Subway Employee Reviews

Found 355 reviews matching the search See all 38,424 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working here it's different every single day the days are never the same
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Tytherington21 July 2019
I love working here I've been here for 2 years and really enjoy my job I work alot of hours but I choose to do that. It's not just about making sandwiches
Pros
Free lunch on shift
Cons
Early starts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and repetitive, not good pay
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Ellesmere Port21 July 2019
Always doing the same thing, not good wage, (5 pounds an hour). It’s a very busy workplace so you’re always busy which is good BUT it’s repetitive and the pay isn’t good enough for the amount of jobs you do within one shift. If you’re I’ll you have to go in if no one covers for you, only allowed ONE FREE SIX INCH SUB if you work 5 hours. Everything else you have to pay for. Shifts not good as I go college and sometimes struggle to balance it all- not good hours that suit my life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Running a dictatorship
Shift manager (Current Employee) –  Wirral, Merseyside19 July 2019
One of the worst places to work! Staff are all over worked and underpaid. Store manager always has to go over their contracted hours which is already a ridiculously low salary so they end up working for sometimes even less than minimum wage. You have to pay for your own uniform with the promise you get it back when you leave yet again another lie! Employee meals are often stopped as punishment for stock counts being under. If you are a shift manager you are expected to stay on shift until everything is done. You are rotad til 15 minutes after closing which is not enough time to do the close down tasks therefore you stay late UNPAID! If the next manager doesn’t turn in you are EXPECTED to stay and cover their shift. You mostly work alone so there’s no chance of even a toilet break! They expect so much for absolutely nothing in return there’s never any recognition for hard work or going the extra mile but there’s plenty of criticism and always new demands without any training for any new menu items. You are left alone with a safe no cash policies any variances come out of wages. Being left alone also feels unsafe especially when you don’t even have access to the main safe if thieves where to demand this. Awful and inhumane place to work.
Pros
Absolutely none
Cons
Long hours no support no breaks work alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fresh take on a old Job
Sandwich artist (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear18 July 2019
All depends on the staff you're working with and the hours Some days you'll be swept off your feet others you be bored

There's a great variety of jobs to do from Till work too food prep all jobs are important to running a great store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Purley, Greater London17 July 2019
It was a demanding job, but the pay was not worth it. Constantly on your feet all day. You meet a lot of new people everyday and you create new friends everyday with returning customers and a by providing a good service.
Pros
Free lunches, meet new people
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Sandwich artist (Former Employee) –  London17 July 2019
Worked there a couple years back when i was only 16. They had me close the store at 12am alone despite my age, took money from my wage every month, poor management. Despite all this the customers weren't too bad.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Too short of staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Subway artist (Former Employee) –  NEC17 July 2019
Went months without any hours. Wasn't given my starting bonus.Had to ask numerous of different times for my wages.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Paced job
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, Lincolnshire16 July 2019
A typical day at work varies with its quiet and busy periods, some expected and some not.
Pros
Free Lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Sandwich artist (Former Employee) –  Sheffield15 July 2019
Was put on one station for the whole month, I wasn't given proper meat training. I started to learn the tills after 2-3 weeks of being there. Place can cause breakdowns, management isn't afraid to let people go, even if they're hrdworking
Pros
Free subs after every shift, even part time!
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Manchester15 July 2019
Just dont do this to yourself
They dont give a 2 hoots if you get paid at all or even right
Massive deal If you want to book a holiday or are sick
No work/ life balance
Expect you to do absolutely everything including shutting the store and manager jobs etc banking even though your on team member with no hope of changing
Company doesn't care about employees
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Subway
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Portsmouth14 July 2019
Some of the stuff are lovely there but the pay is poor and the manager can be quite rude they can make you feel very low at times and they talk about other members of staff when they are not present
Pros
Free lunch after 4 hours and 25%
Cons
Treated badly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport