Tesco Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Sales Assistant and Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 January 2018
With Tesco being my first ever job, I definitely learnt some valuable life lessons which have helped me within not only my work but personal life too. My confidence has built up even more so, and I have had the opportunity to work with a many individuals, varying from different ethnic backgrounds and age groups etc, which put a lot of things into perspective for myself.

Working in Tesco, I had been given the chance to progress, which ultimately tested me in many ways which I had taken on head strong.
I was able to work efficiently with tasks given to me as my working relationships were never biased, and it was a friendly atmosphere, where myself being sociable was able to get along with anyone. Regardless whether they were on my department or not.
Pros
Opportunity to progress
Cons
Hours were not always consistent
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands28 December 2017
it a great place to work when busy but boring when quiet.
i have become more confident when speaking to customers because of working here. management are okay. great overall place to work
Pros
working with great people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work
Sales (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands7 December 2017
I m a good person i take my job seriosly i m verry responsible for what i do i don t have any problems with nowbody they are very satisface with me and i like to work there
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands1 December 2017
I found working with Tesco an amazing experience and it helped me grow as a person and I was treated like a team member instead of just another employee the hours were great and so was the pay.
Pros
free food drinks
Cons
none I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Customer Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands8 November 2017
I enjoyed my years at Tesco as the staff and customers were very friendly. This position kept me fit as i was constantly lifting and stocking. I also gained a lot of experience on how to deal with all types of customers and cash handling.
Pros
Positive surroundings and good benefits
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location
Part time- (Permanent) (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands11 September 2017
Friendly staffs and management; but lack individual growth within the company for new opportunities, but we do have a great team and colleagues. Certain departments are being outsourced to other companies for cost saving which has caused anxiety amongst colleagues.
Pros
Location
Cons
Lack of new opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive experience
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham7 September 2017
I loved working for Tesco. I worked on both shop floor and tills/customer service desk. You get to meet a lot of people including regular customers as part of your job. You get to know about new products and promotions and there is good oppourtunities to break into management for younger people. The easiest and hardest part of the job is the type of customer you get, it makes a big difference to what your day is like. The reason I left is because I couldnt get a full time position and couldn't afford to be on part time wages otherwise I would have stayed there
Pros
Sociable job
Cons
Difficult to get a full time position in the store I was at
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Birmingham28 August 2017
Learned new skills due to customer assistant. The workplace culture is comforting. A typical day of work is to follow orders of your team leaders or your Manger. Also other Managers could also ask for your help.
Pros
Kind Staff
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands26 August 2017
always trying to manipulate staff, never pay overtime correctly, terrible company in my opinion. the base pay is terrible compared to other supermarkets, they increase the wage according to inflatiion so they barely have to pay you anything. extremely sly company
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Hands on
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands16 August 2017
Excellent place to work. No two days are the same as there is always something new to do in terms of stock work or customer based services. Working for the company for over two years now I have gained invaluable customer service experience which I can transfer to future jobs. The company has really good job security however there is not much opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good side job to have wjile working through university and college
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 August 2017
As much as i didnt enjoy working for tesco at times it did have its benifits. management were always very felxible for me to work around university and college and were always open to listening and working with staff to improve the work/life balence
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 August 2017
Its very nice to work here. i get along with everybody and my managers are very understanding. i always have team meetings to discuss how my time at ttescos us giung,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands26 July 2017
Tesco maintenance was a very good place to work with very friendly staff day to day was always different management was very helpful and the public was ti
Pros
25%discount
Cons
Dirty job at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 July 2017
Loved working here, staff are very friendly and it is a great way to interact with the community.
The work itself is not overly difficult once you learn where everything is located, and over time you are eligble for some generous benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating Workplace with new challengers on a daily basis.
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  The Mailbox, Birmingham12 July 2017
Working at Tesco can be really stimulating, I had to face new challenges on a daily basis, while working really hard to achieve our targets and met customers needs.

Unfortunately the disadvantages coming up together with the job is the way management will with our personal development, opportunities are only given to those who well known or related in some kind with mangers. Promotions are never been a straight forward process, you will always need to know someone within the management to be consider for any career promotions.
Pros
The team spirit. I had always feel like if I was part of a family.
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands6 July 2017
a good environment to work at. management was great, but a typical day at work would be very long. i really enjoyed working at this workplace (Tesco).
Pros
not a bad pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I pride myself in customer service!
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands23 June 2017
On a typical day i would sometimes help load vans or they would already be done for me and we would have a quick briefing in the morning and go off to our runs for the morning, then come back to the store in the afternoon for lunch and move on again to the runs. I learnt many skills such as excellent customer service, being punctual and knowing the Birmingham area very well. I am a quick learner and remember routes even after one visit. I had many friendly collegues. Hardest part of the job is waiting for customers to be home on the times they requested. Most fun and enjoyable is giving good service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cold
Shop Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham22 June 2017
I literally just did a weeks work experience there and worked in frozen the whole time and they didn't give me gloves. Think I was 14 so was too scared to ask.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hierachy
Phone Shop Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, UK20 June 2017
not good management, lack of communication, issues with shifts, time management issues, hierarchy is clear, conflict with employees, boring days work, easy money
Pros
nothing
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dated
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham9 June 2017
Need more challenging rolepeople don't adapt well to change. Staff aswell as managers. Fairly good work life balance and some of the benefits were also good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,669 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5