Tesco Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging environment
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff19 January 2018
Always challenging but very rewarding, from training to daily tasks every situation is handled in a professional and caring way.
Pay is good with fair benefits.
Pros
environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bristol19 January 2018
Being able to serve customers better each day is what makes me want to turn up to work; I feel rewarded once I finish each shift. The community at my store is very friendly and inviting - despite the large size! The pay is also not too bad as a younger part-time worker.
Pros
Pay is good
Cons
Don't get paid for breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding and fun workplace
Customer Assistant (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  New Malden, Greater London19 January 2018
very enjoyable working place, everyone in the team was helpful and friendly. I worked in the fresh section which involved monitoring and replenishing stock levels which was rewarding.
Pros
good starting pay and long breaks
Cons
long hours and no paid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for - could be better though.
Buying Assistant (Current Employee) –  Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire19 January 2018
Progression isn't great in certain ares, but better in others. Perks are good (discount, coupons, vouchers etc.)
People are great and always looking to help where possible.
Pros
Teams, perks
Cons
Salary, progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun and productive but on rare occasions
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stroud, Gloucestershire18 January 2018
I’ve been working at Tesco for the past 3 years and I don’t really enjoy it anymore. Mainly because of the management and how they run the place and have a minimum lack in their staff
Pros
Extra money on sundays
Cons
Long hours, gets boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
People Manager (Current Employee) –  Shropshire18 January 2018
Two days are never the same, one day I could be inducting new starters, then running a workshop for team managers, or building a training schedule for managers or running an options day for colleagues to develop in the company or providing support to another store in disciplinary matters
There is so much to learn and its so easy to with online learning portal - either people or operationally.
Lots of opportunities to get on and the colleague can find out all about it on our website
Open and honest workplace. Celebrate success with the team regularly. We work as one team
Hardest part of the job is when there is structure changes and it is affecting colleagues/managers life (redundancies etc)
Best part of my job - fun at work, developing others and seeing them achieve their goals and aspirations. Coaching managers and colleagues to be excellent in their role to enable them to provide great service to our customers.
Pros
Opportunities, benefits, the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Northern Ireland17 January 2018
I enjoy working in Tesco it allows me to meet all walks of life and also I've got to meet and work with great colleagues. The salary is also great especially for a student like myself.
Pros
discount
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work.
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  Tavistock, Devon16 January 2018
Was a decent place to work at the time, suited my requirements in so far as overtime options and a friendly atmosphere however was hindered by poor organisation and a culture of blaming others.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Unpaid Breaks, Poor organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well balanced work force
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Sunbury-on-Thames, Surrey16 January 2018
Although I worked just a festive employee, and I’m in no stance to fully judge of what work is like at Tesco’s due to not being employed full time, I can ensure my time at Tesco’s was definetly one of the best work experiences I’ve had. Working on the checkouts allowed me to meet new people everyday, familiarising myself further with my local town. The management team were nice to cooperate with and you could talk to them as if you were there friend which I really liked. Talking with some of the team at Tesco’s who have worked with them for literally centuries are some of the nicest people I have talked to, which augments Tesco’s name for being number one in customer service. Nevertheless, I enjoyed my time at Tesco’s tremendously.
Pros
Frequent breaks, good salary
Cons
Demanding work (always busy)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Counter
Tesco Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hemel Hempstead16 January 2018
the job was really good , good hours and good pay was a fun work space to be around but I the fell pregnant and went onto maternity leave and did not go back but overall was a really good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
counter assistant
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galston16 January 2018
Ok job just very boring. Management in the store i worked not the best, to young. Training was given. 15 hours max contract not good enough for single home owner. overtime needed continuously
Pros
local
Cons
chase overtime all time. management useless
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wrexham15 January 2018
really enjoyed working for Tesco . good work /home life balance. wage very competitive with good chance of promotions . Good pension scheme and union .
Pros
fun
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Tesco Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, Cardiff15 January 2018
Never did I ever have a problem with working for tesco managers are always there to help you, would go back in a heart beat, good benefits and pension
Pros
Discount card
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company with benefits and cosmopolitan culture. very demanding work culture as you can imagine working for Tesco
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Shepherds Bush, Greater London14 January 2018
As a Duty manager my role was very demanding. Daily and weekly targets set needed to be achieved as rewards were great too. Ensured staffing levels were maintained to accept deliveries. I was involved from opening the store, replenshing shelves, waste and stock management, customer complaints, training and providing excellent customer services inculding safety of the customers and staff. toughest part of the job is waste management and replenshing shelves.
Pros
benefits and shares scheme
Cons
long hours and the targets set.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment needs improving
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth14 January 2018
Management needs improving. Morale very low at work. The job role is very good. Wage quite low considering how much we have to do on a day to day basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
smaller stores are better than larger!!
Goods In Operative (Former Employee) –  Clacton-on-Sea, Essex12 January 2018
Not a terrible place to work but that does depend on your job title!don't think the rates of pay are that good but the pension scheme is ok.larger stores treat you like robots but smaller ones are more friendly.
Pros
subsidised staff canteen
Cons
poor wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Temporary Contract (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow12 January 2018
They are terrible mangment team are never around they are rude! They don't give you many hours worked always smelt of fish so if you love fish then perfect for you
Pros
There are no
Cons
Long hours, shocking pay and always dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northampton, Northamptonshire12 January 2018
Managers not committed to staff but to scan rates. You receive no support in your day to day job. They give all the over time to the new people because they are cheaper to pay
Pros
Discount card
Cons
No flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Laindon, Essex11 January 2018
I enjoy working there I am currently doing nightshifts but I would prefer to do dayshifts. When I work dayshifts the work is much more variable on nightshifts you just fill shelves all night
Pros
staff discount on meals and when you shop there
Cons
nightshifts are unsociable houurs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay
Tesco Express (Current Employee) –  Dorking11 January 2018
very good pay but you will work for your money with long hours in a cold environment.
lots of heavy lifting and uncomfortable amount of time spent on feet in busy express stores
Pros
good pay
Cons
long hours bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,643 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5