STROKE ASSOCIATION Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
STROKE ASSOCIATION selected this as a representative review
Great people
Learning and talent development (Current Employee) –  Bromsgrove, Worcestershire30 January 2019
The Stroke association is hands down the best organisation I worked for. I have been here two years now, in that time there has been a lot of positive change and development. everyone I have had contact with within the organisation has been easy to get on with and passionate about what they do.
Pros
Great cause, Great people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Volunteer Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rotherham, South Yorkshire24 June 2019
customer service . team work learned different skills. management helped staff out. Once i could do the jobs was happy with environment The most enjoyable part was helping the customer to be satisfied.
Pros
bus fares
Cons
worked any hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will make a difference
Stroke Coordinator (Former Employee) –  North East24 May 2019
If you want a job that makes a difference this is it. Varied and challenging, it can be stressful, but when someone thanks you for increasing their income, or getting them out again its all worth it.

Not many promotion opportunities unless you work in a HO but there are opportunities to gain skills and try out new ideas.

Good holiday allowance and flexible about appointments etc.
Pros
Varied and flexible
Cons
Not many promotional prospects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from STROKE ASSOCIATION
20 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear your feedback.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting times for the charity
Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London19 December 2018
significant investment in leadership and improving reward and benefits and ways of working . new strategy about to start with great engagement and communication. open senior leadership
Pros
open senior leadership, passion
Cons
culture still improving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to be involved in
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands8 December 2018
Enjoyable, happy staff and happy patients
Lots of different activities and workshops
Interesting side to fundraising and making people aware of strokes
Pros
Rewarding
Cons
Repetitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disapointing work place
Support coordinator (Former Employee) –  North West22 November 2018
I worked here for many years and the culture of blame from managers down is horrific. Many are very unqualified and unskilled and so borderline bullying managerial techniques were common place. I had a lucky escape from this organisation and now use my skills in a very supportive progressive environment.
Pros
None
Cons
No time for lunch and unrealistic targets set up to fail
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a volunteering role.
Community Outreach Volunteer (Current Employee) –  London Borough of Redbridge, Greater London24 September 2018
I have been with the Stroke Association for over four years, working as a volunteer. During this period I have gained so much, my daily work involves supporting stroke patients, families and healthcare professionals in a hospital ward. Working with the outside stroke team to pass information and request resources such as information leaflets.


I have gained the skills to communicate and listen to people from different cultural background and religions. Respecting equality, diversity and right of people. Promoting independent and the safety of patients. Also, providing information that would support families and patient after hospital discharge. Liaising with community coordinators and other services to provide valuable information.


The hardest part of the job is to see upsetting patients and families due to having stork, yet I can not do anything to stop it from happening. This is the reason why we need to raise more stroke awareness because, stroke affect the whole family.


The best part of the job is to provide useful advice to patients and families, also observing patients recovery progress.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Canterbury8 August 2018
I enjoy volunteering at The Stroke Association as it is a positive surrounding and they work around my needs.
I am a volunteer so do not get paid for this role
Pros
communication skills
Cons
rarely needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious problem on managing Software development
Drupal Developer (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London28 July 2018
The company is not familiar with software development and has serious problems in mid-level management.
It seems there is not an opportunity for progress in the company as mid-level managers try their best to control employees via asking personal development (irrelevant to the role)!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and poor morale for coordinators
Stroke Association Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London10 July 2018
The management does not seem to care about the coordinators. They make decisions that negatively affect the workers without considering the consequences. Morale has hit an all time low with the coordinators and there is currently a very high turn over of staff because no one wants to stay in the current climate. There is no room for advancement. Could be a good job for people looking to slow down career wise but not a good place for younger workers.
Pros
working with the stoke survivors, flexible working
Cons
management, stressful, underappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor business culture by senior management and CEO
Financial Accountant Assistant (Former Employee) –  London12 April 2018
Poor business culture from senior management to CEO towards staff. Redundancies every 3 years to 'refresh' the company instead of solving the systemic problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer but very useful
Communication Support Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge14 February 2018
To think that the role though on a voluntary basis, it aided in my education of stroke as well as aided those participants that attended the workshop to talk with somebody that has had the same experience.
Pros
Insight, perspective, value
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire20 January 2018
Working at the Stroke Association was great to for because it helped me develop and learn new things that i didn't know as well as great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Employee (Current Employee) –  UK21 December 2017
The organisation is 'ok' to work for. It depends on what you're looking for. There is an fairly decent culture overall. There doesn't seem to be a long hours culture, but it depends on your role.
Pros
Most people are friendly
Cons
Little room for promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  North East21 October 2017
No support from Management at all none of them step up to help when your continuously short staffed due to same members of staff going on long term sick. A lot of staff leave this organisation due to the poor management! The majority of staff swan about not doing what they're employed to do which is provide support to stroke survivors other members of staff which can do the job are carrying them and nothing ever gets done about this even when its been reported to management what is going on. Terrible place to work and being on yearly contracts is unsettling as you never know if your service is going to be recommissioned the next thing you know you're on a months notice.
Pros
None
Cons
See above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
about volunteering
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, Derbyshire28 July 2017
its a very good shop to work at to gain new skills and would look great on cv shows you have done a volunteer service to show employers you are worthy for a real shop
Pros
work as many hours that suits you
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary, poor organisation
Stroke Recovery Coordinator (Former Employee) –  North West6 July 2017
A great job to have in terms of flexibility, and fairly good wages. However, there is very little support from management and little continuity across the region and country. I did not enjoy my time working at the Stroke Association and would not recommend them as an employer.
Pros
Flexible working hours, good pay
Cons
Poor management, no continuity, terrible office space, no accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Communication Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Oxford10 April 2017
It was really good working for the stroke association and widened my knowledge of communication and swallowing disabilities. the opportunity was very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely environment
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Belton17 November 2016
helping everyone off the buses and guide them to their seats, provide them with food and drink and help them maintain as independent as possible, then we generally entertain them.
Pros
uplifting atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Communication Support Volunteer (Former Employee) –  medway20 June 2016
Excellent place to learn and develop new skills while giving back to the community, they run a series of hubs and communication workshops which are all invaluable to the service users and I would recommend anyone volunteer here!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Outdoor charity worker (Former Employee) –  Staffordshire1 June 2016
productive and fun workplace. good ideas, team members and the like. passionate about what they do. I was not with them for long but enjoyed the feedback.
Pros
worthwhile
Cons
not publicised
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at STROKE ASSOCIATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 33 reviews
516
45
38
22
12

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.6Culture

STROKE ASSOCIATION Reviews by Location