Speedy Hire PLC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completed an apprenticeship through speedyhire.
APPRENTICESHIP (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, Nottinghamshire23 August 2018
Worked here for 7 years and the company changed for the worse after 4-5 years, too many managers and too much pressure on the people that actually work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company wishing to grow and succeed
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Haydock, Merseyside31 July 2018
Enjoyed my time there, unfortunately my role was made redundant.

Many passionate people wishing to grow the business, although people retention was an issue which impacted it's effectiveness
Pros
work colleagues
Cons
poor salaries, retention of experienced staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great collegues
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom17 July 2018
Typical work day dealing with customers and colleges solving problems and assisting customers with the best possible solutions for their tool / equipment hire requirements. Dealing with set up, administration/ issues with the Speedy ePod product. During my time at Speedy the management support has always been amazing. I have learnt to much in my time a Speedy to list it all here but the main thing i have got from Speedy is it the people that make a business great and good to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee) –  South Yorkshire11 July 2018
Great working atmosphere, great lads, company genuinely tries to make it a good place to be.

Long hours, expected to do more than your job should do, with no extra pay.

Constantly cutting staff numbers but not workload.
Pros
Working environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
tool hire fitter/ hire controller (Former Employee) –  Grantham, Lincolnshire4 July 2018
good place to work but too far to travel to and from billinghay everyday i had an oppertunity to better myself and change companies but unfortunatley this didnt work out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no issues
Role - Hire co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Tipton, West Midlands15 June 2018
Personally I enjoyed working with Speedy.
I had training few times a year to be kept up-to-date with systems and options.
Salary could of been better for the long days with difficulty to go on lunch for how busy it was. however I enjoyed the fast working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends witch depot you from
Construction Tool Hire Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Southwark, Greater London9 June 2018
Enjoyed my time there just not enough pay happy fun environment , lots of training, opportunities to work your way up in the business, health & Safety in important kepto
up to date , monthly targets meetings apply, communication is very good throughout the company , nice to see projects develop .
Pros
Xmas drinks
Cons
Some heavy work an some late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  West Bromwich3 June 2018
Speedy hire is a great place to work, plenty of perks to the job, all the staff are easy to get on with, would well recommend it for anyone who want to start there driving career
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Driver (Current Employee) –  Peterhead, Aberdeenshire11 May 2018
awful place, avoid at all costs, management a joke, no sense of health and safety, rip you off of overtime you work, would not advise anyone to work for them
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current employee
Regional Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear1 May 2018
Dedicate and help staff both to customers and colleagues.
Great communication from Top to bottom certainly a company on the up again.
Personal Progression available
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team efforts
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Barnsley, South Yorkshire25 April 2018
Amazing company to work for as we all work in a team together. my day entails contacting a number of depot regarding deliveries and collections making sure our clients are happy at all times and to keep within the SLA that is in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employer
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  National17 April 2018
Had fun working here with some great people, always something challenging to get your teeth into which keeps work enjoyable.
working in the depot network was good, got to travel all around the country.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy place
Sales Administrator (Former Employee) –  Tamworth20 March 2018
Good company and work atmosphere, wages are average but training is excellent, the only reason I left was to progress in a area that isn't really speedys area that that focus in (transport)
Pros
Traning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Mobile Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  Erith, Greater London13 March 2018
Do not wish to answer this question, I may do at a later date. The hardest part of the job is being on call as we have few engineers at this present time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be honest
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Haydock, Merseyside2 March 2018
I had a great time working for Speedy while I was there, I found the best approach was an honest one, if you set realistic goals then management are more than happy to work around them. Did seem like some managers were better than others but overall there was always a good vibe going on in the business.
Pros
Training was available if needed it, management was flexible as long as you didn't abuse it
Cons
Sometimes did work at home to meet my own timescales.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work to be honest
Depot engineer (Former Employee) –  Newport17 February 2018
One of the best places ive worked only leaving as ive been offered alot more money else where. If your a mechanic make the jump as its the best thing you could do
Pros
Very flexible, good environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cleaner (part-time) (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire8 February 2018
I enjoy working at speedy hire because everyone gets along and works as a team the salary is good for the hours that you work and the vibe is very positive.
Pros
Team Work
Cons
Some of the workers are messy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good professional outfit
Manager & assistabt (Former Employee) –  Newport, abercarn, cwmbran30 January 2018
Good company to work for, with good scope for improvement in your career.
Good work benefits.
On the hole good management struture.
Excellent health and safety on place.
Pros
Good work benefits
Cons
Sometines expect to much of the emploees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok if you in with the TM , no so if your not
HGV 1 Driver (Former Employee) –  warrington MSC11 January 2018
ok place to work , would be better if pay was upped and drivers werent on differing pay scales for equal qualifications .

worked at better , but also worked for much worse
Pros
easy work on hiabs
Cons
pay aint great, differing pay scales among drivers with same Quals
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol8 January 2018
I enjoy working for Speedy, I agree with their vision and mission but I feel that I have given all I can offer to Speedy at this time. I would like to return to work here in the future when I have gained more industry knowledge and experience to advance myself and the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Speedy Hire PLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 162 reviews
536
457
343
210
116

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture