Société Générale Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search See all 2,113 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A banks with bad contract hours
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London5 October 2018
whilst majority of the banks in the city's contract hours are 9 to 5pm. Soc Gen only provide 9-6pm contract hours.


Working from home is only once a week
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Long contract hours and working from home is not great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
non raccomandabile
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Greater London17 September 2018
Il posto più brutto dove abbia mai lavorato, non lo consiglio a nessuno.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
CS Rep (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London10 September 2018
One of the best companies I have had the pleasure of working in .

Friendly staff great management professional environment but still relaxed

From my own place xperienve I have nothing but praise fo this company . Haven’t bf worked at various over investment banks . I would rate SG as number 1.

Why? Work life balance = good
Flexible working = great
Remuneration = very good
Supportive management = excellent very approachable and supportive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Financial Institutions Analyst (Former Employee) –  London16 August 2018
I worked as a VIE on the Coverage & Investment Banking division at Societe Generale.
Daily assisted of Senior Relationship Managers and Senior Bankers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Administrator (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London23 July 2018
I was trained to do my job. very busy with strict deadlines
I was based at liverpool street so location was great for me
demand for professionalism by the company
Pros
brilliant location for those from east london
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
French-dominant culture. But ok place to work.
Project Management (Former Employee) –  London15 July 2018
Have worked at a few other investment Banks, so I admit I have high expectations.

You have to own your own career at SG, and do all you can to succeed, as management support towards your career development can be quite weak.

If you are not a White, French, male, you will probably find it difficult to advance your career here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London2 July 2018
People are nice and the environment is fantastic to progress. Easily noticed if working well.

Nice building and accessible as the company is situated in central London.
Pros
Career progression
Cons
Company chart is quite big
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong French management culture
CORPORATE COMS & EVENTS EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  London26 June 2018
Worked there as an Executive - strong French vertical management organisation, with little room for manoeuvre and freedom.
Important junior workforce, so nice atmosphere between executives within the London office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  London20 June 2018
I don't remember too much about this as it was some years ago and I wasn't there for long, but I got on well with the people I worked with. Offices in various places in London.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente
Ingeniero Financiero (Former Employee) –  Londres2 March 2018
Ambiente de trabajo en equipo. Competitividad. Compañeros competentes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail professionnel et enrichissant
Auditrice interne Europe (Former Employee) –  Londres, UK2 February 2018
Expériences de contrôle de gestion et d'audit interne très enrichissantes
Management très compétent
Culture d'entreprise responsable et pro active
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Internship (Former Employee) –  London4 November 2017
Very good experience for a young intern. I learnt all the skills I wanted to know from this work experience. Gave me the inspiration to move into investment banking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tbc
Vice President, Credit Derivatives Structuring (Former Employee) –  London19 October 2017
Very happy with my experience at SocGen where I learnt a lot. This bank is full of very smart and impressive people. You learn a lot there. A bit difficult though to grow in this company as it is full of managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Corporate and Acquisition Loan Syndication Analyst (Current Employee) –  London19 September 2017
A good sprinboard for futur career prospect. On of the main french institution that allows you as a junior to evolve across many divison, to build your network and to explore new fields. Hours bareable and easy to couple with your personal life. Management competent. Facilities and benefits are more than generous.
Pros
Stimulated environnement with high profiles and many division to work with
Cons
Not enough diversified environement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work in
Administration Assistant and Secretary (Former Employee) –  Richmond upon Thames, Greater London25 June 2017
varied work load as was working for different divisions ; working 8 till 4 at the time was a plus as it enabled me to balance home and work life better as my son was only a toddler so finishing earlier was an advantage and there was a very busy yet friendly atmosphere in the office
Pros
varied workloads
Cons
work loads were irregular
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Learning
Senior Integration Architect (Former Employee) –  London, United Kingdom7 June 2017
It was great organization to work with. I learnt a lot and delivered the solution with great support from colleagues and management. Very friendly and healthy work culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Investment Bank
Sales Analyst (Former Employee) –  London5 June 2017
Société Generale is an Investment Bank. There is a lot to learn and the staff are well experience with good transferable skills. I enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture very Paris-focussed especially in London
IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  London3 June 2017
Not a bad place to work - people can be friendly, but there is a distinct focus on Paris (being a French banking institution) that inhibits job advancement. Management can be inflexible especially around issues at work
Pros
Good team atmosphere at times
Cons
Very french centric - extensive focus on Paris especially in international offices
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
VB Junior Developer (Former Employee) –  London17 May 2017
An extremely professional established Investment Bank with a firm culture. Good employer - great benefits, mobility options and advanced technology. Expect to work hard but can learn a lot of skills. Would recommend this employer. However, good benefits packages with many options for internal mobility. Salaries are lower compared to market rates for non front office positions. long hours and working late to get the job done but good job satisfaction upon completion of the task or project. Learned a great deal about how large companies operate.
Pros
Intense
Cons
Very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cross Asset Associate
Cross asset Associate (Former Employee) –  London8 May 2017
Dynamic work environment but poor culture with limited opportunities for junior staff. Compensation is below market and pyramidal management structure..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Société Générale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,113 reviews
5643
4882
3428
2102
158

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Société Générale Reviews by Location