Tesco Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well managed team
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Saffron Walden15 December 2017
I worked within a small team dedicated towards stock merchandising and rotation. We took specific instructions from head office and worked within target frameworks and time limits to achieve goals set.
Pros
discounts
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary
People Manager (Current Employee) –  Somerset14 December 2017
Good salary, good team of people. Job security cannot always be guaranteed. Retail is retail- lack of work life balance and you will be expected to be mobile and could be travelling up to/over an hour. Good team of people-loyal to their company. new salary banding introduced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Scotland14 December 2017
Avoid working for the company especially now with all benifits and wages getting cut everyone loves the place to start with but it slowly grinds you down how i lasted ten years i will never know hardest part of the job is the managers they are suppose to lead by example so if your passionate about a job you do avoid this place as they are all for themselves and will tell you anything to keep you happy
Pros
Wasnt far from home
Cons
Depressing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long serving staff
Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Hinckley, Leicestershire14 December 2017
Lots of the staff have worked there a long time due to good competitive contracts. Offers flexible working for families. But involves weekend and shift working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Towcester14 December 2017
Typical Day - Sitting on a checkout and serving customers in a frieindly manner

What I've learned - Till operation

Management - Very organised and friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Duty Pharmacy Manager (Former Employee) –  Wales13 December 2017
Well trained Pharmacy team
Flexible hours to suit family and work/life balance
Busy dispensary and OTC business
Perform medicines use reviews, discharge medication reviews, health checks, flu and meningitis vaccination.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Staffing issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good for what you're paid.
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff13 December 2017
I worked for the company for years and have found that it is a good job for what you are paid and the benefits are great. There can be a lack of communication between managers and sometimes you feel a little neglected, depending on your position.
Pros
Free Lunches from time to time
Cons
Lack of home/work balance/
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work until being made redundant .
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Worksop, Nottinghamshire13 December 2017
Typical day at work clock on fill shelves. The job required you to replenish shelves during the night sometimes working as a team also included warehouse duties unloading deliveries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  England13 December 2017
I worked in a convenience store which was always busy, the store regularly has to shut due to lack of staff and management not covering shifts. Specific needs for myself where never met.
The actual job was fine and enjoyable especially when you get to know customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work / Not for everybody
Site Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Lichfield13 December 2017
A normal day usually was stress free and fun
I've learned that there is many different cultures and many different people opinions.
As because I was one of the management staff I can not rate my colleagues in any way
Hardest part of the job was probably disciplinary meetings what had to be done if people do not follow correct H&S procedures or if they are working against Tesco policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time for a change.
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wadebridge, Cornwall13 December 2017
I work 3 days a week 6am-12.30pm on checkouts.
I have learnt to give excellent customer service.
The management are supportive.
The workplace culture has changed over the years as Tesco employs more part-time and temporary staff to cover busy times.
Hardest part of the job is having to get up at 4.30am and working on my own until store gets busier around 9am.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the rapport built up with regular customers.
Pros
Staff discount, pension scheme and being member of USDAW
Cons
Early start
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hackney, Greater London12 December 2017
I love tesco as they treat me very well and I really enjoy working for tesco. This is one great company in terms of benefits, colleague relationships, management, sales, and pension scheme.
Pros
If you have right manager you can climb up very quickly
Cons
They don’t pay for breaks even if you didn’t take the break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for overall. very flexible, quite good pay. good chance to progress if that's what you wish to do. sunday premiums, plus bank hol
Team Manager (Current Employee) –  Hammersmith12 December 2017
good company to work for overall. very flexible, quite good pay. good chance to progress if that's what you wish to do. sunday premiums, plus bank hol premiums.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's OK for a while
Driver (Former Employee) –  Greenford, Greater London12 December 2017
It's easy shift work when you need time to concentrate on more important things early shifts which finish by 10:30am start @ 5:00am the vans are ready loaded you just deliver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versatile and Rewarding Position
Front end / Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Taunton, Somerset12 December 2017
Working at Tesco is ideal for beginners and people with tight schedules. The contract plans are so adaptive that it is almost completely up to you when you work. The day to day work is simple, yet rewarding as you are dealing with members of the public. The rate of pay is competitive, however overtime is more than easy to receive so money can be made at very short notice very easily. It can prove difficult at times working with unhappy and impatient members of the public, but as long as you can put your personal emotions to one side, it is very easy work and you are well looked after.
Pros
Staff discount can be used in a variety of stores other than Tesco.
Cons
Work is simple and can be slow in unsociable hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  Warrington11 December 2017
i loved the christmas temp job was always on my feet i worked hard i did till work whare house and dot.com disappointed that i did not kept on when i did so well i always kept on the green in dot.com i was great on the tills and helpful with customers and help clean the shop.
Pros
discounts on meals
Cons
not been kept on (christmas temp)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, different everyday.
HR Manager (Current Employee) –  West Midlands11 December 2017
Enjoyed my 10 Years at Tesco so far.
The progression opportunities to Management is good.
Once you are a Manager the rota is a shift pattern which is adaptable to your needs, a mixture of earlies and lates which means if you have something special happening in your personal life you are able to work around that.
It is a good environment to develop Management styles, having colleagues work for you enables you to show strong leadership.
All company policies are readily available online for all colleagues to view, creating a transparent approach for all.
Pros
Flexible working as a Manager, various shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
above average
customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Ebbw Vale, Blaenau Gwent11 December 2017
filling shelves, rotating stock and handling customers problmes and enquires ona daily basis.
how to deal with customers problems on a daily basis better
good management
good banter between the work collegues
lifting stock
going home at the end of the shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire11 December 2017
Im responsible for the goods in process and also picking orders is a part of my job. I've learnt to pay full attention counting and handling the incoming goods for further distribution, because its vital to be accurate and last but not least i make others job easier if i organise the goods in a right manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  Roborough11 December 2017
Tesco is a good place of work the pay is good there is always options for overtime on many departments. Work life and everyday life is balanced out easily.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,356 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5