Shelter UK Employee Reviews

Found 83 reviews matching the search See all 84 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer service adviser (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh16 November 2019
I had a great time volunteering there, staff were friendly and customers were kind I would 100% reccomend this to a friend and it was a very relaxed environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good charity
Door to Door Fundraiser (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, Merseyside15 November 2019
Good charity doing a great job in all areas of housing and homelessness.

Good fun environment to work in and teams develop and bond very quickly.

I enjoyed my time with Shelter and would recommend this role to anyone who enjoys working in a team and has drive and passion. I would return to the role without hesitation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun with career progression
Ilkley - Manager (Former Employee) –  Harrogate28 October 2019
A relaxed style of working with the opportunity to progress.
Started as a volunteer and went on to train as a manager.
Supportive management.
Can be physical.
Good camaraderie.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Erdington, West Midlands24 October 2019
It was a very fun and sociable place they teached me everything I would need to know to work in a store. They teached me how handle cash and they showed me working at the till skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where are all the millions being spent
Project Worker (Former Employee) –  Lancashire13 October 2019
Its all about the statistics not the clients, tick boxes ingnore clients and you will get on at Shelter. Any management that knew what they were doing left, leaving incompetent management. Expected to do a job with no financial backing. I would not recommend anyone working for shelter
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely environment to work in but job itself can be quite stressful sometimes
Telephone and Online Adviser (Former Employee) –  Sheffield29 September 2019
lovely people
great cause to help with
wide variety of tasks and a lot of opportunity to improve your career
the actual job of the helpline can be stressful and upsetting
Pros
good pay, excellent training, good management, friendly staff
Cons
stressful job, arguably some unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Student (Former Employee) –  Glasgow16 September 2019
I spent my time at college placement with Shelter and I enjoyed every minute of being there. Management are organised and very approachable, the team work displayed by the organisation is invaluable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shelter
Driver (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire2 September 2019
Do not apply for job at shelter Middlesbrough poor management and if your face doesn't fit your out job its self is quit rewarding but as I said that is outweighed by poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
TR (Current Employee) –  Lancashire and Cumbria30 August 2019
It’s been a great experience working for Shelter. Everyone is passionate about what they do and strong team work. The training offered helps with progression and being able to do the best at your job. The benefits of working with Shelter are personal and financial. If you like solving problems and helping making the difference to people’s lives than this is the job for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am volunteer.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London26 June 2019
The workplace culture is great. I usually take care of the stock entering the shop and I help attending clients.
.....................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shelter is a very productive and fun place to work at, with lovely staff members.
Sheltered Housing Officer (Former Employee) –  Blackburn, Lancashire3 December 2018
I loved working for shelter, i would have stayed longer if i could. A lovely team of people to work with. I learnt a lot whilst i was there, i built up my confidence, i had a good manager who was very supportive. Overall an excellent place to work.
Pros
Learnt a lot and free training, helping change lives
Cons
I do not have any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run by people who can’t get a job or failed in the private sector.
Driver (Current Employee) –  Preston5 November 2018
Homeless charity that doesn’t help homeless people or have any Shelters and opens a shop in a shopping centre where homeless aren’t allowed to enter so can’t use the one service they provide (internet). Money raised ends up in MPs and solicitors back pockets, why would they want to end homelessness they’d go out of business and there 100k a year ceo wouldn’t have a job.

Management have no clue about any aspects of running a shop or transport/laws (working time directive and maximum vehicle weights what’s that?) and when things go wrong it’s always someone’s else’s fault or your called lazy if your not going above and beyond everyday to bail constant incompetence out.
No flexibility in the company at all and good luck if you want to access your own core hr to book a holiday or view a wage slip.
Pros
Home time.
Cons
No one knows anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Door to door sales (Former Employee) –  Glasgow31 October 2018
I loved this Job always found new things to learn and wooild definitely recommend this job opportunity to other people all the staff are lovely and very flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whens the Christmas party??
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Liverpool30 September 2018
An undesirable place to work full of people too busy surfing the internet and planning their Christmas party! A total lack of care for the jobs they do and constantly leaving the phone to ring out while they check out facebook.
Pros
Decent pay to bin off.
Cons
Braindead staff, no job enjoyability
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding but difficult at times
Development Worker (Former Employee) –  shelter scotland6 September 2018
I learned a great deal in my time at Shelter. The best part of the job was meeting such a wide range of people and situations. No two days were ever the same and therefore there was always something new to learn. I spent a time in the community as well as the office which provided a fun and varied experience. Feeling like you can make a difference to something as important as someone's housing or financial situations was extremely rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community driven and rewarding role
SHOP ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London, UK31 August 2018
My role at Shelter UK was wide-ranging. One day I was assisting volunteers and delegating tasks for them to do e.g. cleaning and re shelving the children's section. The next day I was working on the till serving customers and promoting specials. My role was very creative and diverse. I would go to local events have stalls set up to sell sponsored merchandise from well-known companies.

The Manager and I would change the layout of the store to make it more inviting to customers. I learned how to adapt in an ever-changing environment and how to deal with people from all walks of life. Management was very understanding and practical. The only negative for this role was not enough employees to share the work load. The most enjoyable part of my job was the level of creativity and community involvement I participated in.
Pros
Great management, creative and satisfying role
Cons
Huge workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work here
Shop Assistant (Voluntary) (Former Employee) –  Dundee, Dundee City25 August 2018
Horrible place to work, staff are rude,nobody does any tasks they are meant to. they all leave it to one person. Never ever got a lunch break. NOBODY TAKE A JOB HERE
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing charity and place to work - some management excellent, some toxic to the mission
Income generation (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London20 August 2018
Shelter was a great place to work, the cause is incredible and 98% of people I came into contact with were excellent at their job and fabulous to work with.

The 2% who were not pleasant to work with were under qualified, bull-ish without reason and less than effective all sat far too close to the top. HR was almost also almost non existent sometimes but fairly expected.
Pros
Great management in some areas/teams
Cons
Very poor management in others
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Floor Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh14 August 2018
Shelter is an enjoyable work place with a hard working staff and motivated team to get takes done. I would highly recommend shelter as a place o work to anyone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workforce. Totally devoted to eliminating homelessness
Housing/Money Adviser (Current Employee) –  Dundee13 August 2018
This is a terrific job that meets all my requirements regarding job satisfaction. Extremely busy office hub. Dealing with drop-in service and taking calls forwarded by the national Shelter line.
This is the action side of preventing homelessness and regulating property relations. From clamping down on rogue landlords to campaigning in Hollyrood, Shelter fights for a home for everyone and influences change at policy level.
This job requires special skills and personality to cope with the often disturbing situations that come our way daily.
I would love to be paid for this job.
Pros
Being on the front line of housing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shelter UK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 84 reviews
544
422
37
25
16

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture