Tesco Employee Reviews in Glasgow

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Temporary Contract (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow12 January 2018
They are terrible mangment team are never around they are rude! They don't give you many hours worked always smelt of fish so if you love fish then perfect for you
Pros
There are no
Cons
Long hours, shocking pay and always dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Glasgow22 November 2017
I worked in a tesco express and the freezer was overload it was a dangerous place to work and they didn't care expected you to do every department in the shop although you weren't fully trained on it
Pros
None
Cons
Every thing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a place to work
Customer Sales Assistant (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Glasgow4 November 2017
Great managers, great customers, repeated and friendly, learned the value of communicating and establishing a friendly background with customers. Colleagues are amazing and helpful. Hardest part of the job is adhering to age limit policies with offensive customers at times. The most enjoyable part of the job are the customer that are not offensive but humorous...!
Pros
Friendly management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and new people
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow28 October 2017
I like working with new people and finding how stuff worked it really good to work at and help customers and take them to the stuff is and be friendly
Cons
9 to 3
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You're just a number
Deputy Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow11 October 2017
Tesco do not treat their people with respect. You are just a number when it comes down to it. You can work 80 hours a week and do as much as you physically can but it still isn't appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Dotcom Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow9 October 2017
Tesco is not the company that i started with all those years ago.
Their policies have totally changed, and they have become a company that no one likes working for today.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Poor Senior management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't fall for the facade.
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow27 September 2017
I was really looking forward to working at Tesco's, but it was the worst experience of my life. While being interviewed, the interviewer was lovely and chatty and it went smoothly. I was offered the job around 20 minutes later, which I accepted - but was expected to start immediately, which I could not do. I had no shop experience, which I told my new colleagues on the day of starting, and I was passed from person to person because no one wanted the responsibility of helping me. I was left at the checkouts and to monitor the self-service checkouts by myself, while around 5 other staff were in the back room smoking/having a cup of tea.

I left after 5ish hours, as I had had enough of being totally ignored. Unsurprisingly, no one seemed to notice until I was nearly out the door, until the manager came over to ask when my next shift was. I told her I was unsure if this was the job for me, and they then tried to blame the other manager/staff for me not wanting to return. It seemed such a two-faced place, and at that, I learned nothing at the Tesco training day. I thought Tesco would be an amazing employer, but it was literally just a lie. I don't know if it was just that one Express, but I felt like I was bullied from that place after only a short period of time. I glad I learned sooner rather than later.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked due to poor staffing level
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow24 August 2017
The work was arduous and at times heavy going, the customers and liasing with them was the highlight of the working day.
Staffing levels were not consistent or adequate this was a management failure
Pros
Good customers
Cons
Heavy work
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team manager training at tesco
Night Manager Replenishment (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow15 August 2017
The process took 3 months longer as i was held in my original store due to a manager leaving the company. during this time i was not paid a managers salary and after 3 months i still had to go on a placement to another store. when i was told this would not be the case. i enjoyed leading my team and working with staff and customers, but did not feel valued by the larger company, in fact i felt like a resource rather than a person. as i result i am now looking for employment in a small less corporate environment,
Pros
Management Training
Cons
was not paid managers wage while given all responsiblities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managable
Bakery Assistant (Current Employee) –  glasgow15 August 2017
In my store there arn't to many typical days seems like the big issue is tesco is rubbish. Most of the managers are leaving so I reckon it's time to jump ship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work colleagues
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow8 August 2017
Typical day is a 9 and half hour shift
3x 30mins breaks
on a checkout dealing with customers helping them with packing etc. Colleagues are fun and helpful.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
not flexible with trying to change days contracted shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, UK30 July 2017
The worst most stressful employer I have ever had the expectation and the way that the senior spoke to the staff was terrible and completely unacceptable , my only piece of advice I would give anyone is DO NOT work for Tesco as a Manager
Pros
discount
Cons
long and stressful hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tesco
Lead Manager (Current Employee) –  Glasgow25 July 2017
good company however no longer job security. In order to protect the business longer term there is no job for life. Good place for part time work and will give many people a chance to get back into employment but not on a lot of hours
Pros
collegues
Cons
security of job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are great, management well.....
Merchandiser/Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glasgow22 July 2017
Customer assistants are a great bunch of people and they are what makes Tesco alright to work in when it comes to management level that's where it all changes, lack of coordination at times and poorly run departments even with the simplest of jobs with easy solutions to problems they just cant do it. Shame as they are actually ok people just cant man manage at times and when they try they are atrocious and throw the book at people when there are much more realistic solutions.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
Management are selfish, all take and no give!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive
Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow19 July 2017
face paced, expansive skill gained, management well trained, culture change required, work life balance good..........................................................
Pros
team work
Cons
basic technology to do job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night shift
Night shift customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow12 July 2017
I found my experience at Tesco to be satisfactory for a part time job while at college though I would not pursue a career out of it due to the unsociable hours
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow9 July 2017
This company is very decent, I worked fixed hours and got weekends off. Other staff are out for themselves though and management can be lazy at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow6 July 2017
i have been working for Tesco for about 2 years now and i have had more opportunities for professional advancement in the 2 years than i previously had in 9 years with Asda. Its a very enjoyable company to work for and they have great benefits for staff.
Pros
discount card, fun, job satisfaction, advancement
Cons
lack of communication, tools to do the job to the best of my ability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great colleagues
Customer Assistant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow1 July 2017
Tesco is a fun place to work with great colleagues and amazing benefits (discount card etc).
They are a company that look for workers willing to work late shifts and long hours.
Pros
Cheap canteen, discount card
Cons
Late starting shifts, same thing day in day out
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace with many benefits
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow Sauchiehall St18 June 2017
I am a former employee of Tesco. Working with the company has given me a
wide set of customer service skills. My job entailed tasks such as working on
the checkouts, self-scan, customer service desk and being an assistant on the
shop floor. Dealing with the public daily, I gained experience dealing with
customer satisfaction and how to deal with customers in all situations that I
feel I could use for any future employment
Pros
Enjoyable place to work
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,590 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5