Tesco Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Batley, West Yorkshire22 April 2018
Fantastic Company to work for lovely members of staff/management
would recommend this company to anyone looking for a part time job that needs flexible hours to work round school hours (etc)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a fun place to work
Customer Assistant - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Shoreham by Sea, West Sussex22 April 2018
They are quite a good company to work for. Considering the amount of money they have made this year the bonus is rubbish for the hard work the staff do to make that money for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay and hours
Gold Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent22 April 2018
very good pay and benefits from this company.
hours and contracts to suit everyone and their needs.
a lot to learn in express and can progress in your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very happy workplace and amazing people to work with
Line Leader (Current Employee) –  Colinton, Midlothian20 April 2018
Great company to work for. Have met a lot of amazing people whilst I have been with the company. Lots of benefits working for a company like this. Like my job
Pros
Networking
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Leader
Chargé d'équipe (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Angleterre20 April 2018
j'ai travaillé 7 ans dans cet société et c'est une société meilleur pour travailler ou on peut Evaluer et apprendre beaucoup de choses en pratique.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding but very intense
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Wirral, Merseyside20 April 2018
Overall a good place to work. Job can be very demanding and social life limited. Pay rates are good compared to competitors though this is now being squeezed.Advancement in career opportunities is easily available to those prepared to put in the hard miles. Company has worked hard in past 4 years to overcome some of the difficulties created by inept leadership. Training is excellent and is now mainly done online so is tracked.
Pros
Good pension, Discount card
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet new people.
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  London20 April 2018
You get to meet new people everyday while working at Tesco. I have learned alot about customer services and time management, if customers were not happy then the rating would go down.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work maybe more so for part time, student, mum, retiree
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside19 April 2018
Tesco is a great place to work. Started my working life there and set me up well and taught me some good lessons about what to expect in the workplace.

Good enthusiastic people are embrace and can far
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive evening shifts
Sales Assistant and Stock Controller (Current Employee) –  London Heathrow Airport19 April 2018
Typical day at work would include:
Clocking in
unlocking personal PDA and printer devices
checking JOB 14 rota
assigning yourself to a department
date scanning and reducing missed items
recording waste
filing waste reports
clocking out
Pros
flexable hours and days off
Cons
short hours and evening shifts only
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work friendle envioment
Shelf Stacker (Former Employee) –  Andover, Hampshire18 April 2018
I learned alot at Tesco everything I wanted to learn they took the time u teach u any thing u needed they was happy to help for u to get the job done great place to work
Pros
Cheap food in catein
Cons
9 hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice employer
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Buckinghamshire18 April 2018
good job to get some basic retail and customer service experience, leant the basics about how to deal with customers. the hours were pretty unflexable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent, not great
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pitsea, Essex17 April 2018
Jobs fine, no issues there however working 5 nights per week, 10pm-7am, can get a little tough especially as I see work colleagues more than I see the people I live with.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Part-time General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bishops Stortford17 April 2018
great company with ability to work around with life plans.

management were great to work with and overtime was always there to do an hour to two after contracted shift.
Pros
friendl management
Cons
can't get full time without being management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale
HR Personnel Clerk (Former Employee) –  Purfleet17 April 2018
Low morale with no respect from senior management. Long serving colleagues felt less valued than other favoured colleagues. The workplace culture was all about figures & not about people. This went against the public image & values of the company.
Pros
Friendships made
Cons
Lack of trust in Senior Leadership Team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Customer Advisor (nightshift) (Former Employee) –  Newtownards, County Down17 April 2018
Decent place to work for job security, and the colleagues are very easy to get along with. management are a nightmare though. They are always changing, never permanent managers, and they do not care about the staff, especially the night staff. They do not care about any employees or about helping them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Londonderry, County Londonderry17 April 2018
Although I work in the same aisle daily no two days are ever the same. The customers are keen to get to know us and generally ask our opinions on the products we sell.
Pros
Discount card
Cons
Late working hours and no free parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviroment
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Haverhill, Suffolk17 April 2018
in the 2 weeks i was there it was a nice place to work and the staff was very friendly. i was able to work on my own or with someone by placing stock on the shelves
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only perfect for students
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Derbyshire16 April 2018
I worked for Tesco 10+years used to be a great company to work for not anymore, they were making redundancies to lots of CA roles and Managers but the cuts need starting from the top ie lazy store managers and senior team! not all but most in the last couple of years of me working there, great for students who want part time not for anyone wanting full time they do not employ anyone full time.
What they do is give you core hours then ask you to fill an availability form out and flex you up at short notice but if you can't do the extra hours after twice saying no you will have a lets talk they then get you to fill out your availability form again! You could be flexed up to full time for 3 weeks then only be on your core hours for months, always overtime bans because they can't manage the budgets. On the plus side great for gaining skills to help you move on to other jobs lots of different departments to work on, great for students.
Pros
Great for building confidence
Cons
No one cares
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire16 April 2018
Lots of room to move up into management if wanted, great collegues with great benefits. very secure job. hours work around the collegues. hours are flexiable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  Batley16 April 2018
Not the best of places to work for they will have you to well over you legally required overtime, they are never grateful for the work you do for them and they never offer anyone full-time contracts so as they don't have to pay the full holiday entitlement
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport