The Old Vicarage Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad place to work
Manager informed (Former Employee) –  Vicarage11 September 2019
I worked there for approx 6 weeks in August 2018. Very bad management and staff. Had whistle blow on this company.
Staff was mainly made up of family. If your face did not fit your work life was not pleasurable. If you brought any thing up that was not standard, you was screamed and swore at by the manager at the time and told to shut up or get out.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good service poor company
Swanton Care & Community - Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Norwich14 August 2019
good staff team in service but company is poor in recognising and respecting staff in service. good staff would often leave and move on. residents were lovely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homely residence
Senior Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hornby, Lancashire13 July 2019
Great team, beautiful place, lovely place to work.
Pros
Lovely meals
Cons
At times, could be very busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vicarage30 July 2018
I enjoyed my time there, I was able to learn as I worked and there was a variety of people who was willing to help and provide advice. A good experience for anyone who wants to get their foot in the Health and Social Care field
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing management
Care worker (Current Employee) –  Vicarage8 July 2018
The management that runs this place go out of their way to ensure your comfort. The atmosphere is very calm and those who work in this place do whatever it takes to get the job done
Pros
Nice breaks, not super fast paced
Cons
Many responsibilities at once
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Bartender/Waitress (Current Employee) –  Bridgnorth, Shropshire5 July 2018
fun working here but can be stressful. limited pay rates and availability of shifts is poor. Otherwise it's a rather calm and nicely located place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful, uncaring, breaking the law
Events Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hinton19 February 2018
Worst "family run business" I've ever worked for. Minimum wage, no payslips, no tips/awards, no one is on the payroll system but they "deduct" the tax, HMRC have no truck of your employer so please ring and check. You get made "redundant" when you get asked to be put on the books and constantly ask for your payslips. Poor management, very disorganised and its run by teenagers.

Your pay never goes up even though your are told that it will with "experience".
Pros
free food at some events
Cons
disorganised, low pay, unsociable hours, bad communication etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First manger great second manger untrained.
Cleaner , care assistant and kitchen assistant. (Former Employee) –  Churchill, Somerset17 January 2018
I worked there for 9 years , my first manager was very understanding and easy to approach and talk to but when she left and someone else took over they were not very professional , wouldn't listen to what I needing to tell her , she just giggled most of the time and wouldn't take anything seriously which made it hard to approach her and discuss issues and problems in the work place ( personal and work related ) this is the reason that I left the old Vicerage as I didn't want to be treated that way.
Pros
Residents
Cons
Second manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking and upbeat place
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bolton26 September 2017
At the old vicarage everyone is always up and going always busy and keeping on their feet to provide the best care for the residents. Everyone is friendly and very helpful.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
No pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely family run business
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chippenham, Wiltshire5 June 2017
I really enjoyed working for The old Vicarage they will look after you and greta as part of the family. I was very sad to have to leave due to moving out of the area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff
Senior Care Assistant/Carer (Former Employee) –  North Shields, Tyne and Wear30 March 2017
Great team to work with, would jump in to cover at the drop of a hat, all professional at their jobs.

Residents and families are all lovely and work great with staff, all professionals that come in get on well with all staff.
Pros
Great Team
Cons
Long hours and too many changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Teamwork
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Immingham, UK9 March 2017
The day would consist of getting the clients washed and dressed ready for their daily meals.

I learned emapthy for the physically and mentally chalenged adults. and gained an understanding of how they lived their lives with the problems they had.

The most enjoyable part of the job was making sure they were healthy well looked after and comfortable.
Pros
Goos teamwork
Cons
Not enough training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and homely workplace.
WAITING/Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Saint Ives2 December 2016
As a small guest house, the Old Vicarage is run by brilliant, understanding management. There was no a single day I disliked about it, due to the fun waitering and housekeeping.

By fun, I mean the guests are a welcome sight to greet and talk to, and they are usually ever so glad to see a familiar waiter/waitress. Some give tips, which is always a bonus.

Housekeeping is a treat as time management isn't strict, but reasonable, for example if you aren't used to the job you're given room to develope your own method of cleaning the rooms, and if you miss something you are given constructive feedback that helps instead of negative critisism.
Pros
Kind, welcoming management. Free breakfasts for staff.
Cons
Seasonal work hours. Not guaranteed during out-of-season months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Support worker (Current Employee) –  Norwich16 November 2016
at the old vicarage, its a productive place to work at, you have to help people and give them advice. i learned how to talk to people with confidence and tell them what i think is right. the staff are all friendly. the hardest part of the job is succeeding with a client and make sure you have worked the hardest you can and the most enjoyable part of it is seeing someone improve
Pros
lunch
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Support Worker/Carer (Current Employee) –  old vicarage16 November 2016
a typical day is where me and the staff are having a laugh while working, singing songs and having a real great laugh. i learned to speak confidently and care more about facial expression while speaking and tone of voice i use. my co-workers are very lovely happy people and are a pleasure to work with. the hardest part of the job is to stay focused throughout the long period of time youre there. the most enjoyable part of the job is getting paid haha xxx
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun and Educational
catering assistant (Former Employee) –  Truro19 January 2016
In a typical day's work i would prepare caked, chop and prepare vegetables, act as kitchen porter and wait tables.

I learned how to set up dinning tables professionally. Working at a tea room was a therapeutic experience and i would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in catering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive rewarding work
care worker nights (Former Employee) –  Whitwick, ENG12 December 2015
i was a senior care worker and deputy manager at this home, i was learning the trade and understanding of people with special needs. Very rewarding at times and challenging at others, the care system was going through a lot of changes at this time moving from old school care to the present day personal centered care.
Pros
very enjoyable
Cons
staff related difficulties, sometimes short staff and long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Office work, domestic cleaning, general assistant (Former Employee) –  Frampton9 October 2015
For the last one I cant say much as I only worked there for work experience. There where just couple days of experience for me, i mainly worked with older people and helped out with cleanijng there rooms and sorted many helpful and easy tasks. It wasn't the nicest environement as you had to come in contact with old people wich where ill on the other hand you could learn a lot, it was mainly a week for me to see how a wrok environment looks like. I spent time there with my Step-dad as he worked there.,
Pros
Valuable work experience
Cons
Depresing Environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and rewarding job
Home Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vicarage, ENG27 August 2015
This job is a very physically demanding job but makes it worth while as we help vulnerable adults who are often unable to assist themselves with day to day tasks. These include any personal care an dressing, also some are unable to feed themselves to which we also assist.
Very rewarding work an have a good team of staff who I am able to delegate if im running the shift.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long demanding hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sunderland, ENG17 July 2015
excellent place to work i really enjoy my job and work to the highest standard to the best of my ability. i have worked here for eight year with two years works experience prior to that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Old Vicarage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 27 reviews
59
48
35
22
13

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

The Old Vicarage Reviews by Location