Tesco Employee Reviews in London

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but job security is an issue
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  London16 January 2018
Tesco is a good place to work but it feels as though you are easy to remove, due to management just renewing your contract as temporary. Therefore your job is not permanent, and the managers can just choose to terminate your role. Good pay, however very tiring due to lifting very bottles, especially if filling drinks aisles and pet items. Good staff members, good chemistry with all shop floor workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London14 January 2018
good work management,day to activity is very easy , all the routines must done , the staff get full training before assign for the work , good team support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sécurité du travail
Directeur de magasin (Former Employee) –  Londres14 January 2018
Bon après plus de 17 ans. La progression vers un poste de cadre est lente et la culture a changé depuis le nouveau PDG.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  London13 January 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is talking to customers, making them feel welcome and seeing how you can make their day just by being helpful and positive. I have learned that your approach and tone of voice when dealing with a customer is very important as this can determine how they react to the positive or negative news about an item they were looking for.
Pros
Discounted lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company strong values
Project Manager new store refits (Former Employee) –  London11 January 2018
As above. Busy but rewarding. Lots of opportunity to try different areas of the business. There is a strong culture of everyone welcome at Tesco. 20 years in total service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  London10 January 2018
It was my first job and it was only for an experience and it really helped me understand the workplace how it works. Was it really worth it??
YES!!!
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on your particular branch
Customer Assistant, Team Leader (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London10 January 2018
Can be a fun place to work. My particular branch had issues with regards to their employment practices. Hours and shifts are good and pay is about average for job type.
Pros
Hours, shifts
Cons
Some parts of management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London9 January 2018
Hi I worked for Tesco looking for new careers and tasks in life. I enjoyed working but looking for new challenges in life. New year new job and careers.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Less pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London3 January 2018
It was fun working in Tesco's, made a lot of friends there and understood responsibilties a little bit more.
i've lurned a lot at Tesco's, it boosted my confidance and my character skills.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tesco Review
Tesco (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London29 December 2017
It is a great company to work for. I really enjoyed my time working there. The environment and work place is great, the staff and managers are friendly. They took good care of me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work.
Picker (Former Employee) –  London, Dagenham.21 December 2017
Every years they make differennt updates but without a positive result. It's hard and uncomfortable to work. In reality, there is not enough free space for the placement of goods and movement of workers. Almost always on the cage's lines are the long queue of pickers. This leads to the fact that the pickersare nervous and can not make required performance rate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and Productive
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London17 December 2017
Fast Paced environment
Customer focused
Lousy hours
Prefer men than women
Less break time
Good 10% discount after 6months service
Learn how to manage time efficiently
Pros
Good hourly pay
Cons
Less break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun Work place
DEPUTY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London4 December 2017
Learned how to deliver great customer service and get their feed back and work on them on daily basis, learned the mission and value statement of the company, which was treat people with respect and value their opinion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Customer assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London29 November 2017
Very good place to work and you are able to develop and learn new skills with the training provided by team leaders and store manager. I believe that it's a very good place to work part-time and full-time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London27 November 2017
Is a good place to work, friendly staff i run shifts from time to time i am training to be a supervisor and future manager i have a great opportunity with this company
Pros
Free tea and coffee
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked under valued on call 24/7 7 days a week
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London22 November 2017
Whilst the salary is good the expectation is that the company own you, days off weekends, morning night you can expect to be required to be contactable. The people you work with in store are the best part of the job, commited to providing the best service to customers if only the company would give the resources and equipment to do it.
Pros
Salary is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xx
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 November 2017
this was a student job which i worked at whilst studying.

flexible which is key for a student and pay was better than other retail equivalents which is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London20 November 2017
Ok place to work.Nice people and good team spirit .Staff discount helps you budget and uniform saves on having to buy clothing for work .Overall not a bad place to work.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Slow to recruit new staff when people leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London18 November 2017
It’s a supermarket. Now I have to say a load of words to hit the 150 minimum to
Do a review so I can move on with my day as this is really boring right now.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  London1 November 2017
very good place to work staff are great managers are good customers are nice and friendly very flexible place to work very convince the wages are very good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,590 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5