Specsavers Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Trainee optical assistant (Former Employee) –  Glenrothes, Fife20 April 2018
Terrible place to work.. Terrible management.. Terrible training plan.. staff were welcoming but very unhappy with alot of things. Shop needs updated badly and cleaned better..managers only care about making money. The staff are not paid enough for the hard work they do. Lack of communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very different from other jobs
Optical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Stevenage5 April 2018
good and fun place to work, lots of friendly people. hardest part is remembering the correct payment processes with the vouchers, most enjoyable is learning all about optics.
Pros
1hr lunches, friendly people, free glasses and discounts on contact lenses
Cons
long hours on sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hrs,poor wages,no flexibility
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  cambridgeshire4 April 2018
Poor company but depends on which store i think.. Management poor,little incentives although tricked into believing the bonus scheme is beneficial..It isnt when they set the daily targets so high the bonus isnt acheivable.
New directors come in and completely upset the system by changing everything,including days worked without notice with the attitude if you dont like it you can leave.. Hard slog for minimum wages on the shop floor,have to think on your feet about every queery that comes through the door. Very tiring physically and mentally some days..Long days with no flexibility..
EXPECTED to work one day every weekend so no chance of actually being able to go anywhere for a break.
Staff room is appalling not much bigger than a rabbit hutch and is crammed at lunchtimes so not really much of a break as cant relax..
Unfortunately people need to work to survive have to put up with this and fewer and fewer jobs to choose from these days. The prices may be very competitive in this company but its the hard workers at the bottom of the chain that have to suffer and were the ones that bring the money in..Hmm! something to think about there.
I think all the directors are interested in is lining their own pockets with whatever it takes to acheive that..
Pros
The staff, great hard working bunch..
Cons
No flexiblity whatsoever, favoutism, poor wages, few benefits..
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Optical Advisor (Former Employee) –  Preston4 April 2018
Worst place I've ever worked, managers have no people skills what so ever , if you want to work for a company that values you avoid Specsavers at all costs . Wage is rubbish and hours are too . They provide below standard training and treat you like dirt not a very nice atmosphere at all.
Pros
none
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, professional and welcoming
LEAFLET/MARKETER (Former Employee) –  Blackburn3 April 2018
Even though the work seasonal was seasonal, even after a few days at work all of the staff were friendly and helped you to fit right in. The breaks and lunch times were flexible and of a good length.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optical Assistant
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maidstone28 March 2018
Always busy, learned loads
management ok
hardest part of the job being fully booked, no gaps in the diary so appts would over run
Underpaid
best part of the job was meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specsavers
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dundee City23 March 2018
In this job, it was all about sales rather than helping people. Very high staff turnover which wasn't productive or motivating for staff members who have been there long term.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Shadowing (Former Employee) –  Coventry21 March 2018
each day was different, due to the range of departments, shadowing was most common and observing the process of the sales of spectacles.
i learnt how to use a fax machine
Pros
quiet
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was good but pedo on the books in north sheilds
Eye care Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Shields19 March 2018
i worked there and was verbally abused by a worker in north shields, the only man floor assistant named michael. reported to management and nothing AT ALL was done as he was the only one who knew about the contact lenses so left. was informed i wasnt the only complaint made.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
skills development
Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Regional14 March 2018
Delivering training in customer service, sales and product
knowledge

Delivering pre-designed training courses in a class-room based
environment

Inductions and mentoring Providing continual support, ongoing development and feedback for management of staff
Cons
difficult team to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job created specifically based on my skills.
Regional Administrator (Former Employee) –  Home Based14 March 2018
In this role, there was no typical day as, along with the 'core' tasks, based on Regional activities, needs and Training Centre requirements, each day consisted of a 'project' based day.
I learned so much not only about the role but also in dealing with and providing information to 93 Store Directors, how best to communicate and collate required information for disseminating.
My specific workplace culture was more of an individual, self managed role, knowing what needed to be done and progressing to complete everything required, based on priorities, urgency and Regional needs.
The hardest part of the job at times was the frustrations in having to continually chase the same persons time and time again for required information.
The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing that I was successful in completing all my tasks in a timely manner to very high standards and receiving repeated and positive feedback from the Directors on a frequent basis.
Pros
Flexibility to work on my own and manage my own day
Cons
Frustration in continually having to chase the same persons repeatedly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Left completley unappreciated by directors and managment
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bridgnorth11 March 2018
The salary was minimum wage for being one of the most qualified members of staff. Overworked as many staff members left and never replaced, not helpful when clinic amounts increased.

The boiler had gone and left the practice without any hot water. the director never replaced this.

The director gave you the cold shoulder if you didn't manage to convert patients into having glasses.
treatment across the board was unfair as some staff got away with swearing regularly on the shop floor and within earshot of the manager and no action taken

Management snapped at you constantly if you asked a question or needed help.
Cons
Minimum wage, no appreciation for the hard work given
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work.
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Keighley, West Yorkshire10 March 2018
Toxic workplace following a change in Directorship. Poor communication with team members excluded. I didn’t feel either trusted or valued. Discouraged from taking part in company initiatives & no time given for training & development. Supervisors berate the retail team, shouting and argue with staff on the shop floor in front of customers. Everyday had a drama.
Pros
Rewarding delivering great customer service and in helping people to see
Cons
No job security, unfair place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid!
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chester, Cheshire1 March 2018
Genuinely the most unorginsed shop i have ever worked in, incredibly boring work and rude management.
The main manager was clearly uneducated and if you asked her a simple question she would try to embarass you infront of everyone. Questionable.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, lovely team and decent bosses
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bedminster1 March 2018
It’s a nice place to work with good co-workers. I would highly recommend it here. Retail can sometimes be hard work but you’re well looked after. Great that the bosses pay for nights out and stuff and generally a decent bonus pack that’s fair and equal to everyone.
Pros
Good progression.
Cons
Can’t think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid!!!
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Motherwell, North Lanarkshire25 February 2018
Horrible place to work! Most of the customers are scumbags and are very rude to staff. The manager while I was there was the most horrible woman you could ever meet, an actual ned and bullied members of staff who she knew she could get away with it with. As for work/life balance, their wasn't much as you had to give up most of your weekends and the pay was a joke, especially for all the skills you needed and the stressful situations you had to put up with. Do not work there unless you are facing homelessness.
Pros
Close-knit team
Cons
Everything I have mentioned
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good incentives
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands22 February 2018
I have worked for specsavers for over 5 years they are a good company to work for. There are good incentives if you reach your sales targets. They are mostly franchises.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Limitations of progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
Optical Advisor (Former Employee) –  Glasgow22 February 2018
Specsavers helped me improve my customer service skills and showed me how to sell glasses and contact lenses better. They were the first job up in Scotland to provide me with a job.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unpleasant, bad managment and stressful
Optical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside1 February 2018
Not a nice place to work!! Management treat you like your nothing. Underpaid, for the amount of work an stress there is in this job role. Expect you do to do stuff at home, when the job itself is stressful enough. Didnt enjoy my time there at all. Oh and management don't help you with anything!! Very unhelpful managers.
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good relationship all round with the team
Optical Technician (Former Employee) –  Glasgow29 January 2018
I enjoyed working at Specsavers for nine years. I learned everything there was to know about preparing glasses from prescriptions both manually and using sophisticated machines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Specsavers. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 567 reviews
5151
4183
3134
240
159

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture