Sky Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search See all 116 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money grabbing management
Engineer (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London27 November 2018
Management do not know what they are doing. The blocking process to higher management "is that nothing can fail" even when decisions made,make no sense and service and quality are compromised.
From Director level upwards they are in a win / win situation as pound notes are rolling in front of there eyes.
Pros
fellow workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too demanding/mentally exhausting
Customer Service Adviser (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear16 November 2018
The job is far to demanding for what you're paid. You essentially have to speak to disgruntled customers who have technical issues with there service such as TV and Broadband. Nearly every call is a complaint or some pathetic individual moaning at you because there broadband is off for a couple of days. If having to listen to moaning customers for 9 hours a day isn't hard enough, the managers or step up managers set you unrealistic targets to it. They expect you to hit sales targets even tho they tell you in the interview it isn't a sales role. Try selling products to a customer who is hacked off there service isn't working, not easy.

If the above isn't bad enough the shifts will make you question your sanity. You get two weekends off a month and work the other two. One part of the month you have to work 9 days with just one day off. So from Monday til the following week on Tuesday with the Friday in between off. That part of the month is a killer and it physically and mentally exhausts you. However to be fair to Sky your shifts are mainly made of 9-5 shifts, but you have to do a week of lates including a weekend. To make you feel better the big bosses all work 9-5 Mon-Fri so if you thought you were all in it together think again.

They also like to change the shifts at the drop of a hat and as soon as you're in a routine or have your family life balanced out, they will give you 31 days notice and change your shifts and there isn't a thing you can do about it.

I have worked in numerous places including the military and even that isn't as mentally demanding as this
  more... place. If you value your mental health then I would stay away. There is a reason why this job is advertised constantly and that's because people leave just as quickly as they join and numerous members of staff are on the sick with stress.

If you can put up with all of that then go for it.
  less
Pros
Numerous benefits to use.. including free Sky Tv
Cons
Long hours and mentally exhausting
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place to work.
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire28 October 2018
A typical day at work was to go in, clock yourself in and out for all work and breaks, typical call centre stuff.

What I learned is that if you have any previous sales experience, they want you to bring what you learned, but also- forget what you learned... because they want you to regurgitate THEIR scripted sales method. Fine for me, as a new employee, but many people who had been doing the job weren't able/couldn't understand their new scripted framework. Which is how you made your bonus. Furthermore, if you outperformed, you were lauded- but also a target. Management name called, harassed and gas-lighted to get you upset regularly. Often probationary periods were extended, because even though you're performing the job and perhaps excelling, you are told that you "need more training" or "aren't exceeding your goals" (which you track on your own daily). Discrimination is rampant, racism is "joke material", people who were regularly breaking fundamental rules of the call centre are protected because management doesn't want to be accused of bullying. But when you raise a concern, they take a few weeks to appear to "investigate" and then tell you it was YOUR fault. (You didn't send an email correctly, you misspelled something, you didn't submit something in the right timeframe or fashion.) There is no accountablilty on the management to invest in their team members, aside from their required "one on one's".

The workplace culture was spoken about as a "family atmosphere". The core values were repeated ad nauseam, however were not acted upon. Like a family, there were management
  more... who liked other managers and workers, and then some they simply "tolerated" (but would bad mouth to whomever they could, when given the chance).

The hardest part of the job was being given a directive by one manager and then doing your work for that manager only to have a senior manager come to question you as to why you were doing that task, and when you told them your direct manager told you; they took you to face with your direct manager who would gaslight you and lie to cover their own position.

The most enjoyable part of the job? Aside from payday, I can't think of any redeeming qualities.
  less
Pros
lovely building, new amenities, lots of people who like to go to pub and "be socialble", strong presence in the community, base pay.
Cons
Ableist, gaslighting, manipulative, irresponsible, not supportive, Values and beliefs are just a talking point.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job for a workaholic or single person (Detailed review)
Home Service Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom14 October 2018
The concept of the job is pretty straightforward, unfortunately every job isn’t. Not every house is the same and you come across different obstacles per job. You don’t get enough time to do jobs and you are under pressure to make sales. They say you’re in a team but because everyone’s under the same stress there’s very little help available until almost the end of the day when everyone wants to go home. Everything’s perfect when you start because the training is first class and you’re paired up with another engineer, you start on your own with 3-5 jobs then you get 100% work which is 7-9 jobs a day. The workload is rediculous and there can be a lot of driving between jobs. Your working postcode is not your home postcode and covers a 45min radius of that postcode. SKY Q is a pain, it’s all great because only one box needs a connection to the dish but all the other mini boxes requires WiFi and if a house is too big and the WiFi doesn’t reach the mini boxes it needs hard wiring which is very time consuming. Don’t do this job if you have a family because you won’t get to see them. You come home exhausted, youll get to your lock box (stock location) for 7am, and leave in time to get to ur first job at 8am. If you’re on 100% work, and you get a difficult job you are expected to get all those jobs done so if you finish at 7/8pm that’s tough! Skys working hours is 8-5 but you’ll be expected to get jobs done past that time if needs be for free. They hit you with the “needs of business” line, basically managers don’t want to send jobs back as it makes them look bad and effects their statistics.  more... The money is great, you can easily earn 2-3k a month but when you weigh it up with the work/life balance it’s not worth it. That is why I say if you’re a workaholic or single it’s perfect. There’s a lot of issues with route planning so don’t be surprised if you find you have a job in an area you’ve never been to or near your work postcode. H&S is very strict in this job, you’re expected to follow it and your managers can come check on you unexpectedly, if you fail to comply you get an instant dismissal. They post check work too and look out for signs that H&S has been used. H&S is very time consuming and if you do follow it textbook style you’ll be finishing late everyday. There’s no “Free van for personal use” yes you get given a van but you do have to pay £70 a month for that privilege of personal use. I found the van impracticle for personal use as it’s 2.5m in height so don’t bother using car parks. My final bit of advice is, no matter what they say or tell you, no engineer is happy in the job, it’s not all rainbows and sunshine, and you will be miserable. Overall in the job you’re expected to do a lot in very little time. If they were to improve they need to reduce workload. Your starting of workload 3-5 jobs is more realistic.  less
Pros
Free Sky Q with box office, and Van
Cons
Long hours, stressful job, unrealistic expectations and demands.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire4 August 2018
For a big company the business is very disorganised. The Management or SIMs (Stepping in to management) power trip like there's no tmrw. Targets are unrealistic. If you have an opinion that's against the grain then you are deem negative. The place is very cliquey. It's a 'face fits' environment. You get judged on people's opinion of Sky as a company yet their responses are somehow reflected on you and how well you do the job. It's not a nice place. Alot of people have periods of time off for stress related illnesses. I wouldn't recommend at all. Also the work life balance is abysmal because the shifts are so erratic and unsociable.
Pros
Free Sky that you dont have time to watch
Cons
99% of everything associated with the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork and a good laugh too
Home service engineer (Former Employee) –  South Yorkshire29 June 2018
I only worked for sky as an engineer for a year but during that time I learned so much about sky's products and services. The work is great but can be quite hectic at times,if you thrive under pressure then the job is for you. I had to leave due to personal reasons but would love to return once my situation is sorted out.
Pros
Free sky, use of van, all gear provided lads in team are superb
Cons
Hard work during winter but so worth it
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a secure place to work
Broadcast Production (Former Employee) –  Grant Way, Isleworth25 April 2018
Sky have been making so many people redundant over the past three or four years, it's almost unsafe to accept work there.
Before the redundancies Sky were doing well financially. But then they spent tens if not hundreds of millions of pounds building their 'campus' in Grant Way, Isleworth then bought out Sky Germany and Sky Italy for millions more, and finally secured the Premier League for BILLIONS of pounds and basically ran out of money - hence the redundancies!!
Their subscribers are leaving by the hundreds.
It used to be a great place to work. Everyone worked together to produce the best quality work. Now the majority of people who are left are work experience people because they are cheap, but they know nothing and the Managers who are left were presumably just more successful at stabbing their colleagues in the back!
Pros
Not many if any
Cons
You can enjoy redundancy
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job ruined by management
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Midlands25 March 2018
I worked as a Sky 'Engineer' in the Midlands (East) region and never before have I had a job where the management actively seek your dismissal. I know there are other regions where management treat you like an adult, but not the east region. I was unfortunate to have a manager who had free rein to use you as a play thing to entertain himself and put as much stress and pressure on you and your family as he could.
Making a minor 'mistake' is unacceptable within Sky. You get assigned up to 9 jobs a day, where the expectation is complete them all. Failure to do so on a regular basis usually results in intense manager pressure. You are expected to use full H&S at all times and your manager will regularly drop in unannounced to try and catch you out. If you are not using a piece of H&S equipment when he turns up, you'll be suspended and (if lucky) get a final written warning.
Your salary and bonus and based on fairly unachievable targets, so don't get drawn in to their 'OTE' spiel. Your bonus is used as a stick to beat you with.
Expect military style discipline, keep your head down and pray you never make a mistake.
If anyone from Sky wishes to discuss my comments, I'm open to dialogue.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Awful management, long hours, intense pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 52No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth applying!!!
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Poole, Dorset19 January 2018
Terrible structure from interview right through! The first is the telephone interview if you pass that your told to attend the "expierience day" where you are told to expect a few role playing exercise, twenty questions about how you are not worthy (they only want you to explain your weakest qualities, with no examples) and a medical thrown in. Even in the interview you are told your expected to work hard and that most cant handle it. In reality there preparing you for a good crack of the whip. If your a workoholic go for it. But expect the all seeing eye in the "sky" to be watching you install big brother on demand.
Pros
Um
Cons
Money not worth whats expected of you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Stockport, Greater Manchester14 January 2018
without doubt the worse place to work. Managers are utterly vile and treat you like dirt. Everything is target driven and God help you if you don't hit your targets. This is not a fun place to work. The hours give you no life balance. Please please avoid this dump. I'd honestly rather be out of work than wwork here.
Pros
The end of your shift
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prison camp
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Stockport, Greater Manchester7 December 2017
This is by far the worst company to work for. The work life balance is very very poor. The management are absolute vile humans. Everything is targets targets and targets you must hit (no questions asked) I would never advise anybody to work here. If you see a job advertised here keep looking.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horible place to wotk
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Dunfermline, Fife23 October 2017
Nice people but bad managment . You are just a number to meet there needs. Timed whilst going to loo ? Consant on your back with targets. Cant get the holidays you would like tuff.

No managers their to help with customers needs !
Pros
Wages
Cons
Treat very bad by managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful, brutal interview process
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  North East1 June 2017
Had an interview with this company a few months ago. It was ok to start with but as others have mentioned they want a lot of paperwork from you. Then there is a role playing exercise in which they just go for your jugular. There is just no need for this. How about treating people with a bit more respect? I know people who actually work here and they don't have a life outside work. It's an awful place to work and I wouldn't recommend anyone goes here. To sum up "Pure Nastyness".
Pros
None
Cons
No work life balance and nasty interviews
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Southampton, Hampshire11 April 2017
Gives no feedback on the interview process but yet requires a lot of paperwork to be completed beforehand. Waste of time. Awful management! Do not bother with this job it's not worthwhile
Pros
None
Cons
Awful company, shocking management
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company of hypocrites
Home Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Lymm, Cheshire11 April 2017
You usually get 9 jobs that have to be done in an 8 hour day, but often i'd find myself leaving at 7.30am and returning by 7pm. Most people on the job would finish by about 5pm.

Where the hypocrisy comes in is that management continually push H&S while all the while knowing its impossible to complete all jobs and stay in compliance. In order to be a sky engineer you have to play the game and that means being a liar. Everyone skips on Health and Safety when doing their 9 job run, so everyone lies. Management are mostly ex-engineers so they expect you to lie to them and say "of course i follow H&S". Sales were recently introduced as a new role and like any capitalist company they want you to sell, sell, sell while continually comparing you to others in the hope of creating competition.

All in all sky is a good company to work for with great staff and friendly approachable management. The salary in NW is £22,000 with bonus it can be £27-£29k there are a boat load of benefits for working with sky. It's a job that's best suited to someone young without family commitments since there's little work life balance, but if you can devote yourself "i say devote because it has a slight cult feeling to it" then you can make a lot of money.

Hard part is working in the winter when they want you to get your 9 jobs done earlier so you don't work in the dark. Again something ends up giving and H&S is all you have left.

Can't say you learn a great deal since it's a very specialist area, most of the training is around correct ladder usage and on products.

Most enjoyable part of
  more... the job was meeting the customers and having a chat (sadly there's little time for this), as you have to "bag them in as quick as you can" in the words of a long standing engineer.  less
Pros
Wage, bonus, pension, people, meeting people, van
Cons
Check your morals at the door, say goodbye to your family, no lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 72No 9Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fear and bullying
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Feild17 March 2017
Company ruled by fear , team managers upwards, any problems resolved through intimidation not compassion, Very much a bullying culture and a massive disrespect for customers, engineers now required to sell to customers, a process of manipulation whereby customer is persuaded to spend more money on their sky subscription to save money, company earnings a bit flat so they will use sales I.e subsciption upgrades and screen clean as an extra revenue stream.Its all about the money , not recomended working for sky to any of my freinds, freind beware ..
Pros
Better pay than giro dole
Cons
Too many to list, just beware.
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have worked by a country mile
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  South East22 September 2016
The most outrageous company I have worked for, the first 5 weeks of training are good until you get chucked in at the deep end with 9 jobs due to Christmas demand. Don't get me wrong the lads I worked with were amazing and helped me out always. But most days as a new engineer you would start at 8 at your drop box and could be anywhere which would leave my day slaving away until 8/9pm, as a new engineer it's hard to keep up, management wasn't to bad they would help you or organise help for you but if you was out of your area on your own then your on your own. Health and safety is a absolute joke with this company. Takes at least 20 minutes to get your ladders set for the job let alone put a dish up/ get signal/ run cable/ install and set box up all in 46 minutes which your allocated for a single box install. If you do work there don't go up a ladder with no Heath and safety as I did up 2 steps clipping cable and got suspended and eventually dismissed. Even though your allowed to stand on a tool box which you are given with a step on it that is about the same hight as the ladder I was on also allowed up a combination ladder with no health and safety on as long as your clipping cable but because I was on a triple section ladder which I deem safer then a combi I get sacked. Also the disciplinary is a laugh, the process took over a month to have my first meeting to which I was dismissed. I then appealed which then the meeting didn't happen until 3 months and a couple of days after my initial suspension. Which HR worked out to a tee that I couldn't take them to court due to it being  more... over 3 months since my original suspension. For a company so big I would avoid like the plague. NOT A DISGRUNTLED EMPLOYEE, more like frustrated and disappointed in the treatment for the money you get paid.  less
Pros
Free sky, good colleagues, personal mileage
Cons
Long hours, awful management, terrible health and safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 125No 38Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I've Ever Had!
Talent Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Osterley21 September 2016
I've now worked at Sky for a year and can honestly say it is the best place I have ever worked.
You feel like you have autonomy in your role to make decisions and define your own role.
Managers are always there when you need them and are very knowledgeable.
I feel as though Sky is somewhere I can stay for a long long time to come. There are many opportunities to progress upwards or sidewards (to learn new skills).
I also feel I have achieved great life/work balance by working from home at least one day a week.
In summary, everyone I've met at Sky are friendly and approachable, yet also at the same time challenging the status quo and striving to do better every day.
Pros
Flexible Working. Subsidised Food. Career Opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 40Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Advisor
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Stockport4 September 2016
A typical day at work includes taking calls from customers regarding their ongoing broadband, TV or phone issues. Customer are never happy, and quite rightfully so. Training does not reflect what the actual work is. Training is never implemented in the work environment. Management also does not provide support and is quite focused on the sales rather then resolving issues for the customer. The hardest part of the job is to get a good NPS score back, which is quite a challenege as a customer who does not have working Broadband, phone or TV will not give you a good NPS score. NPS score is realistically for Sky as a company, however Sky force this score on the advisor. Nothing is enjoyable, only thing enjoyable is speaking to your co-workers who are in the same postion as you and always complaining of the NPS score. A very high dropout percentage. People leave as quickly as they come.
Pros
None
Cons
Salary, long ours, business demands, Sky will use you as they please
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful!!!!
Retentions Advisor (Former Employee) –  Uddingston1 August 2016
If you want to be investigated without your knowledge and hear through the grapevine of other people being investigated without THEIR knowledge, work for SKY!! If you want management telling employees personal business of yours, blocking you on social media without knowing you, gossip fest, your private business is spoke about by all management. Toxic place. Job is trying to retain customers who want to leave, you have to save at least 75% of them or you are managed into a performance plan, if you are struggling retaining customers with no support you will be put on a performance plan and eventually disciplined ...job wouldn't be so bad if all management changed and wages matched the role. DO NOT APPLY.
Pros
Easy to drive to
Cons
Bad management, investigation happy, management discussing private business, toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 5Report