The National Archives Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
History comes to life
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Department3 December 2019
I have been a Senior Manager for over 15 years and love working here. It has a great ambience, culture and benefits especially salary and pension. My only grumble would be poor HR leadership from interim Head of HR compared to previous successors. departments work collaboratively across varying work streams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job in the heritage sector
Archive Supervisor and Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kew, London31 May 2019
This was a full time position and my first in the heritage sector. This was a target of mine as it would give me more job satisfaction as I have a passion for history.

however some of the staff were unfriendly and some weeks you worked six days in a row.
Pros
job satisfaction
Cons
unfriendly colleagues and long working week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond upon Thames, Greater London5 December 2018
Great atmosphere, nice colleagues, excellent facilities, including free museum and parking. Wellbeing is good and we hold an annual wellbeing day for staff every spring. Work areas are clean and clear of clutter and there are kitchens on every floor to make tea and lunch etc. As a relatively new manager, I feel things could be improved such as more joined up cross department working and better management of workloads within teams. In house recruitment guidance is very limited which is a sentiment expressed across the organisation. Cleaners don’t seem to clean desks etc as regularly as other offices I have worked in.
Pros
Location, salary, pension
Cons
seagulls and swans
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Management9 November 2018
I have been working here for over 5 years in a strategic and leadership position. I have found colleagues to be very friendly, highly qualified and very engaged in what they do. The archives are situated in a beautiful estate with lakes, swans and lots or horticulture. I feel very valued as a member of staff and the salaries and benefits are good too. Free parking and close proximity to London makes it even more appealing. Great free museum and bookshop onsite with a good coffee bar.
Pros
Location, pension, wellbeing events
Cons
Poorly led recruitment team, local traffic
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work place
Document Service Adviser (Current Employee) –  London22 October 2018
There are a lot of different roles to fill in a variety of departments. There are events held all year round showcasing the most interesting documents.
Pros
Good HR Department
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Document Services Operator (Former Employee) –  Kew22 May 2018
Enjoyed working here. Worked in a small team, learnt the functionalities of an archive and basic preservation and research skills. Good workplace culture and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and interesting place to work
Records Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kew9 February 2018
A friendly work environment with flexibility in start and end times for the working day. Working with the records is fascinating and the job itself provides variety and some opportunities to develop skills in records expertise and management and operational procedures and leadership.
Pros
Generous Annual Leave
Cons
Salary could aslot more competative
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Documentation Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London25 January 2018
My typical day at work was 8:50am-5pm, and every 3rd week 11am-7pm two days a week.

I learned a lot about how the company operates, as well as the history of the building and contents inside.

Management was great in this job very friendly and a joy to be around. Hardest part of the job was probably lifting the heavy boxes and transporting the documents, Most enjoyable part would be the work environment and work colleagues.
Pros
3hrs worth of break to take throughout the day
Cons
sometimes can be draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red tape
Security officer (Former Employee) –  Kew16 October 2017
Great team of people who are friendly with strong work ethics but government red tape seems to prevent any sensible decisions from being made. Needs an HR overhaul
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse work with minimal chances to process.
Document Controller (Current Employee) –  Kew Gardens Station14 September 2017
I have nothing nice to say. As it very unfair culture in department and therefore can not and will not express my feelings of job. Other than it's main role is similar to warehouse and time base work.
Pros
0 pros
Cons
Empty promises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Photographers Assistant (Former Employee) –  London17 August 2017
Amazing place to work, lovely people and never get bored there. there is always something new to work on every single day. Wasnt there for long but would suggest to work there.
Pros
beautiful area
Cons
hot in the rooms
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teams were great, not so much fun if you don't like history
Document Services Operator (Former Employee) –  Kew6 January 2017
Spent a lot of time handling the documents in the repositories. My co-workers were very helpful when I got stuck. Management for the individual repositories was very good, however, general management I found to be disorganised and somewhat biased with their decisions in hiring and firing people, tending to favour family and friends over those who were "outsiders". The hardest part was the amount of work and the speed with which documents had be sent down to the reading rooms, but, I did enjoy getting a rare look at documents I might not have seen.
Pros
great team, interesting items
Cons
poor management, biased decisions
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training Provider
Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Kew Richmond2 November 2016
This company is part of the civil service and is currently undergoing a reorganisation within many of its diverse departments, Training is avaailable for certain members of staff but not fotr everyone
Pros
Flexitime
Cons
Unpaid overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone was very help full and it is a very fun place too work
Document searcher (Former Employee) –  London25 September 2016
Everyone who works there is very helpful and they are really friendly and it is such a welcoming place too work.
And people there are always happy to help if you get stuck
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Manager
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Kew6 November 2015
Day to day running of a Security team and Control room, using personal skills to help improve the service to the customers and users of the Archive. Use of electronic systems to ensure the safety of all users and the protection of the building and it's contents. Manage a team of up to 30 offices 24/7, training programmes for new team members and working out rota's to ensure all duties were covered. Working with other departments and agencies to give advice on security measures and procedures. Liaise with our comers on focus groups to give a more customer friendly approach to security. Recruitment and progression manager or the Security team .
Pros
Good training and team working
Cons
Shift vwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely building, varied work, nice customers and a terrible manager.
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kew, ENG30 October 2013
the manager changed in the short time i was there fro a really friendly, hard working, team player manager. who was respectful and understanding, the best manager i ever had to a rude, selfish, inconsiderate slave driver. the building is amazing and the customers were interesting and generally nice people.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
0 hours contract, hard to get a lunch break, hot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The National Archives. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 18 reviews
56
47
34
20
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

The National Archives Reviews by Location