St John Ambulance Employee Reviews

Found 251 reviews matching the search See all 410 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great course
First Aider (Former Employee) –  Truro, Cornwall23 November 2018
Fun helpful course with a small test at the end. Tutor was confident and put everyone at ease. Equipment was up to date and plentiful. I would recommend this course
Pros
Great team
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Environment
Various po (Former Employee) –  London21 November 2018
Only apply here if your desperate for a job. This place should be a stop gap. Managements are absolute bullies and treat employees like criminals if they make a mistake.

No support is given , no formal training, no induction on processes and policies or the opportunity for development.
I found it very hard to work confidently in this atmosphere as I was always so worried about getting things wrong and then being told off.

Constantly being told off that everything I do was inadequate and never telling me well done when I do things correctly.

Managers don’t have a clue about SJA’s processes & Politics so they make it up as they go along and then blame the employees if it goes wrong and want to reprimand them for it as well. I had a manager shouting down the phone at me at one point. Not a healthy environment at all.
Pros
None
Cons
You get send to any location to work at the drop of a hat.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job for a robot
Trainer/Assessor (Former Employee) –  Warwickshire21 November 2018
Rigid training plans might suit some, however flexibility on how to train is essential with regards to first aid, you don't get that here. you must train "the SJA way" as any other is wrong. if you can come round to it, and then get over the relentless travel, constant re-rostering, inadequate management and dilapidated venues then the job can be fantastic, training everyday. very much an old boys club, lots of ex service/public sector personnel average age 50+.
Pros
Working Hours
Cons
Rigid Training / Outdated Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Trainer Assessor (Former Employee) –  Various15 November 2018
Other trainers are fantastic, management are awful. Rather than focusing on their mission statement that no one should suffer due to the lack of first audits, it should now be - no one should leave a course without buying something, including confectionary.

Greed and a lack of first aid appreciation in current leadership and an unwilling attitude to listen to suggestions from people on the ground. I lasted 4 years and am so grateful not to be there anymore. Current practice - let’s leach you about diabetes and after offer to sell you some chocolate.

Leadership don’t give a hoot about the training staff, just how they can look good in their roles.
Pros
Absolutely none
Cons
Everything about this company from 2015 onwards
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
First Aider (Current Employee) –  Blandford Forum14 November 2018
Great friendly team of workers and grest opportunities to visit events and towns within the role. The best benefit of this is fuel milage is paid back to you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Skills
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester9 November 2018
A typical day was either eventful or uneventful depending on the event. I learnt lots of crucial first aid skills and also some life skills as it enhanced communication and brought me out my shell. The management of the company was okay, the youth department in particular was a very good department. It was hard when under any form of time pressure and proved difficult at times to fit in with other schedules. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help people and genuinely make a difference.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voluntarily St John’s Ambulance
1st Aid member (Current Employee) –  Redhill, Surrey2 November 2018
I work voluntarily with-in a small team at St John’s Ambulance at events in the local community, which I love.
Participated in practical emergency scenarios and showed willingness to learn
Demonstrated respect for a wide range of colleagues and service users
Pros
Gained knowledge of first aid and emergency techniques
Cons
to be available at weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London1 November 2018
It was a great experience and great opportunity to meet new people. Also it is a great opportunity to work in various locations. Learned a lot of useful skills for life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you’re desperate for a job, really desperate then work here
HR Administrator (Former Employee) –  West Bromwich, West Midlands27 October 2018
Where do I start? Micromanaging is practiced at the West Bromwich HR Admin centre. The team leader of the biggest team really doesn’t have a clue and then gets annoyed when you question them! Someone leaves every week, turnover is ridiculous. Admin manager is cold as ice. Really not a nice place to be. Apply and work there at your peril! No doubt all the employees will get pulled in and accused of writing this review, free speech is not appreciated here!
Pros
Nice office and colleagues
Cons
Micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be improved
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Bradford, West Yorkshire22 October 2018
not supportive enough, partial experience of racism occurred.
Should provide a comfortable environment in order for people to learn first aid but they did not promote respect among the people trying to volunteer/ learn first aid and this in itself was very disappointing, because of this fair and equal treatment was not maintained.
It is possible for bullying and racism to occur, to anyone trying to volunteer i suggest you please try to be more supportive to your peers and put an end to any type of bullying/racism instead of being passive bystanders
Pros
can learn first aid
Cons
unfair treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful organisation to work for
HR Adminstrator (Current Employee) –  Union Park19 October 2018
Management and volunteers are a bunch of bullies, work load ridiculous responsible for 100 plus vacancies with 20 applicants on each one. If you want HR experience this is not the place to be as a huge part of the role involves IT enquiries. Unsupportive, lack of training, bad pay and no scope for progression. Only work here if you are desperate.
Pros
New building
Cons
Unsupportive management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Participant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London10 October 2018
Most young people went to boost their CVs. How much you enjoy yourself is solely dependant in your branch and branch leaders, as not all are the same with some being more organised.
Pros
learn invaluable skills
Cons
no variance in content
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s not what you know, it’s who you know.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London28 September 2018
Volunteering for St. John was a great privalage. To progress you need to know officers above area manager. Some units are preferred over others especially in cadet units. In some cases rank is worked hard for but hardly used outside of units.
Pros
Great feeling
Cons
It’s self explanatory
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands25 September 2018
Worthwhile volunteer work and would recommend to anyone interested in a career in First aid training or the medical sector. However, the management is not very good at sorting out issues and then release when things go wrong after you have informed them about a problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Voulnter work
Unit Manager (Former Employee) –  Halton23 September 2018
as a organisation it is ok. i started when i was 13 and left when i was 32.
most of the other people are brilliant and i wouldnt of stayed as long as i did if i didnt make the freinds i did
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very supportive
First Aid Trainer (Former Employee) –  Bedford, Bedfordshire22 September 2018
Very worth while career and would recommend to anyone interested in a career in First aid training. You are literally saving lives. Well received in the community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voluntary
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire18 September 2018
something nice to get into, working free but learning some vital skills which one day could change someone's life had to leave due to moving away but would do it again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainer / Assessor
Trainer /Assessor (Former Employee) –  Gtr Manchester15 September 2018
I lasted just 3 yrs, like many of the trainer/assessors I had become totally disillusioned with the organisation. The role now is all geared towards the organisation becoming a centre of excellence to maintain market share. That in itself would be fine but unfortunately its the grunts (trainers) on the shop floor who take the hit in this quest.

Hours are long even with recent attempted sectoring of trainers. Courses will start at 09.00 however realistically you need to be at the location to set up for 08.00 to set up etc, the reallity of that is that if you are in a city centre location you are up and out of the house for 06.00 am to miss traffic, and a equally long journy home, you then complete admin/cpd/answer emails / collate sales etc etc the list go.s on. Your yearly wage rise is not so much based on your ability to train effectively rather it is decided based on sales of kits. sales of defibs, getting students to join as volunteers amongst a host of other requirements to be considered that you have maintained efficiency and are worthy.

The nature of the job means that you get to meet other trainers only realistically at the quarterly sector training events or in passing when you bump into a colleague picking up resources, there then follows the same conversation about who is next on the list to quit how dis organised the whole area is, Lack of resources long hours being messed about and having shifts changed at short notice yet more emails asking the trainers to perform another pointless task.

Breaks are virtually unknown, your role during the day when delivering
  more... training is to also sign for deliveries place them into stock carry out stocktakes deal with student enquiries, the list go's on and on. you would be lucky to grab a quick brew during the day.

Would I recommend SJA to perspective trainers as an employer (NO) each month an email go's out listing current vacancies within the organisation, in regards trainer vacancies this year it as made grim reading, 17,, 26, 18, over successive months its now a revolving door of trainers in trainers out.

Sorry but so glad Iam onto pastures new. SJA claims to be the Caring Organisation which is tru in relation to what the volunteers do for members of the public on public duties etc, as a staff member you are just used, used, and used some more.
  less
Pros
Within this role in SJA hard pushed to think of anything.
Cons
Hours, targets, there never satisfied, management would like to know how many hold formal managerial qualifications.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place
Customer Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester5 September 2018
Great place to work if you enjoy working in a busy environment.

A typical day could be answering customer inquiries, via telephone or via email. Speaking to various departments in order to answer more complex problems concerning first-aid and advice on first-aid practice.
Pros
job statisfication
Cons
limited capacity to move onto another role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Volunteer ambulance driver (Former Employee) –  Ilfracombe, Devon29 August 2018
I loved my time with St. John but it became more money oriented rather than actually helping people. The duties were fun and the training provided was also good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St John Ambulance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 410 reviews
5192
4112
342
230
134

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture