Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depending on the department you may be ok...
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire30 October 2018
Fortunately for myself I worked with a good team of people and had a very supportive management structure. The work ethic in my team was fantastic and morale was consistently good. The job itself wasn't the best but I knew what I had signed up for. Unfortunately it's not the case for other departments where you see more management than ground staff, a lot of 'do as I say not as I do' attitude, and supervisors with horrendous people skills. There is a lot of 'if your face fits' that happens here in terms of progression and preferential treatment. To have day to day contact with members of staff and see them slowly being worn down and defeated by management was not a nice experience to say the least. So depending on what department you work in you may have a fantastic experience, on the flip side you may be walking into an area that can knock all confidence out of yourself and wear you down.
Pros
Amazing colleagues
Cons
Some areas of management are horrendous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Midwifery
Midwife (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom16 December 2017
Care for women and their families throughout pregnancy, labour and after birth. Lots of time management and lone working. Use various methods of communication. Love meeting an working with new people, challenging part of the job is limitations within the NHS and staffing issues,
Pros
Meet new people
Cons
NHS limitations
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good time mostly good team worked hard
Hospital Porter (Former Employee) –  Redwoods Shrewsbury19 September 2017
7.45-6.30 Learned to work hard as a team and on my own Management ? Workplace good culture friendly. Hardest part short staffed , meeting the clients ,
Pros
Pensions
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place to work
Moving & Handling Advisor – Band 5. (Current Employee) –  Shrewsbury31 July 2017
The Trust is a busy and stressful place to work. Good environment to learn. Needs to improve its recruitment process. Lots of opportunities once you've started work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Midwife (Former Employee) –  Telford, Shropshire26 July 2017
Hard work and many staff shortages. Morale quite low at present . Great care provision for the patients despite the staffing levels.. Great colleagues who make a great team
Pros
Satisfying job
Cons
Short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management bullies and very clicky
Non clinical role (Former Employee) –  Cancer services14 July 2017
If you expect to be treated with respect valued for your hard work and dedication then don't work here
I also worked In Cancer services as the previous commentator said they bully ignore and cold shoulder staff who are not in their club left feeling demoralised and belittled
Jobs are Given to those who they like, sickness records openly discussed and when a complaint is made the managers stick together making it impossible to get any issues resolved I complained to the trade union who are fully aware of the issues but have little impact upon this closed shop attitude
Pros
Good volunteers and staff on chemotherapy day centre are very kind
Was this review helpful?Yes 33NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd rather be jobless than work here again
Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Shrewsbury, Shropshire23 June 2017
Total bullying culture, especially within the MDT team in cancer services which is disgusting considering what they are there to do. Non existant management who are fully aware of the state of their team but would rather their staff tear chunks out of each other than get involved. So unprofessional it's unreal, people that were signed off sick we're constantly discussed within the office, conversations about how people with mental health issues are attention seekers, Christians referred to as god botherers, the list goes on. I would work for the NHS again, but I would never work at the Royal Shrewsbury Hospital again.
Pros
The clinical staff are wonderful to work with
Cons
Poor management, unprofessional, bullying culture, no progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care/setting environment
Healthcare assistant (Former Employee) –  Telford and Wrekin, Shropshire8 June 2017
Patient care needs, eg. Washing, dressing, update observations and documentation along with excellent communication and customer service skills on a daily basis and to provide a friendly atmosphere. To promote and to make a difference to people in their lives with their recovery.
Pros
Patient care/ meeting new people/ different challenges.
Cons
Long hours per day (12.5)
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A&e
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  A&E30 November 2016
Management is none existence in A&E. Un educated bullies who climb the ladder by being horrible to staff. It goes to show promotion from nvq managers will never be the same as graduate from GCSEs to A level then university.
Pros
Good tired agency staff
Cons
long hours with horrible lazy managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very nice place to work ,bad bullying management,poor pay,
mechanical craftsman (Former Employee) –  estates department20 August 2014
great co workers,management poor ,bullying them and us culture,pay is poor for the responsibility no pay rise for 4 years.Id give it a miss.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
bad inept management
Was this review helpful?Yes 100No 18Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working in NHS
Health Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Telford and Wrekin, ENG19 June 2014
Busy working environment which I prefer.
A&E Dept was great as every shift was different.
Colleagues supportive and fun.
Dealing with angry, loud drunks could be challenging.
Pros
Sense of achievement
Cons
Strain on my lower back
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 24Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable Working Experience
Registered Midwife (Current Employee) –  Telford, United Kingdom19 September 2012
A typical day for me is to run my antenatal clinic of approx 10 antenatal checks. I then see up to 6 women and their newborn babies in their own home for further postnatal checks and to ensure both mother and baby are progressing normal.

Postnatal checks are usually performed the following day after discharge, day 3, day 5 and day 10 unless the family require further support in which care can continue until day 28. Typical postnatal checks are to ensure maternal observations including BP, Temp and Pulse are within normal limits, ensuring the uterus is contract and lochia is reducing. My role is to prevent any possible complications from delivery and to act quickly if any are suspected including infection, thrombus, retained products, potential bladder and bowel problems. It also includes supporting feeding baby including breastfeeding assistance, ensuring baby is developing normally. Monitoring growth of the neonate, ensuring normal function of urinary and bowel habits, and monitoring potential jaundice.

The job involves a lot of thinking on your feet and I have a lot of autonomy although support is in the form of referals back to the hospital or doctors on the telephone.

The most enjoyable part of my job is supporting families through home deliveries which we have a lot of in our area. Ensuring a safe and healthy delivery delivery for both mum and baby.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 48Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 13 reviews
50
44
33
22
14

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.6Culture

Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust Reviews by Location