Station Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Barmaid (Former Employee) –  Boosbeck11 September 2018
Typically, the work consisted of general bar duties. I learned how to deal with customers and how to serve drinks. I was taught how to undertake various tasks in the cellar. Management was very fair to me and the work place culture was one of hard work but very enjoyable. There were no hard parts about the job and I enjoyed everything which i did,
Pros
Communicating with the regulars.
Cons
Late nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unique
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Perth, Perth and Kinross5 February 2018
It was a pleasure to be in this nice old building, met so many wonderfull people, nometter who I was supposed to work with - best team in the world. Place with soul and history.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burghead, Moray21 January 2018
Fun and easy going workplace with friendly staff and a clean and well organised kitchen. Would work there again if they required extra staff over a Christmas period etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Glass Collector/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire11 January 2018
Station hotel is a very welcoming place the other staff are really great and very nice, when the punters get to drunk it'd a very hard environment for all the workers
Pros
Free drinks n tips
Cons
Not enough money for the hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, caring environment
Waitressing (Former Employee) –  Ellon16 November 2017
Only had short hours as they were never that busy. Took initiative when others didn't. Got along with all staff. Generally a nice place to have a meal/work, sadly it was never that busy.
Pros
Free dinner
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing
Glass Collector (Former Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire16 November 2017
The staff was very nasty here never had respect, never spoke to me, to many older people touching me and things, boss was strict and nasty don't get breaks
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Very strict and talk like there higher than u
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Cook (Former Employee) –  Billingham, North Yorkshire12 May 2017
A typical day was prepping food for busy pub kitchen, working as part of a team, hardest part was keeping orders going due to volume coming through the small kitchen and being responsible for all of the covers.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back environment
Bar Maid (Former Employee) –  Rotherham21 April 2017
A really nice atmosphere to work in. Always happy people in to serve and talk to. Plenty of regulars in most days to talk to. Always plenty of work to do and keep you occupied.
Pros
Fun atmosphere
Cons
Unsociable working hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very demanding
Commis Chef (Current Employee) –  Stonehaven4 April 2017
a typical day here will include, depending on your role lots of prep and cleaning work with lots of baking probably better suited for younger chefs who can be molded into shape
Pros
free meal
Cons
Days off change by the week, erratic working hours, hostile environment, high turnover of staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cotts
Bar Person (Former Employee) –  Nelson3 May 2016
this job was main aspect was rework maintain the warehouses cleanliness to a very high standard and the hours where 10pm-6am
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen31 March 2016
I've learnt how to work under pressure. Worked with really nice people, sometimes too little staff while it was very busy..
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and refreshing workplace
waitress (Current Employee) –  Woburn Sands2 February 2016
Enjoyed working and being treated as part of a team.
Stressful at times but always fun.
Increased confidence and people skills
Pros
breaks
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Chef/Waitress (Former Employee) –  York, PA15 December 2015
September 1993 ā€“ November 1993
Station Hotel ā€“ York ā€“ Chef/Waitress

This was my work experience and it was amazing to say the least i learnt new skill and how to work allong side people is such a fast enviroment
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Stop at The Station
Bar Manager (Current Employee) –  Nutfield'2 November 2015
I enjoyed working at the Station because of the close nit staff and the locals are quick to become like family. A typical day at the pub includes long shifts and a very repetitive service, which is expected in such a small village and that is what eventually made me want to leave and Iā€™m now looking to make a career rather than just a job.
Pros
best customers you will ever have
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours varied each week but fun to work
supervisor (Former Employee) –  gloucester21 October 2015
got to meet some new friends, working hours became a little to much and unfairly shared, UNless your hard working and flexible , very hard job.
Pros
free lunches, close to bus station and train stsation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
head chef (Former Employee) –  shotts25 February 2015
good hotel fresh food and accessible ok managements highly accesible but long days and hours which doesn't reflect in pay
Pros
privately own
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Head Bar / Stand in Supervisor (Former Employee) –  High Street, ENG24 January 2015
Excellent Employer, always had time for his staff, friendly, approachable, very well spoken.
Good Team player, good communication skills with all staff, clients and members of the public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Kitchen Porter/Assistant (Former Employee) –  Avoch, SCT7 January 2015
Was a good place to work, we were all productive and got a long well and could have a laugh.
Learnt a lot while i worked there
Pros
free lunches, tea, coffee and good breaks for smoking while the kitchen is quiet
Cons
could be working late if it was a busy night
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Chef (Former Employee) –  Dumfries, SCT7 November 2014
i got on with everyone in the place and their was chef there to cover for me when i went on holiday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management allowed for flexible hours
Waitress/Bartender (Former Employee) –  ENG11 October 2014
I start by setting up the pub and then serving teas and coffees in the morning, I waited on tables during meal times and served alcohol behind the bar during afternoons and evenings. I was given basic barista training and learnt to wait on tables under stressful conditions during busy times. I became used to dealing with customers. The management were very accommodating, I was at university during term time but was given my job back when I returned for the holidays, they were always willing to give extra hours if requested and were happy to rearrange shifts if needed. My co workers were all friendly and easy to get on with. The hardest part of the job was staying calm under pressure during busy hours and dealing with angry and awkward customers. The most enjoyable part of the job for me were the regular customers who would come in for coffee and a chat,
Pros
Free lunches, friendly coworkers, potential for extra hours
Cons
difficult customers, lowered pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Station Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 34 reviews
511
413
36
23
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.6Culture

Station Hotel Reviews by Location