Sutton Council Employee Reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sutton
Children services manager (Former Employee) –  civic30 December 2018
Children services in constant upheaval. After in previous years dismissing a long standing stable management group after a poor ofsted inspection report Sutton hired one of the inspectors to improve services.

The working environment is drab and the pay rates for permanent staff are average
Pros
good shopping near by
Cons
dated office environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Council Tax Officer (Former Employee) –  Sutton, Greater London12 December 2018
Brilliant place to work and live.

Wasn't sure what it would be like to work in Sutton, was not sure about the diversity of the workplace and I was pleasantly surprised. Very relaxed office environment.
Pros
Office location to station and high street
Cons
No major high street retailers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team and very challenging environment
Senior Business Support Officer/Electoral Services (Current Employee) –  Sutton15 August 2018
Very competitive nature of working. Always new and exciting business projects to work on. Management is very helpful and understanding as long as you pull your weight.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wide Range of Opportunity
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sutton, Greater London5 June 2018
By getting involved with Sutton Council I was able to get a wide range of experiences, from event volunteering, advertising, journalism, and much more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Sutton21 January 2018
Going to work at 9am till 7pm

I have learned a lot about housing information assessment team.

Nice Workplace and culture

Nothing was hard about the jobs
Pros
No free Lunch
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funny
Civil Enforcement Officer - NSL (Former Employee) –  Sutton, Greater London27 December 2017
A typical day at work will be when I go on street to issue penalty notice charges to drivers and in return get abused.
I learnt to be resilient and not give up easily.
Management weren't very supportive and it made the work harder for staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The atmosphere was very intense, due to targets.
Housing Benefit and Council Tax Assessment Officer (Former Employee) –  Sutton12 December 2017
Not my favorite job, as it was completely desk orientated. The hours were flexible and the management were nice people. I learnt to focus on the job in front of me, and to carefully double check my work.
Pros
No travel expenses
Cons
Not easy to fit into an already established small team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and professional staff
Project Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Sutton, Greater London3 May 2017
Enjoyed working for Sutton Council and would definetely come back if there was a position suitable for me. My role was very diverse, i communicated with stakeholders/managers across Sutton council offices and implemented change across the council as project support officer. I was trained on relevant systems which i can take to another role. The most enjoyable part of the job was successfully completing the project to the required standard that all staff were happy with.
Pros
Flexible working - able to work from home 1 day week
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sutton, Greater London22 February 2017
I have been able to complete my level 3 Diploma in supporting and teaching while working for the council.
A typical day at work starts at 8,30 and ends at 15.30.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard office work
Phone Operator (Former Employee) –  Sutton13 January 2017
I undertook a 2 week work experience at Sutton council working on the phones and working on the councils own systems to look and evaluate people's benefit claims. Working here was what I imagine most office work would be like. The work was steady and hours regulated.
Pros
good lunch hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Librarian Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wallington, ENG24 August 2015
I had a lot of fun working at wallington library, they have really lovely staff who make you feel welcome, there's always something to do and is a lovely atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy at all times
Administration (Former Employee) –  Sutton20 September 2014
I love that fact that there was never really a slow moment in the job and that people were friendly. I had to answer phone calls, log in complaints and fill envelopes.

I learnt how to talk to people and how to handle different types of people.

The hardest part of the job was sometimes how people would speak to you on the phone.

I enjoyed seeing how a workplace can be from day to day.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
the repartition
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sutton Summer Uni
Workshop assistant (Former Employee) –  Sutton, ENG27 September 2013
Workshop assistant for 'Make a Music Video' - gave children of a variety of ages and backgrounds the opportunity to come together and work creatively in the summer holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Sutton Council reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sutton Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
56
45
33
21
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Sutton Council Reviews by Location