Surya Hotels Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 11 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t even bother!
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cambridgeshire15 October 2019
Worst company to work for! I can’t believe I stuck it out for as long as I did. Manager is useless. You’d be lucky if you get a break. Unsociable hours. If you get employed as a receptionist, be aware you’ll also be working on the bar, maintenance person and everything else! I could say many bad things about this place but it would take so long. Absolute shambles!
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganised, no training, very poor management
Front of House Staff (Former Employee) –  King's Lynn, Norfolk29 September 2019
Was employed on the spot (very unusual but needed the job), management didn’t ask for my cv or anything to see what skills I had and which department I would be best in. Said I had no experience in front of house but stand in manager (hotel had very little staff at this point) said plenty of training would be given. Absolutely no training, just yelled at by management and other staff to do things on the spot that I had no experience or training in. Given ridiculous hours, like finishing at 1am and starting again at 7am (pretty sure this is illegal). Very inconsistent in how they run things (random uniform and protocol changes without notice) and management was a joke. Finally left and am being paid half of what I am owed in relation to the hours and shifts I worked. Managers are not responding to my request for correct pay so they must sleep well knowing their staff can’t afford to pay their bills because of them. I can’t stress enough not to work for this company or any of its hotels. Lastly, there were NO scheduled breaks and managers would have a go if you were found to be on a break or sat down for a few minutes. 10 hour shifts with no breaks? Also illegal. A complete shambles.
Pros
Tips are shared out on the day
Cons
Literally everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor senior managment
Manager (Current Employee) –  King's Lynn, Norfolk27 September 2019
Extremely poor organization and pay structure. Low team morale and low standards due to weak recruitment. Culture of deskilling good staff. Worked with nice people though
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not paid for trial shift
Barista/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Bury St. Edmunds, Suffolk29 May 2019
I applied for a waiting/bar staff position at the Bury St Edmunds hotel,
I was invited to do a trial shift for management to decide if I would be hired or not.

The hotel did not get back to me at all after my trial shift and despite me phoning they refused to pay me for my trial shift which was between 2-3 hours long.

From this Id say its a pretty poor recruitment process which management use to get as much free work out of people as possible..


I would avoid applying to a job here.
Pros
none
Cons
the recruitment process
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
GHM (Former Employee) –  Great Hallingbury, Essex22 February 2019
Hardly no training was given, bad pay was under staffed was put only on late shifts which gave me no life outside work at all which led me to having my mental health issues worsen and it was handed appoorling by management (both hotel and event). The other staff members are really nice but such a high turn around of staff (now I know why) when there not talking about eachother. I wish I never took the job if I knew how badly it would have affected my mental health and wellbeing
Pros
Leaving
Cons
No Social life not alot training given
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and learning curve
General Assistant/manager (Former Employee) –  Essex and surrey7 February 2019
I worked with Surya for 3 years
I started at the bottom and gradually worked my way up into the management side of the bar and restaurant whilst also taking on a more advanced management role under my general manager
Pros
Live in and gained experience in the field that I want to be in
Cons
Not many
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Badly run company
Bar Staff (Former Employee) –  Essex18 June 2018
Senior staff are useless. Don’t back their staff when mangers ain’t available. Don’t pay what they owe when leaving the company. Asking for holiday pay that owed and monthly wages outstanding to which they change your hours on the database meaning your even worse off when you get paid . Mangers not being available leaving bar staff to run the bar and hotel alone. Worse company to work for. Useless hr department useless bar mangers, useless regional mangers USELESS ALL TOGETHER
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convenient
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Colchester, Essex3 February 2018
This job is convenient if you like set shifts, but the work is very boring. No scope to progress the business due to head office taking up residence at the site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very productive workplace
Bar Staff (Current Employee) –  Sudbury Suffolk2 October 2016
Not a very well organised company, no structure to the organisation to improve the general running of the hotel.
The manager isn't organised in his work and very lazy, he is rarely seen.
Customers complain regularly about the cleanliness of the hotel, the lack of stock and the general running of the company.
The managers are in-experienced in their departments and this shows in the running of the hotel, especially the functions that are organised e.g weddings and birthdays in the function room are unorganised and not looked after.
Cons
Long unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report

See more Surya Hotels reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Surya Hotels. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

1.6
Based on 11 reviews
50
41
32
20
18

Ratings by category

2.0Work/Life Balance
1.9Salary/Benefits
1.6Job Security/Advancement
1.4Management
1.8Culture

Surya Hotels Reviews by Location