Subway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company Alot of hours.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne16 October 2018
Subway is a good company to work for and the staff are so nice to you when you need something or if your on your trial they will keep you right. Friendly staff and management.
Pros
free lunches. extra hours constantly
Cons
minimum wage. monthly pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay.
Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Worthing15 October 2018
my time spent at subway was very educational in terms of working ethic and also food preparation and hygiene. The best part of it was my fellow co-workers and the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Temporary Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Keighley12 October 2018
Although working at Subway was productive and helped build my experience in retail and customer service it was not a fun environment as fellow colleagues would leave and it left many of us working on our own during busy times (lunch time).
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tottenham Hale, Greater London9 October 2018
Wasn't organised.
Applied for Walthamstow role and was asked to relocate to Tottenham hale store.
Shift pattern was unorganized was left with a days notice on my next shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is okay
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Crawley9 October 2018
The job is actually alright.
The problem is that if it's not enough staff you have to do everything.
Is an fast place environment and you totally need to mentain your positivity.
Pros
one meal per day
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester9 October 2018
I work in subway in a hospital the nurses where very rude and end up reporting u for it. Long hours good pay though. But as for the management very sly and make sure they get what they want even if it involves breaking afew roles. Have to say am glad to be out of that place
Pros
No free meals
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
team leader (Former Employee) –  Wrexham8 October 2018
They have trained me professionalism. how to handle money, how to do rota, handling delivery ,achieving target and so on. I got 100% marks from mystery shopper from subway. they make me confident for any job.
Pros
free meal, holiday
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  London8 October 2018
Serving the customers and taking their orders, making sure they are satisfied with the product at the end and then lastly serving them at the till. Keeping up with the fast paced environment.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Constantly busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Nottingham6 October 2018
Worked with a great group of staff, made going to work a pleasure and had a good laugh. Busy periods are tough as people expect to be served quickly, just maintain a positive attitude when serving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle-under-Lyme5 October 2018
Working at subway is a great place for a first time job. Staff make the environment to fun place to work. Depending on how busy the workplace is depend on how fast the work will go.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
flexi rota meaning hours can constantly change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Canterbury City Centre, Kent5 October 2018
This is an incredibly boring place to work. the job is repetitive and dull, much like the management. Plus the food is downright disgusting- not one individual in the kitchen with any culinary skill. Awful
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot Environment
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire4 October 2018
On your feet all day constantly, tiring, hot environment, can burn yourself, can cut yourself, must always wear gloves and a hat, till software needs updating
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced
Manager (Former Employee) –  england4 October 2018
I was young when i worked in subway.
personally i think it was a great first job in regard to confidence and skill building and relationship to customer service.
Pros
free food, fast pace environment
Cons
quick turnover of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some branches are better than others
Manager (Current Employee) –  warminster4 October 2018
the hours are fine the progression is good the pay is inline with other companies the only problem is the franchised locations are not ideal if you re a non driver often in remote locations on busy carriageways they are also in a building which normally has a costa and greggs inside. Also having been there a few months i have been away to various locations for at least 5 weeks so far since july..
Pros
free sub is provided
Cons
placement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway Review
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Wolverhampton3 October 2018
Great company to work for. friendly people
nice staff. nice management. friendly people. a joy to work for. flexible with other commitments. Overall a great company to work for.
Pros
free subway
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Nottingham City Centre, Nottinghamshire3 October 2018
fun workplace with a lot of different things happening serving customers preparing food, back of house duties also cleaning the shop, closing and opening the shop was a great place to work at times
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Subway
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Forest Town East2 October 2018
When I was working at Subway I enjoyed it but it just wasn't for me it wasn't my dream job. I was very flexible with my hours and picked up any shifts I could and was always reliable and never late.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
artist (Former Employee) –  West Park1 October 2018
I loved working there, everyone was so friendly and welcoming especially the manager. It was always busy, I enjoyed making the sandwiches. The management was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard busy working days
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Fareham1 October 2018
It's a good first job once you leave school/collage to git some experience for fast passed work.
The shift patterns are not the best but it is still fun place to work and meet new people everyday.
Pros
Free lunch, long shifts
Cons
Hours are not the best for a social life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands1 October 2018
Workers were forced to work more than what they are required due to only one person working at a time. Manager was lazy and consistently took breaks every other hour whereas the staff were not allowed any breaks and were made to work constantly. Regular issues with underpayment.
Pros
You have a job
Cons
Manager was only there for free food and provided no support, poor staff management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 32,809 reviews
59.9K
49.6K
38.4K
22.8K
12.1K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture