SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Found 51 reviews matching the search See all 53 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Street Scene Technician (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear7 November 2018
good place to work wish i was still there to be honest miss the place the management was ok and the lads were great to work with, got trained up on a lot of stuff there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active
Refuse Wagon Driver (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear15 August 2018
This job allowed me to excel and express certain qualities i have, such as staying fit and active as well as caring and maintaining the environment. The job allowed me to also challenge myself and develop my skills further to become more experienced and equipped.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hospitality assistant
Hospitality Assistant (Former Employee) –  sunderland17 March 2018
i could have done with extra help when i started to selling the tuck shop and also the bingos when some of the staff left i was working on my own and also kept to good time keeping and been able to sell the tuck shop food and beverages then and be able to give the correct change to right the service user
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe job
Business Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunderland13 March 2018
Not a safe job working in admin always cutting staff members, not a very challenging or rewarding job, managers dont treat staff well always being moved to different locations throughout the city
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependable
School Admissions Officer (Current Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear17 February 2018
A typical day will involve lots of phone calls and e-mails from outside agencies, liaising with other organisations, and helping customers. I enjoy helping people.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
varied work and demanding
Human Resources Assistant / Adminstrator (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear29 January 2018
Great place to work, many departments and something for everyone.

Lots of room to progress within the Council and therefore there was lots of opportunities for people who wanted it.

I worked within finance and HR and enjoyed both equally
Pros
varied work
Cons
dont know if there was one
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Leisure Attendant (Former Employee) –  Washington, Tyne and Wear8 January 2018
Early Morning Shift,
enjoyable training, customer service.
culture of helping people and maintaining high standards ,
setting up and de-rigging of equipment ,
good teamwork culture,
dealing with complaints and enquiries
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job but horrible in the rain
Environmental Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear22 October 2017
Great place to work with good benefits but on a rainy day you were wet all day working outside with barely any breaks. Another good thing was most days it was job and nock
Pros
job and nock
Cons
working outside in the rain
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear10 September 2017
I need more hours than the company can provide although the hours I work are very good. I work at the museum and winter gardens which make a pleasant working environment
Pros
Good hours
Cons
But not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and rewarding
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hetton le Hole31 August 2017
Everyday is different. Working with 6/7 year old children who come into school everyday just wanting to tell you everything that they have seen and done and trying to let them have a small amount of time to tell you, but then to the serious bit of educating them. The class environment is always a nice place to be in. Children can make you smile at the simplest of things. Hardest part is if a child has issues and these can be sometimes serious, as an individual you have to report and only disclose to management. Most days are a pleasure and an experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice colleagues
Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear16 June 2017
Colleagues working ther are competent and hard working. But the current senior management leaves a lot to be desired. So sometimes it feels a bit like swimming against the tide. Thats probably normal in most councils these days, with the more experience staff having taken early retirement.
The hours are flexible, there is a staff restaurant and the people are very friendly.
Pros
nice colleagues
Cons
poor management and leadership of the council
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
Teacher/Head of Science (Former Employee) –  Sunderland25 May 2017
long days and hard work. teaching is tough and the holidays while they sound OK are short when you consider that you work hrough half of them. not the best!
Pros
holidays
Cons
long ours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Apprentice Street Scene Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, Tyne and Wear2 May 2017
My typical day at work is putting bins on everyday, always outdoors, The hardest part is sometimes the late finishes.
The management is great, I have learnt how to meet specific times and keep on track with the job. I most enjoy being outdoors at all times and hand on work.
Pros
Been outside
Cons
Different finishing times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible working
senior practitioner (Current Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear26 April 2017
Flexible working
good health and safety of staff policies
central location
travel expenses
lease car scheme
working form home
good range of carrerrs
Pros
flexible working
Cons
staff development
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunderland, Tyne and Wear17 March 2017
Providing administration support to social care staff using a variety of systems, ie database, Microsoft Office, also minute taking and reception duties.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Agile working
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy workplace
Enviromental services technition (Current Employee) –  Sunderland8 February 2017
Enjoy working here but am looking to leave as future not gauranteed, learned a lot from this employment and gained various certificates.
Pros
Early finishes, various work to be done
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work ethic of employees
Head of Corporate Affairs and Communications (Former Employee) –  Sunderland16 November 2016
A hard working group of employees.
Excellent communications team.
Good internal training programmes.
Good relationships with elected members and officers.
Excellent events programme to meet the needs of visitors and residents of the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and friendley.
Gardener/Handyman (Former Employee) –  Tyne and Wear2 November 2016
Planting flowers and weeding, And keeping flower beds clean and tidy from rubbish. I enjoyed it when i planted the flowers then a few months later to see them flowering. And when people used to make nice remarks about the work we had done. Also nice friendly employers to work with,
Cons
Working in the snow and freezing cold.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace. Long hours over weekend.
DofE Manager (Current Employee) –  Sunderland7 October 2016
Good job, despite long hours. Good career development from youth work assistant to DofE manager. Excellent experience working with and developing young people.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Long hours over weekend
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Early Intervention Family Worker (Current Employee) –  Sunderland5 October 2016
Sunderland city council are a good company to work for they are very supportive and a good company to work for, they offer good salaries and are flexible and fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 53 reviews
519
419
310
23
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

SUNDERLAND CITY COUNCIL Reviews by Location