Sodexo UK and Ireland Employee Reviews

Found 67 reviews matching the search See all 69 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Invest in there employees
Head Steward (Former Employee) –  Dishforth13 April 2019
I worked for sodexo for just under 10 years and I was very sad I was made redundant due to relocating to another area. The time and effort they invested into training and developing my skills will always stay with me and if the opportunity should arise for my to go back to employment with them I would not hesitate.
Pros
Varitey of jobs available and care of there employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is absolutely shocking.
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Warminster, Wiltshire7 April 2019
Worked for them for 3 years, during my last few months with the company, I was made to work 7 weeks without a day off. The boss used to call me in early because she was ‘busy’, then left early and used the company car to go shopping. The supervisor had the worst attitude, very horrible to customers telling them she’d ‘spit in their coffee’. While I was working the evening shift, I had customers come in and call the supervisor ‘dragon lady’. When complaints were put in they were dismissed and they were rewarded. I never had any breaks even during a 8 hour shift. During my last day, my supervisor spoke to me horribly and kicked me out the back door. My sister also worked for the company and never got paid for the last month she worked there.
Pros
Lovely customers
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, security of work, decent management
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Grimsby1 April 2019
Good company to work with, only left because TUPE'd over when contract lost. Would work for again and recommend them. Management supportive, pay above average.
Pros
Management, pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tedious
host (Current Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow18 February 2019
inconvenient hours as you are up at 3 AM for your shifts, long days, poor management, internal politics take over,
either too busy in summer or too quiet in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undecided
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Yeovilton, Somerset15 December 2018
Great if the company takes a liking to you ( overtime taker etc etc) awful if you happen to be ill or unable to help them upon request i.e covering someone
Pros
Great advancing oppertunities
Cons
Run by a clique if you dont want to be singled out then avoid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
vendings (Former Employee) –  Syston, Leicestershire7 December 2018
people were nice small kitchen safe place to work free parking no part of the job wae hard and you were kept busy all the time the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting people and having a chat when i was at sodexo i loved cleaning the vending machines as it gave me a break from the busy kitchen
Pros
love the people i work with like a family
Cons
a bit of a rush to get finished on time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Acting Head Chef (Current Employee) –  Thatcham20 November 2018
the company is very professional and keen to keep good staff, there very good on promotion and staff training also menus are very good, I enjoy working for company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work with
Leadchef/ sous chef (Current Employee) –  London Heathrow Airport17 September 2018
Busy place always with higher expectation from clients
Menu cycle changes every 3 month with variety of foods
Good to work with fresh ingredients as food prepared from scratch .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Security (Former Employee) –  Scotland29 July 2018
Can be contracted weekly hours 4 on 4 off 12 hours shifts or long weekly shifts 15 x 12 hours shifts out of 20 shifts. Can be work shifts patterns of days and nights or just days/nights
Pros
Nice environment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When I started was a good company to work for. Now it's in decline
Prison Custody Officer (Current Employee) –  Manchester, Greater Manchester18 July 2018
Job is secure. But very long hours in the prison service. Poor managment, continuously under staffed. Forest bank doesn't have much consideration for the officers. And not much chance of progression.
Pros
Free lunchs, free parking
Cons
Long hours, no sick pay, not much chance of progression, under staffed, to much pressure on experienced staff, poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Vending Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Worthing16 May 2018
Great company with lots of opportunities. Lots of great people on glaxo smith cline site . Lots of different departments to try your skills and more more
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just an agency
Steward /handyman (Former Employee) –  offshore10 May 2018
would still work for them even ythough I perrsonnaly had a hard last few years because of managers doing what they waNTED at my expense, ended up being the loser
Pros
kept me working till made redundant
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  Nuneaton28 April 2018
based at the one I worked at Bramcote barracks
managements seemed un organised some weeks you wouldn't get paid on time certain information wouldn't be told to you like forms that had to be filled out every day was given to you at the end of the month and expected you to filled out during busy time or in your unpaid breaks, had a horrible that made a her cry during a shift.
Pros
none
Cons
weird ours bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Operator Vending Machine (Current Employee) –  Northampton9 March 2018
Im looking for new company to show my skills and working whit one kind of job title like Operator Vending Machine and looking forward to change a lit be
Pros
nothing to declare
Cons
nothing to declare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Front of House Staff (Current Employee) –  Bulford, Wiltshire25 February 2018
My job at Sodexo as a Food Service Assistant has been something that has given me great experience in working life and advancing my people skills and overral has given me the upmost confidence. However it is a job that does get tiresome and has made me want to try something new.
Pros
Extra Work Commitments
Cons
Unconvinient Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
perfect for working around school runs
Domestic Assistant (Current Employee) –  Warminster25 January 2018
Friendly work force,
good team management,
professionalism,
uniform and P.P.E provided by the company,
Regular training to all members of staff on hygiene including health and safety.
Pros
Hours can be worked around schooling hours
Cons
Minimum living wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed my time here
Events & Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Tidworth17 January 2018
I had the privilege to work with a great team on many interesting and varied projects during my time with Sodexo. I enjoyed the fact that my managers trusted me to complete my workload without being micro-managed. However the sheer size of the company was a little challenging at times. Overall I had a really positive experience and I learned a great deal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy environment
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Thornbury10 December 2017
Very busy working to time, good relationships with team and customer. Hot and physically demanding although rewarding when greeted with happy regular customers.
Pros
Rewarding
Cons
poor pay & as a contract caterer fear of constantly being taken over
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Front of House Manager (Former Employee) –  Whittington, Staffordshire5 December 2017
Was good for the 11years my last year due to ill health they had to let me go in May 2017 the company at the end lost there contract they got out bid for the contract
Pros
N/a
Cons
No free meals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and professional team
Restaurant Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London28 November 2017
I work for an huge company where you can have many opportunity to grow up in the ospitality. I work in a Good team and i having a great experience in the National Café that or is located inside of the National Gallery.
I improved my job in few months. I was started like weitress and in 3 months i began supervisor thanks to my skills and good quality to support people, hard job and good customers service.
Pros
good society where you can improve your job
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sodexo UK and Ireland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 69 reviews
520
421
318
25
15

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture