Subway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Junior Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Taunton, Somerset21 July 2018
At subway I did everything you can do at a subway from making the sandwiches to cleaning the toilets and everything in between. this job has given me more experience in dealing with customers the appropriate way which has been every useful but do to (what I believe is) inadequate training I failed to reach expectations of an employee at 2 months and was asked to leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Perth21 July 2018
As a first job I didn't take much interest on what was going on in my job, however some of the staff where very aggressive to new members of staff and made it quite difficult to enjoy. Even though I only worked twice a week found it very difficult to go into work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern slavery
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Birmingham21 July 2018
Zero-hours modern slavery contract. They don't pay holidays and will ask you to perform manager tasks (very often working alone in the store) which are not established in your duties and for which you don't get paid for.
Avoid unless you need a temporary part time job which you don't rely on and can dismiss when you please.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sandwich maker (Former Employee) –  Bargoed20 July 2018
Every member of the team was fun to be around. Everyone was always happy to help you out if you ever need them to. The manager at the team was always willing to help. The staff was always willing to show you things you didn't quite understand and would keep showing you until you got it correct and felt comfortable doing so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Sandwich19 July 2018
Hands on work with customer engagement made for a enjoyable time whilst at work.
I learn't to be confidence whilst at work toward members of the public..
Pros
Free Subway
Cons
Forgotten paymnets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent workplace
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Leicester City Centre, Leicestershire19 July 2018
not enough pay in my opinion, not enjoyable and tiring, I learned how to interact with customers but didn’t enjoy working there, the job just wasn’t for me
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty horrible
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, BM18 July 2018
Horrible slave drivers who expect you to do five job titles and only pay you minimum wage not understanding an do not care about staff judgemental horrible employers
Pros
Free lunch which is grudged
Cons
Long hours u don’t always get paid for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing bad to say
Subway (Former Employee) –  South Shields18 July 2018
A typical day is preping food on a morning, begining to bake bread and stocking up on salad, chrisps and change for the till.
Once opened its just a matter of waiting for customers and keeping the shop clean and stocked.
Pros
Free six inch sub for every 8 hours worked
Cons
Can be very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant work for
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Darlington16 July 2018
Loved every minute in my job loved gettin up goin work every day brilliant work for manger staff gud work for very flexible with hours always there if u needed extra training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really bad company to work for
Sandwich Artist/joey (Former Employee) –  Doncaster, South Yorkshire16 July 2018
Managers take libertys and no responsabilty, if your generally sick they make you come in anyway around food and give you no hours week after.
Change labels on food and dates...veggies and for veggy pattys they dont change gloves and if its in the back fridge they drop in on the floor 1st before serving.
Disgusting place to work
Cons
Treat employees terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but a lot of hard work
Sales Assistant and Caterer (Current Employee) –  Leatherhead, Surrey16 July 2018
I'v been working at subway for almost a year. It is a lot of work, but you learn so many new skills, and it definitely changed the way I work. I have to be friendly with customers and ensure that the shop is constantly clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Belfast15 July 2018
Being at Subway for over two years I have learned a lot. I have become very experienced for someone of my age, holding responsibilities of a supervisor. The environment is a great one, able to have a laugh and enjoy day to day life in work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly team members
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  London14 July 2018
Most of the customers that come in are friendly and well mannered. Sometimes it is busy but that is expectedStocks are always in store and employees have have exceptional communication skills
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is hat a foot long
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Beddau13 July 2018
Subway is ok, nice food and can have a good time on shift.

It all depends on what franchise your in, they are what can make it awesome or seriously bad
Pros
Easy job, can be fun
Cons
some bad customers lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  London12 July 2018
If you want to work for this company only temporary, otherwise you will end up fed up about everything... the management is quite poor, asking for extra hours without considering if you have something personal to do. They barely say thank you, for the many things you have to do there, the organisation is quite poor they do not a 'plan B' if a colleague is not coming so if you are in a closing shift you might close alone the shop without any help of the supervisor... POOR
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a nice place to work
Subway Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  County Dublin11 July 2018
I thought subway was a okay job to work at as all it was was making and prepping food the hardest part was the cleaning at the end the rest youd just fly through and worst part was the costumers
Pros
free lunches
Cons
the smell of all the foods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen, Aberdeen City9 July 2018
Subway is an awful place to work the managers are very disorganised. If there is problems there is no one higher than your manager that you are able to speak to. The hours are very long typical shift is 10 - 12 hours. Very bad place to work would give 0 stars if possible.
Pros
free food
Cons
managers are awful, long hours, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t even try
Subway Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Morden9 July 2018
Not the best place to work because of the salary and wrong payments every month
Managers trying to fire you for no reason and bein snakes
I’m am so done with this place
Cons
Hours pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth the pay
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol8 July 2018
I worked at Subway as a sandwich artist for 3 months covering the weekend night shifts. Being a sandwich artist at Subway required many skills. Skills such as multi-tasking skills and good customer service skills. I had to be very hygienic and clean since I was dealing with food. Ensuring that I was following procedures and rules set by the company. Doing the weekend nightshifts means I had to deal with a lot of drunk people and being able to deliver good customer service whilst was top priority. My role required me to be directly in contact with customers making their subs. being able to create the subs and conversing with the customer was a good skill I learnt. I also had to maintain my workplace ensuring it’s clean and tidy. 
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for
Sandwich Artist (Current Employee) –  Kirkcaldy4 July 2018
after working for subway i can honestly say they are good to there staff you are well trained and given plenty of opportunities to learn and grow as an individual, having never worked in retail for many years i stared working in subway and instantly knew it was the right place for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Subway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 32,545 reviews
59.7K
49.6K
38.4K
22.8K
12.1K

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4