SQA Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SQA /Grossbritannien
Scottish Qualifications Authority (Former Employee) –  Glasgow,Schottland28 July 2019
Diese Organiisation vorbereitet und schreibt Englisch- und Matte- Pruefungsunterlagen fuer Kinder in saemtlichen Grundschulen in Grossbritannien. Die Beispiele die ich ueberlegte waren fair aber telweise schwierig und in meiner Schule waren die Kinder ueberfordert und beendeten ihre Antworten fruehzeitig. Meine Bewertung ist 3.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A horrible place to work.
Porter (Current Employee) –  Dalkeith10 June 2019
Where do I start ?
Supervisors are recalled every year with the common denominator being hash.
Most other employees are friends and relatives also on Hash, and thus given preferential treatment.
The cemetery and surrounding area is the usual 'smoking' area.
Disgraceful that this is allowed to go on.
Pertemps and the SQA are aware of this.
Pros
Great if you're a junkie
Cons
Not so good
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied work, High standards required, Very supportive management,
Communications Officer (Former Employee) –  Glasgow29 March 2019
SQA operate as a Responsible Business and not only do a lot of work in giving back to the community but also work to provide staff with a supportive environment and a good work /life balance. The work was varied and high standards were expected and required. Their no-blame culture means that management are supportive and encouraging. I found it a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, clique-y work environment
Administrator in the Data Services Department (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh30 December 2017
The culture of this workplace seems to form into cliques and the staff tend not to socialise outside of these.
The job was easy enough as a temp, but can be done by permanent staff if they just got on with work.
Pros
Easy job, good wages
Cons
Clique-y atmosphere, expensive canteen
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mail room and art exam labourer
Examiner Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dalkeith, Midlothian1 October 2017
Good reliable company Pertemps helped me get this role. Never missed a payday and was weekly pay, they also were able to calculate any overtime very fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resistant to change.
Temp Administrator (Former Employee) –  Dalkeith, Midlothian28 September 2017
Did a summer stint helping with main examination marking administration. No written guidance which meant we were forever interrupting the supervisor to ask questions. Things seem to stay the same year after year...any suggestions for change were quickly dismissed. Very much us and them culture between some perm staff and temps, very cliquey. But also some really nice people there who were helpful and friendly, free tea and coffee, no requests to start early or finish late, free parking.
Pros
No pressure to start early or finish late.
Cons
The organisation is resistant to change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SQA Work Experience - Ross High School
Human Resources Administrator (Former Employee) –  Dalkeith, Midlothian23 May 2017
I enjoyed my work experience at the SQA. I worked around the whole building doing different things, getting showed different tasks. I learned basic skills such as spreadsheets and filing. The SQA was a lovely environment, sometimes it wasn't easy at break and lunch because there wasn't anyone around my age to sit with. I enjoyed sitting at the main entrance working with great women who showed me how to speak to visitors. She was showing me how to use the CCTV cameras and how to use the in and out book for visitors.
Pros
You have money on your card to start of with
Cons
Long hours in a really hot enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A welcoming and hard working environment.
Procurement Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dalkeith, Midlothian16 May 2017
The SQA is an amazing and interesting place to work. With smiling faces around every corner each day was easy to start. A very busy environment with each department holding up their end of the exam diet to make it a smooth process.
Pros
Nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dalkeith, SCT23 June 2015
Had to input peoples qualifications.

My co workers were happy and easy to get along with.

Hardest part was getting there.

Most enjoyable part was i enjoyed it.
Pros
A lot of breaks.
Cons
Location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Primary School Football Coaching (Former Employee) –  lochgelly27 November 2013
Great education and i learned everything i know now because of them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Sector Development
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Glasgow28 May 2013
Carry out development tasks.
On the job training
Good co-workers
Pros
Flexible Working
Cons
Public sector salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing employer
Network Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh19 September 2012
Amazing place to work for , very friendly and professional staff
Pros
friendly professional staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

See more SQA reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SQA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 24 reviews
512
46
34
21
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
3.8Culture

SQA Reviews by Location