Tesco Employee Reviews for General Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Laindon, Essex11 January 2018
I enjoy working there I am currently doing nightshifts but I would prefer to do dayshifts. When I work dayshifts the work is much more variable on nightshifts you just fill shelves all night
Pros
staff discount on meals and when you shop there
Cons
nightshifts are unsociable houurs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Alfreton3 January 2018
Worked at Store 2049 - bad management, bad work/life balance. Consistently overworked and underpaid. The worst job I've ever done, I'd never go back to it.
Pros
You get paid £8.02 an hour.
Cons
They take your £8.02 an hour and underpay you by many hours a month, resulting in an average £6.50 an hour, personal experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ballymoney, County Antrim3 January 2018
Great Place to work, has been great to me throughout my education. A job I would recommend to any student or any young person wanting an income. Great flexibility and great work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never work for retail
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lisburn30 December 2017
I hated this job with a passion, the managers were all awful at their job, none of them seemed to know what they were doing and there was a culture of being out for yourself.
My own personal manager was the worst manager I have ever had, he was clueless and alienated his entire department
Pros
none, i was glad to be shot of the place
Cons
terrible managers, salary, hours, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands28 December 2017
it a great place to work when busy but boring when quiet.
i have become more confident when speaking to customers because of working here. management are okay. great overall place to work
Pros
working with great people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good basic rate
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stockport, Greater Manchester28 December 2017
Definitely a divide between hierarchy and departments, and no team work, morale is always at the lower end of the spectrum, false sense of a great place to work
Pros
Decent rate of pay
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General assistant
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire16 December 2017
I loved the job working at tesco as a general assistant. Unfortunately I had to leave the job after so many years due to unwell mental health but I was very happy there.
Pros
Being local
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good for what you're paid.
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cardiff13 December 2017
I worked for the company for years and have found that it is a good job for what you are paid and the benefits are great. There can be a lack of communication between managers and sometimes you feel a little neglected, depending on your position.
Pros
Free Lunches from time to time
Cons
Lack of home/work balance/
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work until being made redundant .
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Worksop, Nottinghamshire13 December 2017
Typical day at work clock on fill shelves. The job required you to replenish shelves during the night sometimes working as a team also included warehouse duties unloading deliveries
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hackney, Greater London12 December 2017
I love tesco as they treat me very well and I really enjoy working for tesco. This is one great company in terms of benefits, colleague relationships, management, sales, and pension scheme.
Pros
If you have right manager you can climb up very quickly
Cons
They don’t pay for breaks even if you didn’t take the break
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about Tesco?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tesco's
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire3 December 2017
Worked at Tesco for 3 years, not a bad store to work for, I worked in a very big store which a lot of customers came in a day so the best possible customer service would be given to each customer making sure they was happy with the question they asked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Paulton28 November 2017
Id normally come in on the night times and start filling the shelfs from the back stock areas first to make sure that all the products were correctly rotated then I would fill the deliveries and fill to max capacity so that the products would last till late at night so that if the day staff didn't have time to re fill the shelfs we could still keep those products available for the customers.
In this job i mainly learned how to lone work and how to keep myself motivated when doing more than one job at a time or how to control the busy parts of the shift so i didnt feel like it wasn't manageable so that come the morning when the shop re opened i had a presentable isle.
The management would also help on the days where we were busiest and when we have the heaviest delivery days they would help where they could.
Pros
good benifits and pay
Cons
normally night shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a supermarket
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Glasgow25 October 2017
There's not really a great deal to say about working in Tesco. It's a supermarket, you go in, you fill shelves, you serve people, you leave.

If you do want to stay long-term though, there's probably more opportunities to progress than a lot of other employers.
Pros
Decent opportunities
Cons
It's a supermarket.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want a small contract
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Longton, Staffordshire22 October 2017
A busy day helping customers great staff friendly management let you get on with your job are there to help. People skills working tills computers can work long shifts best part ya the staff
Pros
Discount after 6 months
Cons
Late shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Belfast18 October 2017
Great place to work everybody is friendly and supportive and no two days are the same which is nice. I dont know why indeed is forcing me to write this review
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing, physically demanding and ruthless
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, Essex16 October 2017
Only worked there to survive before finding a better job, filling shelves at night shifts. All I can say to anybody considering working there is: RUN.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Prestatyn, Flintshire13 October 2017
Place has gone downhill massively the last few years,it's just all about profit now and less pay for staff.Basically no chance of working your way up unless you are one of the managers favourites.if you work hard they just give you even more to do
Pros
None
Cons
No reward for hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a good place to work
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland11 October 2017
Learnt loads of new skills to help me do different roles within the job. Such as scanning all deliveries using the new technology they use.

Each department work well as a team and individually
Pros
Enjoyable place to work
Cons
Repetitive shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sevenoaks, Kent9 October 2017
Worked there for 11 years. Paid good, Benefits were good. Work is good. General staff were nice, but management was not always. Which is disappointing
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Managment was not always nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carlisle7 October 2017
Working at tesco is challenging but rewarding everyday is different and always a nice place to go to work
It's physically enduring but in a nice way
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Hard grafting
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,630 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5