Tesco Employee Reviews in Manchester

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workday
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester11 June 2018
A typical day at work was busy and always on your feet. I learned how to work with customers. I enjoyed working with customers and getting to know new people.
Pros
Working with customers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester30 May 2018
I enjoyed working here while at uni however, it was quiet dull and was not very stretching. I was ready for a change and needed to move into a job which provides learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Security Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Manchester10 May 2018
The roster isn't that good and i had to work on almost all weekends. However it was very productive and i thoroughly enjoyed my time working with Tesco.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun and Fair
Tesco Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester8 May 2018
Typical day is easy enough. No major skills required. Just the ability to communicate with the public. The hours are decent and met some great people working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester23 April 2018
I enjoyed working at Tesco as the pay was great and the community was excellent. I worked on checkouts which helped me get used to talking with customers also it helped me manage money.
Pros
Well Paid
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistant employer
Lead Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester22 April 2018
Tesco has great processes but unfortunately these are not used to lead consistently.

There are some brilliant people in the company and If you have a good manager it cant be beaten but a change of manager and everything changes.
Pros
Pay
Cons
No integrity
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Leader
Chargé d'équipe (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Angleterre20 April 2018
j'ai travaillé 7 ans dans cet société et c'est une société meilleur pour travailler ou on peut Evaluer et apprendre beaucoup de choses en pratique.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good teaching company
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester27 March 2018
they always train people to the highest standards and customer are at the heart of what they do. it would be nice if the head office wasn't so detached from the actual store so new ideas worked without having to adapt then to whats needed
Pros
10% dicount
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with collegues
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester21 March 2018
If you have good friends at work then its a good place to work. Wouldnt recommend working at customer service desk due to the work load though and sometimes it can get a little too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Manchester8 March 2018
I enjoyed working here because I was fairly treated and the hours were very suitable. It was also very stable and pay was very competitive with other superstores.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Customer Assistant - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester5 March 2018
I worked at 4 different stores over 12years.
It was an ok place to work dot com was tiring as it’s 6am starts till 2pm most days and 5days a week and only contracted to 16hours.
You are expected to work overtime and do more than what you’re paid for.
I would work there again though as the people are lovely (with a few exceptions) and it’s not overall a bad company to work for.
Pros
Discount and friendly staff
Cons
Expected to do overtime all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 March 2018
Worked at tesco for 6 years can't really complain to be honest decent hours had the opportunity to advance most management were nice but you would get the odd hitler. Had mental health issues whilst working for tesco had to have time off the management was very helpful with this
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, UK28 February 2018
Its a great place to work. One of my favourite jobs ever. I would highly recommend working there. The staff are amazing and management always has your back. There is always ways to progress into management and different departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Night Replenishment (Former Employee) –  Manchester28 February 2018
Tesco is one of the best retail company’s to work for depending on which store you are in and what your job role is and most importantly who your manager is. Enjoyed giving my service to Tesco and worked my way up very fast due to my experience in retail which was coming from a entrepreneurial family owning many grocery shops. Good team colleagues some grumpy though. Management overall I’d say is good depending who your department manager is as long as you get on with your work it’s all good
Pros
Loads of staff benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Tesco Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester24 February 2018
Was a part time basis while was in other study. It also helped me gain other experience suck as cusnter services


Learning alot on how big companies worked .
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Part-time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester19 February 2018
• Using great customer service, helping customers find items they require and offering alternatives when stock isn't available
• Working within different departments within the store
• Replenishing shelves and date checking
• Using the hand held terminal to mark down products when end of expiry date
• Using the hand held terminal to stock take and count stock for leakage and wastage
• Keeping the warehouse organised and in date order
• Serving customers on the tills whilst showing a high level of interest in customers needs and reqirements and helping with customer complaints if able
• Asking customers for identifacation on age restricted items i.e ciggaretts, alcohol and knifes
Pros
staff cafe
Cons
dinner breaks and cig breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
Customer Experience Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 February 2018
I have enjoyed my time at Tesco, I have acquired a great skill set and knowledge. I enjoy working with people and leading a team of colleagues to deliver a great working environment. Tesco has given me that experience, and it is a great company to develop in with excellent training courses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad paying bad management
Packer/Picker (Former Employee) –  Manchester30 January 2018
very bad job and bad paying not sick pay and bad holiday paying . bad management and most crazy idiot polish team leader and some monk joke polish manager witch they are keep liring to keep her job safe for boss and play with staff and never care about staff . hard work and cold place not paying your wage all the time they mistake and less hour paying . and they are cheap like joke . and they are rasist and they just want polish people to work in factory , just like a polish factory very disappointed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive expiriance
Customer Service Adviser (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester26 January 2018
My responsibilities in the call center were to place orders for customers and provide with advice, information and assistance to the customers, attempting to resolve all enquirers on first contact with the caller and deal with their complaints. I was working to make sure that all telephone calls were answered promptly, and I was required to follow up with the customers by calling them back to make sure the problem was solved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing colleagues
Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester24 January 2018
Loved my Tesco years, the people are amazing and I have gained so many of my life/work experiences here.

Great experiences with some fantastic colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11,796 reviews
53.3K
44.2K
32.9K
2843
1562

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture