STAFFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL Employee Reviews

Found 72 reviews matching the search See all 73 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire9 February 2019
very good organisation to work for great leadership good manager good colleagues good multi agency working very child focused and very well located in the Staffordshire county

good working hours the only reason left was due to bereavement and committing to travel too far long term was a big responsibility.
Pros
good team and leadership
Cons
far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fullfilling job
Passenger Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire16 September 2018
A typical day would be engaging with all the young adult in the car, asking questions about their day and their interests. Gaining their trust when they first meet you. If they are distressed, trying to calm them down ready for the day ahead or for when they arrive home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fixed term contract
Human Resources Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire6 September 2018
Coming from private sector would not like to work full time in public section again, very restrictive, although benefits were excellent. Project work dealing with all the various departments within the council, they were not helpful nor forthcoming in assisting with projec
Pros
Benefits
Cons
the people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St Lawrence School Gnosall a village school with a broad social intake.
Senior Teacher (Former Employee) –  St Lawrence School Gnosall18 August 2018
Really enjoyed working at St Lawrence. Village setting and life was brilliant. Parental expectation was high as was achievement. School has since been completely rebuilt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained lots of valuable experience
Occupational Therapist (Former Employee) –  Staffordshire County Council8 June 2018
At this time I worked two days a week to help balance family and work. I gained valuable knowledge and experience in long and short term conditions that affect daily living for people with disabilities and illnesses. I enjoyed supporting people to remain living in their own designing and adapting their existing or providing extensions to enable them access to bathroom, bedroom, property where appropriate
Pros
Working with people in the community, gaining knowledge and experiences
Cons
No room for advancement i n post
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and enjoyable
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Leek, Staffordshire6 May 2018
A very busy role with lots of rewarding moments . A place of work that is welcoming and happy to be part of . Everyone works as a team with support for each other at anytime .
Pros
Hours and holidays
Cons
Not enough time in a day to do everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you like travelling
Reablement Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire14 February 2018
Loved this job but the mileage was ridiculous, loved everything about it, would have liked to have been given more time with the clients, as these were elderly people who you may have been the only contact they had to the outside world, The work was enjoyable it was all the travelling that made the job so difficult. most of my shift would involve driving around fast because i had only so long to get to the next person. The manager was lovely, she had a lot to do but always made time if you rang her for something. One of the best managers I have had.
Pros
helping people
Cons
Too much driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Happy place to work.
School Dinner Lady (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton2 January 2018
Make salads,drinks, set up counters and tables and general kitchen duties.learnt how to make bread,doughnuts.Management where great to work with,very helpful,one happy team.Hardest part was having to wash all the childrens trays by hand,you had to be really quick.the most enjoyable was seeing the childrens faces enjoying there lunch.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient workplace
IT Trainer (Current Employee) –  Stafford7 December 2017
2 types of day training or development.
I learned better training techniques. Improved people skills
Most enjoyable part of the job was delivering courses, understanding the delegates needs and helping them learn.
Also enjoyed research and developing new topics for delivery.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Stafford6 December 2017
No typical day at work really, might be painting one day then unblocking drains the next and then move on to repairing a roof or fixing a door.
You learn a fair bit as you go along, you have to.
I work on my own mostly but the people i come into contact with are usually more than fine.
Hardest part of the job is working in areas where people are working themselves, try not to disrupt.
Getting things working again and fixed is a good part of the job.
Pros
happy people when things get fixed
Cons
trying to work on a shoestring budget
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dependant on which department
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire21 November 2017
Some departments in Staffordshire County Council have an acceptable working environment. The Customer Contact Centre management sadly lack in professionalism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance, trusting employer
Lead Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Staffordshire, Stafford1 November 2017
Agile working encouraged. Expectation that employee able to manage own worload. Supervision and performance review planned. Supportive colleagues. Touchdown centres across the county. Flexible working hours
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Limited opportunity for career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work
IT Technician (Former Employee) –  Lichfield31 October 2017
I enjoyed my time working for the council at The Friary however i got bored of the work and had a few issues with the management sometimes. On the whole though friendly and good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace . Good working team.
Support Worker/Key Worker (Current Employee) –  Leek Moorlands6 October 2017
Very busy communal unit with 9 residents with learning disabilities and challenging behaviour. Two are wheelchair users.
10th bedroom empty at present.
The unit has a works vehicle for social outings and appointments.
It is on the outskirts of Leek centre so easy walking distance in to the town.
Waiting for closure so that residents can access smaller living accommodation within guidelines of government legislation.
Pros
Free lunch and tea and breakfast depending on your shift that day
Cons
Residential unit due for closure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lunchtime Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tamworth, Staffordshire21 September 2017
great,i loved my job
good hours and happy times,my boss was lovely and a great school to work for,good management,ideal hours,fun times as well as bad.
Pros
getting to know the children
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Varied Company
Payments Officer (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire9 August 2017
The County Council has so many varied and different departments it's hard to review as every department is different. I learnt many skills during my time there, from Finance skills such as budgeting and monitoring expense to Reception/Customer Service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous Colleagues
Partnership Manager (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire28 July 2017
My work is different every day and I'm blessed with so many supportive colleagues who are always an inspiration in all I do and encourage me to do my best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management
Cook (Former Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire20 June 2017
Good company with amazing staff.
Staff member has a role to play.
Dignity and respect.
Good communication
Responsible for reporting any accident or dangerous occurrence immediately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Lunchtime Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Blythe Bridge, Staffordshire12 June 2017
typical day involves supervising students, cleaning up after lunches and break times as well as sorting as conflicts out between students. Overall good working environment.
Pros
good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Teaching Assistant / Learning Support Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Stafford21 May 2017
Positive working environment where CPD is positively encouraged. I would recommend this employer. Good relations with colleagues are a norm and supportive management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at STAFFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 73 reviews
527
422
318
24
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.7Culture