The Body Shop Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job, questionable management.
Senior Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, Greater London15 November 2017
I worked for the company for two years and loved it, the company and the benefits are amazing. They are flexible, work around you and you get a great discount in store however I and few others from different stores had trouble with the management. From not hiring enough people to hold a store to favouritism (giving other people extra shifts over you, not giving you the time off you requested months ago). Other than that, amazing. Loved working there.
Pros
Great lunch breaks, store discount and free products.
Cons
Dodgy management, not enough or too much hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively and Customer Focused
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Gloucester15 November 2017
Customer focused and target driven. Hours and days of work change regularly. We work with members of the public trying to increase sales and promote offers
Pros
People I work with and Discount
Cons
Hours go up and down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich15 November 2017
Even though I only worked here for a short amount of time, I enjoyed every minute being here. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, they gave me all the help and support I could ask for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Tunbridge Wells, Kent10 November 2017
great way to meet new people and use lovely products, work your own hours, you get out of it what you put in. lots of support and fresh ideas to help build your business from managers.
Pros
lovely products
Cons
evening work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall6 November 2017
Good place to work with like minded people but hours and pay aren't great, management change regularly but having variety in your job keeps the role interesting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
retail assistant (Former Employee) –  Southport27 October 2017
Was a great company to work for and excelled high and fast through the company ladders. Unfortunately our store shut down, but whilst there I experienced manager level and enjoyed working with different members of staff.
Pros
Working with unique people
Cons
Not having enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and friendly
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Bromley23 October 2017
This is a great company to work for. They have different contractoral hours to work with and encourage you to climb higher in the eve expanding company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Beauty/Skincare Customor Consultant (Former Employee) –  Islington, Greater London10 October 2017
Cons-
There is "it's never enough" attitude from upper management.
A lot of pressure and horrible work/life balance
It was difficult to maintain sales goals with little to no stock
For minimum wage I think quite a lot is expected of Customer Consultants, the pay could be fairer

Pros-
Great products Great discount, very flexible with work schedule
Community fair trade, makes you feel proud of the company you work for
Pros
Half Price on the products
Cons
Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Doncaster9 October 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed my time working for The Body Shop, great staff, great benefits and overall lovely place to work. Would highly recommend, only left due to seeking further full time employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Values-led and non-hierarchical
Senior Artworker (Former Employee) –  East Croydon3 October 2017
The design studio is a great environment and creates close-knit teams.
The in-house studio operates similarly to a commercial external agency and the same pressure of timelines applies.
The company is built on high values and tries to maintain these.
The company expects additional non-work activities such as charitable work or supporting the stores at Christmas.
Pros
Involvement in a values-led company
Cons
Conflicting pressures
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive always busy
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Exeter, Devon29 September 2017
Was rewarding when you could show someone a product that would really bode well for them. It was also good to widen my knowledge on all the different products they have to offer and the way the engredients work well to make the product more effective
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Customer Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London21 September 2017
Very generous discount for body shop products.

Awful management
Long standing hours without breaks
Late shifts up to 11 pm and then early shifts at 8 am in a row
Lifting heavy stock from basement to the 2nd floor
Pros
Good discount on products
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
CUSTOMER CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear16 September 2017
A Christmas time job earning lots of experience and learning a little about the world of work, enjoyed my time and other staff. lots of happy joyful customers
Pros
discount on products
Cons
temp contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Walthamstow, Greater London10 September 2017
Having to search for items for customers and running to the stockroom just in case the item has not been placed at the shop floor. I have learnt good communication skills and team work. When handling a delivery all by yourself which can be difficult as the work load is a lot more on you and you have a time limit to complete the task which can put you in stress. Having a nice meal out with one of your colleagues and having a good chat.
Pros
20 mins break
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Body Shop At Home
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Home Based9 September 2017
I've been with TBSAH for a month now and it's the best Job role I have taken so far.. Everyone is so supportive and friendly it's like we are one big family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Stockton-on-Tees, Durham6 September 2017
I really enjoy working for the body shop at home. It's very flexible for me to work around my spare time. I enjoy meeting new customers and sharing my journey joining the Body Shop with people who are looking at becoming a consultant like me
Pros
Good Commisons
Cons
Can sometimes be hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic workplace
Customer Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bury, Greater Manchester5 September 2017
right throughout my employment at the body shop i was always granted work benefits and was treat equally throughout by my peers and supervisors, great company overall
Pros
great work staff
Cons
competitive sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chichester, West Sussex4 September 2017
I have loved my job at The Body Shop I just wish they could of given me what I wanted! I had to relocate to get the hours I wanted yet it wasn't the same due to the traveling I had to do and although it should only be a 40 min journey, giving our train service down south I was traveling to long etc
Pros
Incredible benefits
Cons
Low contracted hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Body Shop
Store assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire4 September 2017
In this job I was required to interact with customers and help them with their enquiries, stock products on the shelves, prepare gift bags and help with the merchandising of the store. I was required to work under pressure while maintaining a high standard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
scc/cc
Senior customer consultant/ customer consultant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 September 2017
the body shop in one of the best retail company's to work for. Your taught a lot about the products almost everyday which is amazing for both you and the customers. I would say the most enjoyable part of the job is working with a team that filled with young people keen to learn and move up. The hardest part is not being able to plan your life around your job due to rotas being sent out last minute every week.
Pros
good pay for retail
Cons
rota is given out late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Body Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,090 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9