The Body Shop Employee Reviews in London

Found 53 reviews matching the search See all 1,392 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience
Customer Consultant and Makeup Expert (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 June 2018
It’s an ok company to work for. Great benefits and discount. Although the knowledge of skincare you need is astounding. The shop floor training could use some work as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre place to work, corrupt and obsolete
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  London21 May 2018
The only way for you to grow or progress is to be the Regional Manager personal friend (mainly the Greater London Region) . Nobody knows anything about anything, no organization, no proper training, no personnel development (managers), a lot of discrimination and very exploitative. TERRIBLE company to work for. The company doesn't practice what it preaches.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite stressful
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 March 2018
I worked as an assistant manager there and the although customers and the store itself was fun along with the products I found the constant push of making more and more sales day on day, week on week, year on year was not realistic.

Staff were expected to learn and remember many ingredients for products but had little time to read through or attend training. The short contracts for staff meant the commitment was hard to find and it also meant little security for those that did work there.

For example working 2 4 hour shifts 8-12, 12.30-4.30 meant management could say you weren't allowed an hour for lunch so it was hard work with deliveries and service with few breaks.
Pros
Products and friendships
Cons
few breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job but management was not good at the time
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  London2 February 2018
This was a very good job in a local store. The hours were good and there was always paid over time in my store. However the management at the time was not very professional and an incidnet at the work place caused many people to leave. The company, however, was very good to work with and the products are really nice. They have a good ethic and moral code.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant work environment
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London1 December 2017
brilliant positive work environment. Great management with a great team. i enjoy the challenge and thrill of sales, and customer interaction.
My personal lack of interest for the company made the job boring.
Cons
hours are not flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New way of thinking
Consultant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London22 November 2017
The Body Shop at Home is a great place to work in. You learn a lot very quickly and there is always new ideas to share with colleagues and customers. The job role is mainly based around creative sales and engaging with customers on a regular basis.

I've learned quite a few new sales techniques and how to deal with challenges that may arise, for example products not reaching customers on time and how to better engage with customers, i.e. via email, social networks etc..

Workplace culture is nice and very diverse - so you get to meet a lot of people from different backgrounds and try new things. The hardest part of the job would be facing challenges that you didn't see coming, but being patient and positive always helps, as help can come from any direction.

The most enjoyable would be receiving monthly bonuses like the body shop products and the consistent training that is available for whenever you need it and also your managers are always there to support via phone at short notice.
Pros
Diverse work life, bonuses and free products
Cons
Finding customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Customer Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London21 September 2017
Very generous discount for body shop products.

Awful management
Long standing hours without breaks
Late shifts up to 11 pm and then early shifts at 8 am in a row
Lifting heavy stock from basement to the 2nd floor
Pros
Good discount on products
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
scc/cc
Senior customer consultant/ customer consultant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 September 2017
the body shop in one of the best retail company's to work for. Your taught a lot about the products almost everyday which is amazing for both you and the customers. I would say the most enjoyable part of the job is working with a team that filled with young people keen to learn and move up. The hardest part is not being able to plan your life around your job due to rotas being sent out last minute every week.
Pros
good pay for retail
Cons
rota is given out late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not great
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 August 2017
little money for the amount of work you put in.
would not go back to working to the company as you get taken for granted and career development is poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Retail (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London18 August 2017
I created a good bond with my co-workers. I learnt what a typical day at work in retail would be like. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with unnecessarily rude customers. The staff were all great people and made me feel comfortable as well as being professional and creating a nice and comfortable environment for both the workers and the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store opening
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London7 August 2017
This was my first experience at opening a store, it was very exciting and I was responsible for stock, staff and running of the store during set up and thereafter.
Pros
learning new things
Cons
low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly workplace
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  London and Canterbury2 July 2017
Working at The Body Shop was one of the best experiences of employment I have ever had. Learning and progressing on the job, whilst working with a supportive, friendly and incredible team were two of the benefits of the job. A typical day at work would involve being briefed on sales targets for the day, specific focusses for the day, as well as being updated and trained on new products. Then working on the shop floor, whether it be assisting customers, or promoting new products at the front of the store. The hardest part of the job is probably stock-refill at the end of the day/during the day but these themselves are not particularly hard tasks. Most enjoyable part is working with a vibrant and enthusiastic team with helpful senior consultants and managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful sales targets but good pay
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  London25 June 2017
Work days are calm and can be fun, a lot of product knowledge to learn, management was a bit unorganised, high turnover rate therefore hard to bond with colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Job
Make Up Artist And Skincare Expert (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London12 May 2017
Not the best job ive had, The body shop overall is a very good company. However the branch i was in was very disappointing! Management were shocking. Didn't help with anything and was very rude. and staff was exactly the same.
Unlikely recommend!
Pros
Wages And Free Products
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 May 2017
working at the body shop was fun and i learnt a lot about customer satisfaction and how to perform and good customer service. as well as team working skills and communication skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Beauty therapist in Central London
Beauty Therapist (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 April 2017
This was my first exposure to working in one of the top capitals of the world.

I was exposed to high end customers who demanded the best.

I enjoyed working for the Body Shops because I believed in their ethics and ethos , they were genuine and forward thinking , I learnt alot about looking after our natural environment and supporting third world communitoes who were producing organic ingredients . They spearheaded this awareness.They were internationally recognised at the time and it was good to be part of this.

They put alot of time into training the staff on product knowledge and customer care.

They had a good management structure and we all worked well as a team.
Pros
The Body shop was the first cosmetic company to support saving the environment, and source organically produced ingredients from 3rd world communities
Cons
Commuting to and from central london
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like Learning about The products gaining knowledge training in make up
Sales (Former Employee) –  London23 April 2017
I really enjoy working at the body shop love the make up and skin care .
I use the products myself so tryed and tested bye an in store skin care adviser is the best way to provide your customer with a great understanding of The Body shop Products.
Great Team.
Long Hours.
Great Benefits and room for advancing within your current job roles.
Pros
Always training to have the best knowledge, development within the company
Cons
long hours. shift work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ethical and relaxed
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 April 2017
I loved working at The Body Shop. A very relaxed environment with lots of potential to further yourself. Management were always very friendly and accommodating with work hours and holidays.
Pros
good discount, flexible hours, good leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving small team, costumer service focus
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London29 March 2017
Great start for a fresh manager to run and drive Your very own team, focus on KPI and targets, good atmosphere, very good customer service experience,
Pros
staff discount, nice customers
Cons
small team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy workload for such a small retailer.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London28 March 2017
Day to day you are required to perform all levels of duties, Cleaning - shelves- demonstration areas- back of house,provide customer service, advice - quick learning of products essential, visual merchandising, cash control, maintaining the store's appearance.

I have learned that as a manager it is preferable to work in a larger store with a bigger team who provide a variety of skill sets- This way it is far easier to delegate tasks and not be contacted on days off.

Management are full of encouragement and celebrations but extremely critical when you are not performing, they expect a significant amount of reporting even if you were not part of the top 50 estate.

In terms of culture, the business is great, it has fantastic values, supports good causes and celebrates breaking the mold.
Pros
Decent bonus scheme, plenty of personal benefits.
Cons
Not a lot of support from regional stores if you should need any help with cover
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Body Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,392 reviews
5537
4451
3262
273
169

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture