Subway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job routine
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sunderland20 April 2018
i worked my way from being normal staff to supervisor then manager, i learnt allot about the day to day running of a business, i learnt food hygiene,i learnt how to make the perfect sandwich and best of all i spoke to people day in day out on face to face basis and i got to know allot of new people
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not enough working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Cyprus Station19 April 2018
A typical day at work can be very fun. The hardest part of the job is sometimes dealing with customer complaints. The workplace culture is very good, motivating employees to do their best when serving customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning curve
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth19 April 2018
Subway really helps you pick up skills which are needed for your future jobs. i picked up many skills such as my leadership and communication skills. the pay is minimum but you do learn a lot
Pros
50% discount on food
Cons
zero hour contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Team leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside18 April 2018
first fast room outlet i had worked and being in a airport didn't now what to expected but was made to fell very welcome and was given the training and skills i needed in a very busy environment
Pros
brake payed for
Cons
high turnover of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Franchise
Manager (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire18 April 2018
This particular franchise was not good to work for, cannot comment on the rest. Owner was awful, expected far too much for little pay. No work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, enjoyable, relaxed at times, challenging
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Bangor, County Down17 April 2018
A day in Subway would usually consist of serving customers, prepping foods, washing dishes and other extra cleaning. In my time at Subway I learned how to deal with customer complaints, how to work efficiently and also how to manage with the pressure that comes with working in an intense environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
went bankrupt
Sandwich Artist/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Melksham, Wiltshire16 April 2018
business was a franchise and went bankrupt was old and run down cause the owner never put money into it. was able to cope with what I had but was not the best place I ever worked at. I am sure there are better shops of subway out there
Pros
free lunch
Cons
bad owner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Chatteris15 April 2018
Generally a good company to work for. Can be unsociable hours. Opportunity to progress fairly quickly. Opportunity to transfer to other sites if required.
Pros
Local
Cons
Changing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment
Fast Food Worker (Current Employee) –  Solihull, West Midlands14 April 2018
Subway is s good place to learn how to work however it isn’t a job where you can relax you have to be on your toes all the time and you have to work quickly through customers. The pay isn’t the best as it’s minimum wage therefore I have to work long hours in order to earn a decent pay check.
Pros
Free lunches and discounts at NEC
Cons
Long hours and extra work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast pace
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Carlisle12 April 2018
subway is very fast pace and i found it very hard to work here, the hours are not grate and the pay is terrible, subway is a good place to work for a short time but not for a permanent job
Pros
free lunch
Cons
bad pay and awkward hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Subway?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent workplace
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Manchester/ United Kingdom12 April 2018
Jit is superboss, he is warm and kind person who tells you that you've done good job and he is proud.
Pros
free foot long sandwich a day, free cookies and pastries at the end of the day, free beverages, great boss, great employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
subway was a happy and fun place to work
sales assitant (Former Employee) –  glasgow springburn12 April 2018
the enjoyable part of the job was meeting new customers and chatting to them while doing work, the hardest part of the job was learning to close up and cash up on my own for the first time . i was shown how to put all the food away for next day i was shown how to do everything my a manager. i also learned how to make up sandwhiches by cuttng the bread and how to use a touch screen till trying to get all the orders right on first day
Pros
i was getting free lunch and dinner at end of shift
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
team leader (Former Employee) –  York10 April 2018
Subway was a pretty decent place to work. I met some great people and it was nice having a one to one with people all day as you don't get that in many jobs.
Pros
free food
Cons
working alone a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  wales newport10 April 2018
i like working at the subway branch that i work at and like being part of a team
i like working with the general public
subway is a fun place to work at
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place and work culture
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 April 2018
Subway provided me with the opportunity to acquire essential skills and knowledge. Subway also provided me with ample opportunity to progress in my career and provided a challenging and rewarding career experience.
Pros
Free lunches, Career advancement and Work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Customer Representative (Current Employee) –  Rayleigh, Essex8 April 2018
Customer facing role is good, can be quiet at times. Friendly people and nice location. Fun making the sandwiches and working as a team. Takes some time to learn all the food products and measurements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It all staff are friendly
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Tonbridge, Kent6 April 2018
Subway could inmprove if all staff are frendly to all staff and. Subway Is a great place to go to because it is healthy and is easy and fats for everybody
Pros
Free food and free drinks
Cons
30hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if your in the right area
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Stretford5 April 2018
Fast paced environment, friendly people, good pay, unfortunately the store I work at I work alone sometimes and it can be way too much as should have at least two people on shift as it gets busy at any time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable family workplace
Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton, West Midlands4 April 2018
this company is fun and friendly everyone treats each other like family. we helped each other with prep and cleaning jobs also we use to just got out together
Pros
free employee meals
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy environment to work in
shop assistant (Current Employee) –  Tynemouth4 April 2018
I enjoy working for this company and have never been disappointed to go to work.
A typical day would involve checking and rotating stock, serving customers, handling money and closing the store.
I have learnt how to deal with all customer types and all about food health and hygiene guidelines.
Management have helped me out tremendous amounts through out the time that I have worked at the store. I always felt that they were easy to approach and could always ask them if I needed help.
The hardest part of the job was watching other employees coming into the store and not caring about the job because "it is only subway". I feel that, it should not matter where you work, you should always do your best.
The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers and being trusted with money and with closing the shop. It was also nice to have a mix of working alone and working in a team.
Pros
Free lunch, flexible hours, good team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 29,705 reviews
59K
48.8K
37.6K
22.5K
11.9K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture