Tesco Employee Reviews for Customer Assistant

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work maybe more so for part time, student, mum, retiree
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside19 April 2018
Tesco is a great place to work. Started my working life there and set me up well and taught me some good lessons about what to expect in the workplace.

Good enthusiastic people are embrace and can far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire16 April 2018
Lots of room to move up into management if wanted, great collegues with great benefits. very secure job. hours work around the collegues. hours are flexiable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
going down hill
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow15 April 2018
When I first joined Tesco 7 years ago they were a good company to work for, but now the wages are low and the workload is heavy, lots of redundancies being made at all levels.
Pros
great colleagues
Cons
too many to mention
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wouldnt recommend
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ashford, Kent13 April 2018
a typical day a work would be being asked to do a 1000 and one things and never being thanked for it. i learned that for a company who are supposed to care, they dont. the only reputable thing about them is the fact they are flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright job
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brandon12 April 2018
Working at Tesco was okay, wasn't really my sort of thing but I made the most of it. I got on with everyone that worked there and worked to the best of my ability.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Bad hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Pitsea12 April 2018
i worked at pitsea Tesco for a Christmas temp, it was great working there. i worked on the tills and got a lot of experience. for only it being a Christmas temp job for being 17 it was great pay!
Pros
nice staff
Cons
some team members wasn't very nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy store
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  princes avenue11 April 2018
I worked for Tesco for 12 years as customer assistant. I worked on main bank checkouts, self service, and scan as you shop. I worked individually and as part if a team. i learned to look after and maintain self serve tills and if need call help desk for assistance. Tesco was a busy store. I enjoyed the diversity of the job.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun.
customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Leyland, Lancashire9 April 2018
tesco's is a great company to work for they are fair to their employees and understanding, ive never worked for a better company. the customers are friendly and are always pleased to see you. such a brilliant place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management/ poor wages
Tesco Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  St Albans, Hertfordshire9 April 2018
working for Tesco could be great. highly social, meet lots of new people etc. but let down by poor management and low hour contracts.

got myself in debt as when the cut my hours.
Pros
Highly social
Cons
Poor earnings
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Reading, Berkshire8 April 2018
Job provides a stable income but is little to none progression for staff in store, management was poor and time table planning was not always accurate, lots of over time available and benefits are good, it’s a good job to have if you are looking for easy work without any input or progression
Pros
Staff benefits
Cons
Poor time table planning
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very chilled and happy place
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Haverhill, Suffolk8 April 2018
I worked on a number of departments when working at Tesco. And I don't think I new how much I enjoyed it till I left. You can have a laugh with managers and customers and as I used to work the late shifts a lot of the time I used to know everyone who came in the door so there was always some to chat to.
Pros
happy place to work
Cons
long breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero Hours
Customer Assistant Checkouts (Former Employee) –  Winchester5 April 2018
Rude
Threats
Attempted Murders
Drug-Dealers
Viplence
Assaults
Intimidation
Slander
Anti Men
Illegal Tobacco
paper in food sold in shops.
Donkey Meat in Salami.
Horse Meat in Sausages.
Glass in Baby Food.
Pros
None
Cons
Zero Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work place
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hatfield, Hertfordshire5 April 2018
Such a huge organisation with various departments, on the grocery store l ensure smooth transfer of good and services at back door, supervisoring making sure all invoices are completed and signed
Pros
Impressive clubcard discount
Cons
Night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Customer Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coventry4 April 2018
managers will treat you well,

discounts,

job can get a bit tiring but thats life.

rotating between stocking and working on the till can be fun sometimes
Pros
discounts
Cons
unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
customer delivery assistant (Former Employee) –  Helston, Cornwall4 April 2018
job was ok but found it difficult at times if the pressure of time was evident ,meeting most customers was a great thing,colleagues were very helpful hardest part was finding addresses in rural areas,most enjoyable was meeting the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge3 April 2018
good place to work but salary is minimum . Working environment is quit good . Collegues are very helpful and friendly . management is very helpful and supporting .
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being as one of the world largest company it has always been fun working in Tesco
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  London31 March 2018
Tesco provides multicultural environment to work. Excellent benefits and. Great employee satisfaction. It provides you the opportunity to develop a high level of social circle and can build links.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some nice people but no one listens
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Callongton30 March 2018
Wanted to join the company offering 40 hours on any department got offered 7.5! No one listens need more hours any days some people are great to work with some are very rude no one listens
Pros
None
Cons
No one listens
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a normal day
Tesco Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport27 March 2018
start work and then come with tasks i have to complete. if i become stuck a staff members always there to help, get things done never slack at work give it your best from start to finish. enjoy what you do never do something you dont like
Pros
have lunch and break
Cons
working long
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at tesco
Customer Assistant - Part Time (Current Employee) –  Belfast27 March 2018
I have worked at Tesco for a while now and although have not got on well with managers sometimes I have enjoyed the job and get on well with all other colleagues. fast pace job and good pay.
Pros
long shifts
Cons
good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11,302 reviews
53.2K
44.1K
32.8K
2803
1527

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture