!
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wishaw, North Lanarkshire6 December 2018
This company is a joke the senior management was nothing but corrupt bullies during my time at this store I saw the deputy manager throw, flip and break stock at morning meetings, threaten to attack staff after work at a morning meeting, steal stock on numerous occasions, turn up to work drunk and have relationships with members of staff that he would then get promoted to positions of management even although they had no clue what they were doing, while all this was going on if it was ever reported to the store manager she would dismiss it all refuse to investigate any leads and threaten people with deformation of the deputies character, there was 3 full blown grevences conducted against the deputy while is worked here and in everyone despite the evidence against him the " independant " store managers that would come in to conduct these would seek statements from his group, would dismiss things they couldnt get him away with, and told everyone who put a grevance in against him that it was all fiction and just a dislike that had been taken to him. I witnessed 4 people stand against him in a grevance and after he was helped out of every situation these 4 people were bullied worse and all either left or were dismissed within 4 months of giving their statements. This place is 1 rule for a brown nose and 1 rule for anyone who wasn't. Power hungry idiots that do not have a clue how to run a store and when questioned they will blame anyone that isn't one of their group. DO NOT WORK HERE you will be over worked as they refuse to hire staff where it is needed you will be doing the work  more... of 3 people and paid minimum wage for doing it no extra for night shift or bank holidays you are just a number here no loyalty or rewards. I saw atleast 20 staff go on the sick with depression due to this place and it was always to do with the store manager and deputy store manager. Terrible working environment glad I got out  less
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Everything about working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
degrading
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Andover, UK3 December 2018
classic sales assistant role despite feeling more like a supervisor without the badge never enough staff customers treat you like you're nothing and there's no help from management apart from the occasional fist bump or cringey staff meeting that's meant to "bring the team closer together"
Pros
actually nothing
Cons
the job itself
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible work place
Customer service advisor (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, West Yorkshire1 December 2018
I absolutely hated working for this company long hours terrible management, as well as that management don't respect the staff that work for the company at all! I was treated terribly and they cut my hours and refused to show me a copy of my contract and didn't give me a copy to take home for my files either so I couldn't complain about my role as I had no proof of what that role was!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fab
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire29 November 2018
fab team, company are always happy to help but I would like to try something else. 25% discount is always very handy . love coming in and seeing my colleges everyday. Grown a relationship with customers.
Pros
25% discount
Cons
Have work week get day off
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worse place to work
Retail assistant full time (Former Employee) –  Slough, Berkshire28 November 2018
I have never seen lazy staff and supervisor goes and tell the manager that staff don't do nothing and the staff who work hard gets in to trouble and the management will take the supervisor side
Pros
None
Cons
The management don't care about the staff who work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Livingston, West Lothian27 November 2018
A typical day at work was always busy, a lot of customers in the store at once and many tasks to be undertaken.
I learned a lot about customer service whilst working at the range and also about team work and communication. The management was great, they always had team meetings to discuss the targets of the day and they always ensured personal employee meetings to ensure that we were comfortable and had no concerns. The hardest part of the job was dealing with customer complaints about our regulations as some customers did not agree with how things were run but as a sales assistant I had no input in these decisions. The most enjoyable part was meeting new people everyday and working with my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be good
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Leicester15 November 2018
I love working at the range. They have tought me a lot of things and gave me a chance. I feel I can't go any where else with the range at this time so it's my time for a change
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic Company
Full Time General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nottingham14 November 2018
Only apply if you are absolutely desperate for money, be prepared to be spoke to like rubbish, threatened with disciplinarys every other week when you are doing your job as best you can

I could go on forever to be honest but i dont want to waste any more time on this company, just look elsewhere for employment.
Pros
Bad discount, Good team on shop floor just badly managed.
Cons
Forced into hours not agreed in contract, Terrible management, managers are bullies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Work Experience) (Former Employee) –  Rhyl14 November 2018
I liked how everyone worked within a team and always helped one another when asked. I enjoyed communicating with customers and helping them find what they were looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report

Want to know more about The Range?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher management a joke
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Midlands14 November 2018
When they decide they have had enough of you, your gone whether you are an asset to the company or not. Used to be a good company to work for, now its a dictatorship by jumped up clusters or lazy s/m
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experience placement
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire11 November 2018
It was very welcoming with kind employees. I really enjoyed my week there because I had to different duties everyday and I really enjoyed delivery stock placing. I learned that you have to put effort when working in an environmental retail store. The hardest part of the job was printing the prices for the new stock because I really needed a lot help when using the computer.
Pros
Long breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working and professional
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Erdington9 November 2018
my general work day was starting to fix up the section i worked in as well as help any customer find what they were looking for. it was a hard day of work but it was very enjoyable because i was always on my feet and each day brought something different.
Pros
long breaks
Cons
always left to face up alone
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bracknell6 November 2018
The workers and customers were very nice and good to have a civil chat with. The working hours weren’t in unsociable hours so can go to work and still have a life outside of it aswell
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best example of good retailing practice
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Bromwich31 October 2018
made some lovely friends along the way most of whom have left already. 2 sales manager & 3 office manager within 2 years and numerous supervisors have departed. there have been only a handful of staff serving longer than 2 years
Pros
Close to home
Cons
long hours, poor training management structure, high turnover of staff at all levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swindon30 October 2018
i enjoyed my time here all the staff were very friendly and easy to get on with i enjoyed going in and getting to help out customers with anything that they needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the range
Part Time Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Worthing, West Sussex30 October 2018
The range is a good start out job but throughout the time the management hasn't been secure there has been several different managers and different instructions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Worthing, West Sussex26 October 2018
A typical day at work was consistently busy. I learnt customer service. The management at The Range is overall very well managed. The most enjoyable part of the job was always making sure the stock was out and the shelves were filled. The Range has a positive vibe and collegues were easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Grimsby19 October 2018
Awful company to work for, make anyone a supervisor to spy on the staff, office staff hardly do any work,sit in office, drink tea and moan about the staff.
Pros
A few good staff
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hectic
warehouse manager (Former Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees17 October 2018
no such thing as a typical day , each day different in many ways, from not knowing what deliveries were coming in to what jobs would be given to you to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport