SIG plc Employee Reviews

Found 70 reviews matching the search See all 71 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Driver wharehouse (Current Employee) –  Manchester30 January 2019
The people I work with are great the people in charge haven't got a clue our conditions are not very good that's why I want to leave this company not a very nice place.
Pros
None It pays the bills
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
20 February 2019

Hi there. Thanks for your review. I’m concerned to hear you don’t feel like your work conditions are very good here and I’d be keen to hear more as we work hard to have a positive working environment. If you’d like to discuss, you can get in touch with me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
wearhouse operative (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire19 January 2019
I worked at SIG for 8 weeks. The turn over rate is really high. New faces every week. I was warned by a work mate after brushing the floor with 1 hand under the racking, if they spot you, using 1 hand to brush they will sack you. The are cameras everywhere. People would be sacked for anything. Because it's allways agency you are a number. I was told on the 8th week on the wednesday, I'm no longer wanted at the end of my shift.
My first day I was shocked to see know one had been ther over a few weeks. It was like every one was fresh. That's when I realised on my first day it's a rubbish place to work. Weeks went by and faces got sacked for the smallest of things e g. Being of sick for 1 day. To not being quick enough. Not being given full ppe and told to do a dirty job so refusing and told to leave. I seen 1 lad get sacked for missing placing the fork lift truck check sheet book. Exscorted of site by 8am he only clocked on at 7am. Horrible place it's like being on death row you know your time from day 1 is going to be short lived. Min wage as well. Shocking place to work.
Pros
The aint any
Cons
The whole place
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
20 February 2019

Hi there. Thanks for leaving a review. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t have a positive experience with us. I’d be interested to hear more about your time with SIG as it doesn’t sound like the kind of environment we strive for here, and I’d like to investigate further. If you’d be happy to discuss, you can contact me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once great, ruined by journey men CEOs chasing bonus.
Various Roles (Former Employee) –  Northern England10 January 2019
I personally worked at SIG for 13 years. Initially it was a great place to work, but ever since the challenges of 2008 the business made poor decisions which have rippled into today.

The new management structure grossly underestimate the influence that people in senior branch roles had and whilst short term gains will be made from cost cutting, the medium terms plans will fail because of the loss in experience. To put it bluntly, they picked up all the bad ideas of the old regime and have headed towards large distribution centres, where it's has been proven in Leeds, Manchester, and Newcastle you can't get the return on sales where you want because of the lack of control in super depots. Inward looking, idealists in the business will have you believe they know what the customer wants, but reality amd research suggests that customers in our industry don't travel over 15 miles to collect and they don't trust the service from branches not in the same town, this makes the job difficult when you see the closure plans they have put to action and will continue to make in 2019.

Bonus chasing CEOs have totally ruined this once great organisation and I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone as a good place work.
Pros
The people at the coal face
Cons
Bonus chasing journey men CEOs and their teams of drainers they bring
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
20 February 2019

Hi. Thank you for leaving a review. I’m sorry that when you left our business you weren’t having a positive experience. We made some difficult decisions last year, but we’re confident they are right for our business. I’d be happy to talk to you further about the decisions we made if you’d like to get in touch. You can contact me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once Great Company
Manager (Current Employee) –  South East6 December 2018
This once great company is in a terminal decline. Redundancies, branch closures,inability to order stock. Offshoring of credit control,bought ledger and IT support make things even harder. 46.5 hour week is the norm.
Lets hope the new top brass can sort this out.
Pros
Regular Wage
Cons
Old boy network
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Exec
(Lancing) Internal Sales Executive (Current Employee) –  Lancing, West Sussex29 November 2018
As an internal sales exec I am responsible for maintaining customer relationships and brining in new customers to add to an already strong portfolio. Departmental targets of £750K per month in which I achieve on average £250K per month. Responsible for our top 2 customers who have a combined spend of £400K per month. Regularly chasing quotations with £100K per month converted into sales both cash and credit customers.
Pros
Location, customers
Cons
Mass redundancies not handled well
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Flt Driver/Order picker (Former Employee) –  Trafford25 November 2018
Tell you what you want to hear then investigate you for the simplest of mistakes.. never will you feel like your in a safe job and management will lie through there teeth then throw you under a bus the minute it's not busy.
Pros
Non
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
8 January 2019

Hi. Thanks for your review. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t have a positive experience with our business. We’ve been through a period of change, but we’re confident the decisions we made are right for our business. I’d be happy to discuss these decisions with you further if you’d like. You can get in touch with me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor company to work for.
Central Services (Current Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire20 November 2018
Having worked for this company for a number of years I’ve slowly seen the decline in terms of moral, benefits and working practices. Earlier this year they conducted a review of company cars and a large number of employees had their cars taken off them as they didn’t meet the 10,000 mile business mileage limit at the time the review was taken place we were informed that a further review of employee company car drivers business mileage would be undertaken in September and anyone failing to meet the threshold would have their car taken off them. But guess what as usual this has not happened (they talk the talk but never follow through). There are I suspect a number of car drivers that have failed to reach the required threshold to retain their car yet they have not had them taken away “where’s the review promised SIG management, if you implement a policy you should enforce it.”

Senior management only look for a quick fix to reduce costs and once done no further action is taken. This once very profitable and fun place to work has now descended into a joke with senior management cost cutting and carving up the business just to fudge the figures in order to make it look like it’s being run effectively.

I would not recomend SIG as a place to work to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros
It's a job
Cons
Long hours, poor pay and lack of staff in key areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
8 January 2019

Hi. Thanks for leaving a review. I’d be happy to discuss our company car scheme with you if you’d like to get in touch. You can reach me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Motherwell6 November 2018
I had tried changing shift as its not practible for my family and I. I got told they woild do something about it and continuasly let me down. I have been wanting to leave for a while now
Pros
Both forklift liscences
Cons
Bad shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Official response from SIG plc
8 January 2019

Hi there. Thanks for leaving a review. I’m sorry to hear you feel let down with regards to changes to the shifts you work. I’d like to investigate this further for you if you’d be happy to share some more details with me. You can contact me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maidstone31 October 2018
I very much enjoyed working at SIG.
Being mainly responsible for Purchase Ledger, but all aspects of Administration.
After the Branch moved from Tonbridge to Maidstone the journey became a little more tedious, but that is my only negative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 14Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
senoir manager (Former Employee) –  Saint Ives26 October 2018
I enjoyed working here as it was a very friendly business with hard working people who were very nice to me despite my learning difficulties and helped me in my job and made me cups of tee. It was kind of them though it tasted like cats wee.
Pros
Tee
Cons
Only work five days a week❤️
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 15Report
Official response from SIG plc
4 December 2018

Hi there. Thanks for your review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed working for SIG!

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ever
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol24 October 2018
No structure worst run company around pay terrible branch managers totally incompetent , more worried about nice suits and the jags and Mercs....treat staff awful total liars ...best avoided because of the new so called restructuring which they refuse to inform there staff about only if your going to be made redundant ...only upside was good lads in warehouse ...avoid at all cost
Pros
No Saturdays as of yet
Cons
Idiot management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Official response from SIG plc
4 December 2018

Hi. Thanks for leaving a review. I’m really disappointed to hear you felt you weren’t treated well here and I’d be keen to know more. Respect is one of our company values that we work hard to live by every day. If you’d be happy to discuss further you can get in touch with me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low morale and a company that’s lost it’s way
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  South England22 October 2018
Cost cutting, bad management and awful inept staff in important roles are driving this once great company in to the floor. Instead of getting well qualified outside staff, morons who cannot do the job are promoted from within to save time and money.
Management are rude and lazy and live for the perks of company cars and nights out.
No stock in branches and hubs run by people who have no clue are making this company worthless and uncompetitive in the current market.
Pros
Locality of job
Cons
No one willing to take responsibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Official response from SIG plc
4 December 2018

Hi. Thanks for your review and I’m sorry to hear you didn’t have a positive time with our business. I’m confident we have the right people leading SIG so I’m concerned to hear you don’t feel the same. I’d be keen to know more about why you feel like this if you’d be happy to discuss further. You can contact me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consider carefuly before joining!
Management (Former Employee) –  uk17 October 2018
People buy from people in the building industry, SIG are not Yell.com or Phones 4u.
Great people have been made redundant, left or will be leaving in time to continue there careers with the competition or suppliers who will appreciate the quality of people available.
Well done all at the top for destroying a once great company!
Pros
Great colleagues, friends and customers
Cons
To many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Official response from SIG plc
4 December 2018

Hi. Thanks for leaving a review. We’ve been through a period of change recently that has unfortunately affected some of our colleagues. While this is always difficult, we’re confident that we’ve made the right decisions for our business. I’d be happy to discuss these changes and the reasons for them in more detail if you’d like to. You can get in touch with me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid avoid avoid
Sales (Current Employee) –  UK16 October 2018
Put simply the worst place I have ever worked. The new board (2018) are without doubt the most hopeless cretins you could ever hope to meet. Share price free fall would back this up. Too busy #hashtagging buzz words to apply the graft and enable the staff to best serve an ever increasingly thinning out group of loyal customers.
Loyal staff turfed out after years of service as these pantomime bond villains lurch from idea to idea desperately trying to stop the rot they continually create.
Staff treated horrendously and either leaving in droves or being pushed out.
Hopefully a buyer will emerge to save this company and it’s loyal employees.
#onecornetto
Pros
None
Cons
Working for SIG
Was this review helpful?Yes 29NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
4 December 2018

Hi. Thanks for your review. I’m really disappointed to hear you’re not enjoying working for our business. We’ve made some tough decisions recently which have unfortunately had an impact on some of our colleagues, but we’re confident it was the right move for our business.

I’m concerned that you felt colleagues impacted by these changes weren’t treated well and I’d be keen to know more so we can make sure this is investigated. If you’d be happy to share further details, please get in touch with me by emailing ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I’ve ever worked
Driver/Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  Bristol14 October 2018
I was a hgv2 driver at a ca Branch In Bristol the management has destroyed the morale at this depot with the lies and back stabbing to cover up on their incompetence and spineless mistakes and health and safety is only implemented when it suits them otherwise it don’t exist the wages are very poor as I have got a new job with over £5500 pay rise for working an half hour longer a week they only payed £22340 for a HIAB class 2 drive which is rubbish
Pros
Hours were ok the none management people were great
Cons
Company is run by monkeys don’t have a clue how to run a business
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
4 December 2018

Hi there. Thank you for leaving a review. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t feel positive about working for SIG. I’m concerned about your view of our health and safety procedures as keeping our workplace safe is our priority. I’d be keen to know more about your experience so we can make sure this is rectified. If you’d be happy to share more information you can get in touch with me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arrogance and ignorance personified
Branch sales (Current Employee) –  Hampshire6 October 2018
Branch level staff treated like something the directors and middle management trod in, even saying good morning and actually acknowledging you are there doing the graft is too much for them. Only time you hear is when they send out nasty emails telling you you must make budget or else!! Cut backs and redundancies of exceptional long serving loyal staff with bare minimum possible payout an absolute disgrace and slap in the face for all the extra hours time and effort put in.
Don’t bother wasting your time, management and directors are all bum buddies that go drinking and waste company money on jollies and trips. That’s where the cut backs should be.
Stay away.
Pros
Having a job I guess
Cons
Working for SIG
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
4 December 2018

Hi there. Thanks for leaving a review. It’s disappointing to hear you feel like you’re not treated with respect here. Respect is one of our company values that we work hard to live by every day.

We’ve made some tough decisions recently which have unfortunately had an impact on some of our colleagues, but we’re confident it was the right move for our business. I’d be happy to talk to you about this further, and if you’d like to, you can get in touch with me by emailing ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Until the board changes nothing will change
Manager (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London1 October 2018
The board has been made up of friends who are trying to blag their way through.

Arrogant and think they know best, they belittle their staff and palm off others ideas as their own.

The MD and CEO need to take note of these comments as they will not get honest answers from staff due to fear of losing their jobs or becoming alienated.

A cat has nine lives but the board seems to have infinity as they have driven this company down along with staff and their moral.

Career progression if your face fits.
Pros
Opportunity to take the best out of the bad and learn
Cons
The board management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 1Report
Official response from SIG plc
4 December 2018

Hi. Thanks for your review. I’m sorry to hear you’ve not got a positive view of our business and our leaders. Everyone in our business is working hard to make it a success and I can assure you that the decisions made by our leaders are not taken lightly and are in the best interests of our business. If there’s anything you’d like to discuss further you can get in touch with me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive company fun place to work for
Yard Foreman (Former Employee) –  Paisley, Renfrewshire18 September 2018
Great company to work for, staff are helpful and fun to work with great career opportunities , manager is always available if you have any grievances or problems
Pros
Breakfast and lunch always bought for you, Christmas night out paid for
Cons
Can get extremely busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 30Report
Official response from SIG plc
31 October 2018

Hi there. Thanks for leaving a review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed working at SIG!

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The fall of this once great company has been exponential.
Middle Manager (Former Employee) –  Sheffield, South Yorkshire11 September 2018
A day at work was very depressing. Several directors would ask for conflicting information immediately because someone asked them for it. No one would use this information. Endless meetings because people didn't want to make decisions in case it made them look bad. No decision is a good decision in SIG culture. Senior management are dissociated from the business to the point of autism. They literally have no idea about any aspect of the business whatsoever.

The culture fetishised "presenteeism" beyond belief. If you are there early and stay late then you are director material in the eyes of the clueless management. Nothing is done on results, only if you are sitting at a desk looking into space. No ones cares about you. No one cares about anything. The mismanagement, redundancies and restructuring will ensure that this company will issue a profit warning in October time and then it will be broken up into the least worst assets being bought for a song and the rest thrown into the rubbish bin.
Pros
I had a nice car - before it was taken away with no compensation
Cons
Working at SIG
Was this review helpful?Yes 39NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
31 October 2018

Hi. Thank you for leaving a review. I’m concerned to hear about your negative experience of working for our business and I’d be keen to find out more. If you’d be happy to discuss further you can get in touch with me via ukandirelandcommunications@sigplc.com

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many chiefs, not enough indians
Operations (Former Employee) –  South West11 September 2018
Poor senior management team. Little work recognition and limit scope for personal improvement and career advancement. Old fashioned business with an old fashioned mentality. Business has never fully recovered since 2008 recession and is, in effect, a zombie organisation awaiting takeover from a large competitor or private equity.
Pros
Pension Scheme
Cons
Senior Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
Official response from SIG plc
31 October 2018

Hi. Thanks for your review of our business. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t have a positive experience working for SIG. I’m disappointed you didn’t feel recognised or like you could progress your career – we have an employee recognition scheme in place to help us recognise great work, and lots of talent and development opportunities on offer for our colleagues.

Clare Taylor - Group HR Director

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SIG plc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 71 reviews
56
412
315
216
122

Ratings by category

2.6Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.0Job Security/Advancement
2.0Management
2.2Culture