Tesco Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, hardworking enviroment
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Trowbridge9 June 2018
Tesco is very organised and you always know what needs to be done and what is being asked of you. The customers and employers are always nice and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
going down hill fast
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol9 June 2018
Tesco is a great brand, but since the cut backs, unfortunately they work their staff to the bone especially the new role shift leader. this new role must incorporate both the team leader and deputy manger role in to one after getting ride of both roles. the hours are exhausting. you do not get paid 1.5 hours a day break, you don't get to take much of a break because the work load is so heavy and the expectancy is to high. the people i work with are great and so is the managers, but everyone under a lot of press you make sure you hit KPI's, do your job, put the customers first, cover sickness, run the shop 1 on 1 , take in delivery, complete the safe and legal book, control the stock, manage staff, meet targets.
Pros
nice people, secure job
Cons
heavy work load, little breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Optical Adviser/Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Bridgend9 June 2018
day at work is busy day almost always
learned to work as team
good management
workplace culture is very good
none
teamwork and interact with lots of customers then learn many things
Pros
staffs are friendly
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Positive Experience
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham8 June 2018
Helping customers to find stock, dealing with complaints, fetching baskets and trolleys.
Also had to learn to deal with angry customers, by keeping calm.
Pros
Good customer service experience
Cons
Occasional early start2, 2
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very flexible and good place to work
Customer Assistant and Shift leader (duty manager) (Current Employee) –  Luton8 June 2018
>It suits around my lifestyle
>Great Benefits
>Recognition
>Amazing work culture
>Supportive management team
>Quick progress to store manager and higher
> And more..
Pros
The best company policies and culture
Cons
cant find any
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly and well-structured workplace
Temporary Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Salisbury8 June 2018
I worked for Tesco for one summer as part of a temporary contract, which I found to be a pleasant experience. The pay was extremely good in comparison to similar jobs that I have held, and the hours were also very convenient. My colleagues were very friendly and helpful, and the job was very structured, meaning that it was easy to learn. There were some issues with the company's handling of my paperwork when I applied, however these were resolved reasonably quickly and did not impact my time working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry8 June 2018
Great place to work with lovely, friendly, colleagues.
Lots to learn with great progression opportunities.
I hadn't worked in an optician's before but they provided on the job training and my colleagues were really helpful when I found I didn't know what to do.
Pros
Free parking, big staff canteen, great colleagues, staff discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Weston-super-Mare, Somerset7 June 2018
Nice atmosphere very team orientated. Nice friendly atmosphere I always felt that I was a valued cologue. My typical day started a 6am by preparing the instore bakery
Pros
great staff
Cons
unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tesco
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Henley on Thames7 June 2018
Can be a bit exhausting as you are asked to work a lot of overtime. Can also be quite a boring job but it pays okay and is not too demanding in terms of skills required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience
Deli Counter Assistant (Former Employee) –  Purley7 June 2018
Working with Tescos was really a great experience as I tried something I have never done before. I worked on the Deli Counter, I never knew anything about it but now I know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Warehouse staff (Former Employee) –  Widnes7 June 2018
My opinion is that Tesco has a reasonable attitude towards the workers, but as a foreign employee I experienced some degree of discrimination. The warehouse was often overcrowded so we were not able to achieve the desired performance.
Pros
Good salary, and working conditions
Cons
Long hours of shifts, occasionly 12 hours with no day-offs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well accomidating
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire7 June 2018
During my time at Tesco I was pleased with how flexible the management were to try accommodate me as a part time employee and full time student, they also were pleasant to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and well payed, but could be very unorganised
Grocery replenishment (Former Employee) –  Martlesham7 June 2018
Having started originally as a summer temp, i was taken on as a permanent member of staff. I worked during the summer and holidays when I was back from university. This year I studied abroad for the year, coming back for the christmas break and summer. Before leaving I was told that I would be able to be kept on the system and work when I was back in the country. However, at christmas I was told there were not enough hours for me to work and then later on in April was told that the company would have to let me go as I had not returned to work for the periods I had promised. I found this to be a bit of stab in the back as I had been promised work on the conditions I had followed, however clearly this wasn't to be the case.
Pros
Good level of pay, even if younger member of staff
Cons
Organisational skills of some managers were questionable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard over christmas season
Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire6 June 2018
Working over the christmas period was hard, hours were long. The actual work was fairly simple, however the work hours were long, extra hours of work was often required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Leader/Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bournemouth6 June 2018
Although I only used Tesco as a stopgap whilst still at school, I found it a great place to work. Real feel of camaraderie. The company rewards good customer service which is always good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ferndown, Dorset6 June 2018
Cheap lunches
fun team
christmas parties and team events etc
sense of belonging
good benefits
competitive rates of pay
chance to develop when ready
great management program
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its good
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee) –  Doncaster6 June 2018
I`ve been working 2 months in Tesco.they pay me about 350 per week.Everything been good but they catch me with phone call.been working in the freezer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Prestatyn5 June 2018
Great place to work and lovely people. Always a good environment to be involved in. Recommend to any young person starting out in Work as their are very flexible hours.
Pros
Free tea and coffee
Cons
Not many full time jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redditch5 June 2018
a typical day for me was stacking shelves and greeting customers I learned how to interacted with others and how to be more empathetic towards others because everyone has bad days the management work fantastic and very helpful and understanding
Pros
discount on shopping
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, enjoyable results
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunbury, Surrey5 June 2018
I enjoyed my short time here just to build up an experience of applying for a job etc, and having an interview.

key skills you need to progress in life.
Pros
Cheaper Lunch
Cons
Long hours between breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11,650 reviews
53.3K
44.2K
32.8K
2828
1552

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture