Spar Employee Reviews

Found 720 reviews matching the search See all 2,159 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Till Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham, Gloucestershire14 October 2019
easy work on the till had to sit a lot due to being pregnant helping customers was good and helping them find things as I stacked shelves to.very productive I only worked part time due to be being pregnant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Church Street11 October 2019
Would not recommend working in cookstown store on church street anyhow especially with manager and owner that work there, always looking for staff which is no suprise as they can't keep them
Pros
Is none
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
General Assistant (Current Employee) –  Holmer Green, Buckinghamshire9 October 2019
- Unprofessional and rude to other members of staff.
- Delivery's to the shop.
- Not a very nice environment to work in.
- Get left on my own to get Delivery's into the shop.
- No communication between members or management.
- Not very good team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place friends n family enjoying every single day
Dali (Former Employee) –  Customer savice6 October 2019
It very nice working in this company you first have a shock coz they tell you all the bad things with the bosses but when u start working you enjoyed to work in this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is no succession of carreer
Cash handler & Floor staff (Current Employee) –  Wakefield, West Yorkshire3 October 2019
the work is hard at spar, I learned from customer experiences, management is not supportive at the branch I work, they are not educated enough, the hardest part is to cover other people when they call in sick, when for some time we could get to talk with our colleagues.
Pros
staff coffe for 1.30 pounds
Cons
extra work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sandwich Artist (Subway) (Former Employee) –  Grantham3 October 2019
fast paced
friendly service
friendly colleagues
fair wage
understandable management
paid holiday
team skills
good training
great customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Retail Assistant (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Staindrop1 October 2019
This was by far my favourite job. I had worked here for 3 years ( since I was 16) and I can honestly say it was amazing to work for them. I was taught a lot of skills by members of staff who treated me like family. Everyone in the workplace got on really well and I think that's really important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy retail environment
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rhuddlan26 September 2019
Not too says are the same various job roles including learning post office duties.local community become friends with the local shoppers good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with great people
Shop Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Derry road25 September 2019
I did voluntary work experience. And got a good idea of what life at work was like, I enjoyed being set tasks and liked working as part of a team however spar was not taking on anyone at that moment and time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Retail assistant (Current Employee) –  Wrea Green24 September 2019
I really enjoy working at Spar. I enjoy communicating with the customers. I sort out the newspapers. I put the deli away. The management system is good. I am treated fairly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clitheroe22 September 2019
This is a good place to work and the people are mostly friendly. Everyone has an off day. It is an organised placed and you know where you stand whether on the till or on shop floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff
Paper Boy (Former Employee) –  Retford20 September 2019
The boss of just paper round use to hit me in an area he shouldn’t I think he was only messing about but it’s wrong. He also exspected a lot and told us to deliver leaflets and we’d get paid but never did
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and management
Food Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rhôs-on-Sea16 September 2019
Pros: staff, management,friendly environment, great local customers,
Cons: not enough hours, seasonal work, very early starts or late finishes. Min sage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum Wage Job
Shop assistant and cashier (Former Employee) –  Ceres, Fife13 September 2019
About everything you would expect from a minimum wage, part time job. Nice people, but could be very stressful at times as management wasn't always understanding. Holidays had to be requested off over 3 weeks in advance, not very understanding of emergencies, and if sickness wasn't reported before 9am, you were not allowed the evening off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straight-forward
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Backwell11 September 2019
Learning new skills is the norm when working here. From assisting customers to handling stocks. There are various tasks to be responsible for and the better the team commitment, the sooner things are well organised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good way to spend my time after college
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Trethomas10 September 2019
Working there, it made me truly appreciate my spare time during my time in college as I was busy through a lot of my day, making my truly appreciate the little amount of time to do anything and not a single task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Ettington, Warwickshire10 September 2019
They are incredibly accommodating for all my other hobbies but I do not recieve enough hours at the moment. The staff are all incredibly welcoming and make an effort to help you. It has given me great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with great staff
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Manchester3 September 2019
Working here brought something new each day. learnt to deal with a wide range of customers. The workforce came from a wide range of cultures which helps to bring the best out on each shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on manager
Deli Manager (Current Employee) –  Northwood1 September 2019
Not bad to work here. Could do with more time to manage. Normal shop live here. All and all so far I'm having a good experience working here. The wage is not to bad either.. could always for with a little more lol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the store. So friendly and confortable.
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Larne29 August 2019
I love working there as it was always busy and your long hours seemed to fly by. I knew a lot of the staff which was a bonus but honestly, so far its the top of the list of places I enjoyed working. Unfortunately it was only a covering shift for two months for a woman on the sick. Would 100% recommend.
Pros
Majority of things
Cons
Very little.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,159 reviews
5705
4661
3509
2170
1114

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture