The Grove Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 112 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No life/work balance
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Narberth31 August 2019
The grove expected me to work over Christmas and on Christmas Day this isn’t something to ask a 17 year old that’s working part time while trying to balance school, home life and work life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work, well looked after and great benefits
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire9 March 2019
Great family vibe, free lunch, free use or the gym, free annual stay, discount on food, there’s a nursery, plus plus plus. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and plenty of career opportunities to develop. And it’s local .....
Pros
Fantastic company benefits, friendly team
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun to work when events where on
Bar Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Walton-on-Thames12 June 2018
Wasnt the best job i had but it helped pay the bills.

the events that went on where good to work with and loved the customers that come in.

the customers that come where great to be around

i enjoyed the happy atmosphere
Pros
flexiable hours
Cons
not good communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing good to say
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Watford20 January 2018
i would not recommend any one to go work there i gave a lot to the organisation and got nothing but slack back. I am so glad i have moved and and do not have to go back there to work ever again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And fun work place very friendly environment
Spa Attendant (Current Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire7 September 2017
I have been working here almost 1and half years. I'm really enjoying it really friendly environment staff and people. The staff benefit is really good and incredible. The have learn so much good things here . It is a wonderful place to work .
Pros
Free lunch, spa facilities free for staff, gym, 50% discount on food etc.
Cons
8hrs shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside4 August 2017
This was the first bar work i had, i learned to serve drinks, use the till, talk to customers, also taking deliveries, stockings fridges, staff were friendly management great, i also learned how to clean a pub
Pros
leart a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a beautiful place to work and benefits include a stay in the hotel.
Spa Therapist (Former Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire3 August 2017
Typically it is very booked up. There is a lot of massage to be done but they limit the number each therapist does generally. There is training and regular chances to update your skills.
The management at the top is strong and you work closely with the gym team who are in the same part of the building. The culture is one of customer service.
The turnaround time between clients is very tight and this can be challenging due to the length of the corridor because you need to move briskly yet quietly with in unhurried appearance!
There is a good rapport among the therapists which is enjoyable.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
The spa is underground which means you often don't see much light especially in the winter months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Watford, Hertfordshire27 February 2017
Very high end, excellent quality and i have learnt a lot whilst being here, upselling is one of my key skills that helps me as well as building relationships with the guests
Pros
Free food in canteen, money off hotel and golf course
Cons
limited hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and professional
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Watford, ENG29 September 2015
Whole hotel works together to deliver a five star experience to all guests. The staff are offered many opportunities to advance and are encouraged to complete training sessions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 13Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  London, ENG7 September 2015
I really enjoyed working with all my co workers they were cooperative and well mannered. Human Resources were treating everyone equally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Huddersfield, ENG1 October 2013
Get in go into the store cupboard get the cleaning products out start cleaning the tables then hoover the floors. Then go in and clean the toilets and sinks. Then clean the bar along with the pumps and mopping the floor behind the bar, then put all the cleaning stuff away.I learnt how to clean a bar and toilets properly. The manager was very nice. I worked on my own. Their wasn't a hard part of the job. Making friend with the staff and manager.
Pros
learned how to clean the pub from top to bottom
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 77Report

See more The Grove reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Grove. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 112 reviews
536
419
329
215
113

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

The Grove Reviews by Location