SWANSEA COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good workplace
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea29 May 2018
A day at my job for swansea council was very well organised and a nice place to work. All the people i met were very friendly and helped me out a lot when i started.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Primary school cleaner
Cleaner (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Swansea9 January 2018
Terrible job. I had a particularly bad, dishonest supervisor at Trawlln school. She was deceptive, manipulative, and eventually got me out of work for character reasons.
Pros
None
Cons
Tedious job, looked down upon
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for the councile
Temporary Contract (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea21 May 2017
started in the moring done bin loading had a good laugh with the lads it was a very fast pace work but i liked it the hardest part off the job was walking but i liked it
Pros
moring starts
Cons
longs hours with i liked
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work
SEN Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea17 April 2017
Helped me settle in with good contacts and great support as I was new to the area, helped me with training and guidelines. Gave me vast experience with children who are disabled.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Construction Labourer (Current Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea19 February 2017
good company to work for ,good job security ,company car or van , Felix time is possible, plenty of training available to change career if needed to be, good health care
Pros
local
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Landscape Operative (Former Employee) –  Swansea City12 February 2017
Hard work very offten got wet and damp, learned a lot about setting out builds and roadworks, drainage. Managment ok good communication skills. Enjoyed most days ther as the new builds took shape and being part of a team was rewarding.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Wet weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, bad management
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea23 November 2016
Good job, involved me in answering telephone calls, dealing with queries, typing, minute taking, inputting data into a computer by using various data bases. The training is quite good. Management do not treat everyone alike which is bad. Dept very cliquey so opportunities for advancement quite low if not in a clique. There has been bullying over last few years when budgets were cut. Moral quite low due to this. Good things include flexible working, although sometimes hard to get time off when needed, this again due to reduction in staff levels. Pay is quite good. Most enjoyable part of job was the variety. Hardest part was dealing with poor inconsistent and biased managers.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Plasterer (Former Employee) –  Swansea13 November 2016
Very poor managers cause low moral which has got worse over past few years.No support when needed. Pay ok but can be higher in private firms. Co-workers friendly enough.
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
poor support
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy
Gardenmaintenance (Former Employee) –  Swansea victoria park11 July 2016
I real enjoyed working for the council I was a hard worker
but due to the work i was moved around units to work in those
areas. I would like to work again there I left due to seasonal work.
Pros
own lunch
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hit and Miss
Tree Surgeon (Former Employee) –  parks department3 July 2013
Some excellent teams, but many departments suffering from stagnation and low moral
Pros
Local area
Cons
Poor management and team moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Secretary/PA (Former Employee) –  Penllergaer9 June 2012
Great organisation to work for.
Friendly staff.
Canteen on site.
Penllergaer offices are surrounded by beautiful woods.
Easy access from M4.
Pros
canteen, friendly staff
Cons
car park charges
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report

See more SWANSEA COUNCIL reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SWANSEA COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 13 reviews
52
42
35
22
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.8Culture

SWANSEA COUNCIL Reviews by Location