Southwark Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different.
Specialist Family Focus Team (Current Employee) –  London3 April 2018
Working for Southwark is rewarding and challenging in equal measure. Every day is different. The key to success is to keep your head down and do the job your paid for
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Lack of training.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Library work
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London18 March 2018
At the beginning of the day the books that were returned would be shelved and the computer systems would be turned on for the public use. This involved checking if there were any damages or faults.
As the day continued each member would follow the rota and carry out there jobs. If these jobs were completed other tasks would be done instead so that the library is working efficiently.
At this job I learned teamwork and finance skills.
The work place culture was friendly and accepting. It did not take long to fit in.
The hardest part of the job was during exam season where there is a greater influx of people requiring the services.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work in a team and help the public.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Arborist Team Leader (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London6 March 2018
Worked here for 3+ years, secure place to work and well run.
Could do with having more freedom with advancement and pay rises however for a council this isn’t likely.
Southwark council are a great council to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Teaching Assist and after school club play worker (Former Employee) –  Dulwich9 February 2018
great job for school leavers and also parents who need part time hours or even older people who wish to work part time. handy for work during both term time and school holidays
Pros
flexible hours, meeting the public, working alongside schools
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Isolated
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Peckham, Greater London30 January 2018
The team were not friendly whatsoever and there was a lot of division in the call centre. I had a really bad experience here and would not recommend working here unless you have a hardened exterior.
Pros
15 minute breaks throughout the day
Cons
Undesirable work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
Housing Officer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London8 December 2017
I only worked there for a couple weeks for work experience. However, I did find the experiance very informative and fun.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting job
Recycling Collector (Former Employee) –  Southwark, Greater London6 October 2017
I am seeking local part time work no more than 20 hours per week.
I am an experienced driver with a clean licence.
I am able to start immediately.
I have excellent Customer Service skills, I have worked for Southwark Council for 12 years in a Customer facing role.
Pros
Local work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working
Contracts Officer/Finance Officer (Former Employee) –  London2 October 2017
This was a very fun and productive place to work. It also had many opportunities for progression. I enjoyed working here and would definitely recommend to parents especially as the flexibility is very convenient.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Repairs Supervisor Voids & Reactive (Former Employee) –  Peckham, Greater London21 September 2017
Not bad good place to work fast effrctive fun challenging nice people very close by very demanding residents very chsllenging level of expectations are high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
funwork place
Labourer (Former Employee) –  london7 September 2017
typical day would be removing recyclable rubbish from residents bin cupboard. i leaned what is recycling is all about and what is the correct way of recycling
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
Lettings Officer (Current Employee) –  london30 August 2017
My typical day consisted of lettings work, however they then threw me into many other roles which at first i didnt mind however when no one was communication given to me about next moves I started to feel out of sort. Management is terrible and very unorganized. There is definitely a blame culture and staff members can be very unhelpful and rude. Other that the odd majority my team were very helpful and sweet.
Pros
flexi working hours
Cons
unorganised
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great service
Mash Information officer (Current Employee) –  London27 August 2017
Great service to work for. Fantastic people. Very professional approach to helping people even though the London Borough of Southwark is overwhelmed with the demand for their support. Very welcoming service from director to system support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun learning curve
youth mentor and recuirtment (Former Employee) –  London2 August 2017
this job allowed me to grow froma boy into a man and also allowed me to learn key factors which allow you to go into the work place I was the youngest person so I have to catch on quickly which allowed me to learn form the mistakes of others and make sure I didn't make the same mistake again
Pros
free lunches and courses
Cons
timetable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team
Primary School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Kennington, Greater London25 July 2017
Helpful HR and a good set up. The pension scheme is excellent and back office help along with all matters. Internally at the school, very nice people with a strong work ethic. Effective management as individuals but a lack of direction within the team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Advanced Practitioner (Current Employee) –  Youth Offending Service15 July 2017
Southwark is a wonderful place to work. The opportunity for personal and professional development and growth are second to none. Team spirit abounds throughout the departments. The management team is supportive. Most importantly, the families/service users are at the heart of all the work that takes place. I'm very proud to be a part of the council
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Painting and Decorating
Painter and Decorator (Former Employee) –  London1 July 2017
This was refurbishment of properties owned by the Council. It was varied. This involved working with tenants and required being communicative, respective and having good social skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Community Warden (Former Employee) –  Warden15 June 2017
I enjoyed my time here but was only on a temporary basis. I gained alot of skills and qualifications whilst working here. Patrolled the streets and noted down accurate information.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Campaign Executive
Marketing Executive (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London14 June 2017
A really fun place to work, but after my third department re-org it was time to move on. One of the best teams I've ever worked in. A good place to get that overview of running national local gov campaigns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Gas Servicing Officer (Former Employee) –  Tooley Street, London Bridge12 June 2017
- Quality control and customer satisfaction.
- How to adapt to face-to-face communication and handle conflict.
- Manage time keeping and maintain high standards of customer care.
- The hardest part of my job is being unable to train staff due to tight guidelines.
- Most enjoyable thing about my current post is receiving positive feedback.
Pros
customer service, positive feedback, job satisfaction
Cons
travelling to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and diverse place to work
PA to Director (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London16 May 2017
No two day is the same
Learnt Government systems
Great Management culture
Great Workplace culture

Need a more robust IT system
Ensuring policies were completed for the residents
Pros
Achievement
Cons
IT systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southwark Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 76 reviews
527
425
319
22
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Southwark Council Reviews by Location