Tesco Employee Reviews in Manchester

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Leader
Chargé d'équipe (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Angleterre20 April 2018
j'ai travaillé 7 ans dans cet société et c'est une société meilleur pour travailler ou on peut Evaluer et apprendre beaucoup de choses en pratique.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with collegues
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester21 March 2018
If you have good friends at work then its a good place to work. Wouldnt recommend working at customer service desk due to the work load though and sometimes it can get a little too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Manchester8 March 2018
I enjoyed working here because I was fairly treated and the hours were very suitable. It was also very stable and pay was very competitive with other superstores.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Customer Assistant - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester5 March 2018
I worked at 4 different stores over 12years.
It was an ok place to work dot com was tiring as it’s 6am starts till 2pm most days and 5days a week and only contracted to 16hours.
You are expected to work overtime and do more than what you’re paid for.
I would work there again though as the people are lovely (with a few exceptions) and it’s not overall a bad company to work for.
Pros
Discount and friendly staff
Cons
Expected to do overtime all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 March 2018
Worked at tesco for 6 years can't really complain to be honest decent hours had the opportunity to advance most management were nice but you would get the odd hitler. Had mental health issues whilst working for tesco had to have time off the management was very helpful with this
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, UK28 February 2018
Its a great place to work. One of my favourite jobs ever. I would highly recommend working there. The staff are amazing and management always has your back. There is always ways to progress into management and different departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Night Replenishment (Former Employee) –  Manchester28 February 2018
Tesco is one of the best retail company’s to work for depending on which store you are in and what your job role is and most importantly who your manager is. Enjoyed giving my service to Tesco and worked my way up very fast due to my experience in retail which was coming from a entrepreneurial family owning many grocery shops. Good team colleagues some grumpy though. Management overall I’d say is good depending who your department manager is as long as you get on with your work it’s all good
Pros
Loads of staff benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Tesco Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester24 February 2018
Was a part time basis while was in other study. It also helped me gain other experience suck as cusnter services


Learning alot on how big companies worked .
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Part-time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester19 February 2018
• Using great customer service, helping customers find items they require and offering alternatives when stock isn't available
• Working within different departments within the store
• Replenishing shelves and date checking
• Using the hand held terminal to mark down products when end of expiry date
• Using the hand held terminal to stock take and count stock for leakage and wastage
• Keeping the warehouse organised and in date order
• Serving customers on the tills whilst showing a high level of interest in customers needs and reqirements and helping with customer complaints if able
• Asking customers for identifacation on age restricted items i.e ciggaretts, alcohol and knifes
Pros
staff cafe
Cons
dinner breaks and cig breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
Customer Experience Manager (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester1 February 2018
I have enjoyed my time at Tesco, I have acquired a great skill set and knowledge. I enjoy working with people and leading a team of colleagues to deliver a great working environment. Tesco has given me that experience, and it is a great company to develop in with excellent training courses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad paying bad management
Packer/Picker (Former Employee) –  Manchester30 January 2018
very bad job and bad paying not sick pay and bad holiday paying . bad management and most crazy idiot polish team leader and some monk joke polish manager witch they are keep liring to keep her job safe for boss and play with staff and never care about staff . hard work and cold place not paying your wage all the time they mistake and less hour paying . and they are cheap like joke . and they are rasist and they just want polish people to work in factory , just like a polish factory very disappointed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massive expiriance
Customer Service Adviser (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester26 January 2018
My responsibilities in the call center were to place orders for customers and provide with advice, information and assistance to the customers, attempting to resolve all enquirers on first contact with the caller and deal with their complaints. I was working to make sure that all telephone calls were answered promptly, and I was required to follow up with the customers by calling them back to make sure the problem was solved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing colleagues
Manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester24 January 2018
Loved my Tesco years, the people are amazing and I have gained so many of my life/work experiences here.

Great experiences with some fantastic colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester11 January 2018
Tesco is a fun, great and flexible place to work. Employees and management are all extremely nice and understanding, really good pay and the environment is a nice and happy place to work. Great to start your work experience off here or as a job through or after university. Overall great place to work, bonuses after a year, friendly environment and good workload.
Pros
Good pay and breaks, reasonable discount
Cons
Busy over Christmas Period
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester3 December 2017
The only downside is that there are not many opportunities to progress and they can not differ between someone has a degree and someone hasn't. So I believe they give more opportunities to people who wants to progress in the company and support those people.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
Not many opportunities to progress
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Manchester11 November 2017
amazing place to work. always motivated. i learnt how to be more smart and productive. the job requires patience and this was what attracted to the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and i highly recommend it.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester7 November 2017
i learned many new transferable skills and also enhanced the ones i already owned. Building customer relationship was the best part of the job. working under pressure and managing things to be completed on time was a challenge i could take very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place of work
Stock Controller (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester6 November 2017
learned many new skills Tesco support you in all knowledge, great network of friend ships, day to day was checking stock and calculating how much new stock would be needed to be reordered in store.
Pros
discount
Cons
early hours of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place to work
Customer Assistant - Cashier (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Manchester11 October 2017
it was a good place to learn new skills and cultural difference. The managers treated us fairly and kindly reminded us of what needs to be improved and what I did well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tesci i'd recommend
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester3 October 2017
it was good and i really enjoyed it a lot. the experience with the customers and other employees was really good. They have good work ethics and i'm glad i worked there.
Pros
good lunch hours, good pay and friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11,312 reviews
53.2K
44.1K
32.8K
2803
1528

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture