Shoe Zone Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get on well with work team
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear21 June 2018
I enjoy working there it’s just a bit far to travel and cost a lot a month to get there. You get to improve on your customer skills. You must be flexible to work as when other members of staff are off you would have to cover some shifts and shift can change. You work some bank holidays but not all
Pros
Get money for Christmas parties
Cons
Boring shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short contract
Retail Assistant Shoe Zone (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Neath, Neath Port Talbot11 June 2018
I liked this job but management weren't very fair at the time of placement, hardest part of the job is delivery and also stock taken and sorting out stock room
Pros
Nice hours
Cons
lack of fairness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent atmosphere
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrow11 June 2018
Amazing,friendly atmosphere to work in.My main duties included serving and advising customers regarding the products they were interested in, performing returns and purchases as well as doing fill ups and ensuring the store is tidy at all times. The manager was really nice and understanding and I really enjoyed interacting with a wide range of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London7 June 2018
really nice place to work at lovely members off staff and nice environment. sorry nothing else to say but indeed says not enough characters and I have to do this
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okayish
Sales Assistant (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Derby City Centre, Derbyshire21 May 2018
was a brilliant place to work until I found out I wasn't staying after my apprentice management started being funny with me wouldn't recommend anyone..
Pros
nothing
Cons
some staff got treated better than others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational
Sales Assistance (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh14 May 2018
I learned to restock shoes and tag items when they were on sale, I was not allowed to work the tills as I was under 16 at the time and I was only there for work experience. My favorite part was helping customers as it helped with my communication skills, and the hardest part about when I was there was remembering all the shoe sizes i had to go and get but the more I done it, the easier it got.
Pros
worked with great people
Cons
having to rememeber the type of shoe and their size
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
supervisor/manger (Current Employee) –  Aldershot6 May 2018
i have worked for shoe zone for 4 years now.
they are a good company to work for. management come to visit regular.
staff work hard and are loyal.
the hardest part of the job is the delivery , when there are lots of heavy boxes to be carried up stairs and then put away in the stock rooms.
the fun part of the day is working with the friendly members of staff which make the days go by quickly.
Pros
free work shoes and money towards uniform trousers. free work tops
Cons
being short staffed at times. getting interupted during lunch breaks that are unpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my experience
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Greater London25 April 2018
okay they look after you and give a lot to do. I feel like at times they could be slightly unprofessional during slow hours. I learnt a lot there. Carried that experience with me to other jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small business place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham21 April 2018
looking for stock for customers, tidying warehouse and shopfloor, working tills to serve customers & tidying up when store closes. usually quite quiet as store was small
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,fun and enjoyable workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Eastbourne17 April 2018
It is a great place to work at as you learn new things each day. And the team is great at making sure that there is job that can be done so it never gets boring quick. The team is also really nice to work with to get any type of job as they can be reliable when helping another member of said team with any questions
Pros
A decent lunch time break and hours
Cons
Somedays not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace
Part Time Sales Assistant/ Sunday Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ringwood13 April 2018
Staff did not want to do work, and were often rude to customers. The store was never cleaned and often all the difficult tasks were given to inexperienced new staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  London10 April 2018
working in shoe zone was really nice as the staff were polite and easy to work along side and the store was usually always busy.
helping customers was my favourite part of this job. A typical days work at shoe zone was busy helping customers re filing stock and do call backs and refunds serving customers using the till and placing online orders for customers
Pros
very understanding
Cons
a few long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Stockroom Assistant (Former Employee) –  Meadowhall, South Yorkshire4 April 2018
A typical day to day at shoe zone is well organised and always very busy, the things i have learnt while working there is making sure that all the shoes are on the shop floor on time for the customers to buy them, the management there was really good as everyone made sure that i could do the stock pulling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a nice place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Southend-on-Sea, Essex2 April 2018
I worked in shoe zone for two weeks for work experience in school while I was there it was a nice place to work also those I worked alongside with was very nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has it’s head screwed on
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London15 March 2018
I’ve worked in retail for over 15 years with 4 companies and shoe zone was the best. They fully respect the pressures store managers face running a fast pasted, busy shop. They have very reasonable expectations.
In other companies I’ve worked for there is so much daily paper work and unnecessary company demands which took manages away from the shop floor and the real work. With shoe zone The paper work is minimal which allows so much more time for customers and the daily workload.
I’ve never had such supportive area managers. In my other store manager roles I found my area mangers only looked at the negatives. Always seeing work I haven’t done not what I have done. Any praise or recognition for my efforts was very had to come by and seems like they were finding ways to catch you out and tell you off. With shoe zone the area managers have been well trained to give you praise and also support when things are not going right.
The company also listens to their staff. There is facilities available to be able to make suggestions and feedback on the business. I’ve found with other companies those facilities just isnt there. Which means the same problems come up time and time again because they won’t except any feedback from their staff.
There is a lot of work involved and it can get very busy but it was a pleasure to work for them and recommend it.
Pros
Christmas bonus, staff discount, nice people
Cons
Customers can be very unpleasant in the London area, large deliveries, tidying up all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on the shop floor
Apprenticeship (Former Employee) –  Chorley14 March 2018
Was given basic training from the first day and worked on the shop floor serving customers and helping out in the stock room dealing with deliveries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands13 March 2018
It has been a number of years since I worked there but it was a great company to work for, the team were great and the benefits of the job were good too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales and General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newport7 March 2018
I found it productive and expanding my knowledge and the staff are great also they are friendly, kind, they have good customer service communication skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nicd work place
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shoreditch, Greater London25 February 2018
it's was easy to work there because all I had to do is mop the floor in the morning and then when the shop was open all I had to do is bring the shoes to the people what need them
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cannock, Staffordshire20 February 2018
It waseems a fast paced environment which offered new challenges everyday. Every customer had different needs and we was expected to meet them to the best of our ability. Very enjoyable friendly environment.
Pros
Good people and good hours
Cons
Could get repettitive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shoe Zone. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 428 reviews
5157
4136
393
221
121

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.6Culture