The Body Shop Employee Reviews for Customer Service Representative

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting job, terrible management
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Winchester, Hampshire18 June 2018
The training you receive is amazing, you really get to know a lot about all the products, as well as great selling techniques. Pay is fair. But that's about where the good ends unfortunately. Management is a joke, you have very little support and feel alienated from the management team, as they have a very superior attitude. You are expected to work an insane amount of overtime, no matter how many hours your contract is. You are disciplined for things that are out of your control, such as illness or unavoidable lateness (transportation problems etc). Too much focus on individual sales targets and not enough on what actual customers want or need, so you're forced to pester them relentlessly as soon as they step in the door. Had several people complain about the amount we are required to bug them, but you are forced to do it and it annoys people.Overall, I wouldn't recommend working in this location unless you are used to a very highly sales driven environment and are never ever ill and have 30 backup plans for getting into to work on time if something goes wrong. Also be prepared to work many more hours than expected (I usually worked 20 hours a week more than I should have been).
Pros
good training
Cons
aggressive management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice products
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Gatwick13 May 2018
Interesting to learn about make up and skincare, product training provided was very interesting and staff discount appealing. Colleagues were mostly easy to get on with and support from head office good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
customer service executive (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London16 March 2018
working at the body shop was a good experience also i enjoyed this new challenge and coming out of my comfort zone.
the hardest part of the job was putting everything back in the right order on the shelves.
Pros
free perfume
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultant
Customer consultant (Former Employee) –  Fort Kinnaird edinburgh4 February 2018
My day would start of by finding out wat the targets were for the store and individuals departments.
The I would monitor this on a daily and end of week targets.
Merchandise store to plan if there was changes.
Guide and advise customers on what they are looking for, demonstrate on customer.
Keep store clean.
Work on delivery and replenish.

End of night would do safe check and cash up tills
Would help train new colleges
Pros
Incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job but management was not good at the time
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  London2 February 2018
This was a very good job in a local store. The hours were good and there was always paid over time in my store. However the management at the time was not very professional and an incidnet at the work place caused many people to leave. The company, however, was very good to work with and the products are really nice. They have a good ethic and moral code.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun while it lasted
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Croydon, Greater London31 January 2018
- Be prepared have flexible and changeable hours without choice.
- Be preapared to be dropped instantly if the hours you provide aren’t needed.
- Read up on products so you can satisfy your customers to the fullest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment but repetitive work
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  England4 January 2018
Your experience at the Body Shop will be largely dependent on the team with which you work. Customer consultants are expected to interact constantly with customers.
Pros
Good staff discount
Cons
Repetitive work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Doncaster9 October 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed my time working for The Body Shop, great staff, great benefits and overall lovely place to work. Would highly recommend, only left due to seeking further full time employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
CUSTOMER CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear16 September 2017
A Christmas time job earning lots of experience and learning a little about the world of work, enjoyed my time and other staff. lots of happy joyful customers
Pros
discount on products
Cons
temp contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic workplace
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bury, Greater Manchester5 September 2017
right throughout my employment at the body shop i was always granted work benefits and was treat equally throughout by my peers and supervisors, great company overall
Pros
great work staff
Cons
competitive sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex4 September 2017
I have loved my job at The Body Shop I just wish they could of given me what I wanted! I had to relocate to get the hours I wanted yet it wasn't the same due to the traveling I had to do and although it should only be a 40 min journey, giving our train service down south I was traveling to long etc
Pros
Incredible benefits
Cons
Low contracted hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting company with great beauty products
Customer Consultant/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Euston, Greater London10 August 2017
I enjoyed my time at The Body Shop. Unfortunately due to lack of career progression and working long hours I was inclined to look for a better job elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace but lacks organisation
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Walton-on-Thames, Surrey26 June 2017
I enjoy working at The Body Shop, but no job comes without its negatives. I found that the job itself is fast passed with high goals and expectations, However i feel that the organisation of the store can be improved, finding replacements that are qualified and appropriate for the position is difficult thus resulting in some inconsistency.

The job requires a high knowledge of the products in order to appropriately sell the products.
Pros
excellent product training
Cons
organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful sales targets but good pay
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  London25 June 2017
Work days are calm and can be fun, a lot of product knowledge to learn, management was a bit unorganised, high turnover rate therefore hard to bond with colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool City Centre, Merseyside20 June 2017
I enjoyed working at the body shop as I met life long friends working there, you have the basic roles as any customer consultant and it is all about the customer, I found the the hardest part is that it is very target driven and sometimes that can be very stressful but not always. i would recommend working there as it has great ethics andd great products
Pros
half price products
Cons
high targets
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly good
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Telford13 June 2017
When i was there we had 3 managers, first was vile, second stole and was very manipulating, third was brilliant.
The body shop as a hole is very money driven, no fault of the team - its regional.
Very difficult to progress as the contracted hours are not worth the effort you put in to not get noticed.
Pros
Third manager
Cons
values
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent training and support
Customer Consultant (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Borehamwood, Hertfordshire4 May 2017
The Body Shop is a great company to work for in the retail sector.

The product training is very comprehensive and company policies and general atmosphere make for a fantastic work environment.
Pros
Great training on product information
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leamington Spa10 April 2017
nice environment to work in, worked on the shop floor helped out with customers and what they'd like to buy the latest offers and newest products. working out back would be hard but nice people to work with.
Pros
good lunch break
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and friendly place to work
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth, Dorset23 March 2017
Although working at the Body Shop was my first real job with a steady salary, the team there made me feel very at ease and comfortable around the new environment. My shifts varied from four hours to 6 hours, and my manager at the time was very supportive in terms of school and my other commitments and would always try her best to work around my busy schedule. The store itself had a fun vibe and I never found myself being bored during a shift as I was always busy. The most challenging part of the job was dealing with the slightly tricky members of the public every now and then as I sometimes felt overwhelmed, but as my time there carried, I got comfortable with dealing with these situations. The best part about working working at the body shop was the friendships I made with the others that worked there, everyone was so kind and never failed to make me smile. As a result of this, I still keep in touch with a few of them to this day, and have formed even closer friendships.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London1 January 2017
loved working here, great management and team. stick together as team to make sure target is always set, one of the best retail jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Body Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,273 reviews
5481
4423
3242
269
158

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

The Body Shop Reviews by Location