Shaw Healthcare Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away. As fast as you can.
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Northamptonshire8 December 2017
I wish I could give Shaw NO stars....
Although I loved working with my colleagues and the residents, management and the company in general are APPALLING!
You are treated with no more respect, care or compassion than they would a chair or side table. To Shaw you are just a number and when the stress and pressure of overwork gets too much you are easily replaceable. When I handed in my notice after becoming stressed through overwork and other issues, (having refused a sick note from the doctor for time off - which I now wish I had taken advantage of!), no-one from management or above asked what they could do to help, if there was anything they could do to change my mind or even bothered to say goodbye when I left!
On top of all that, the money is rubbish - which for the amount of responsibility you hold in your hands every day is just not worth it.
RUN AWAY - as fast as you can!
Pros
Nice people to work with at ground level.
Cons
A HORRID company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff& residents are great, management thumbs down for me
Support Worker/Carer (Current Employee) –  Pulborough, West Sussex27 November 2017
I do enjoy working for this company but I am finding it difficult with the travelling, main reason for moving on is to work closer to my home, what I dont like about this company is the unfair annual leave system they have, the hours are not flexible it is 2 x 12 hr shifts
Pros
to be honest i ca t think of any pros
Cons
12hr shifts not very flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company ive ever worked for
Domestic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ledbury, Herefordshire21 November 2017
Worked for shaw for 15 years as domestic to start not too bad enough staff good team work .two cleaners on each floor spotless people left as hours changed hard to get replacements as by then the place had a bad name large turnover of staff in all departments management rude unhelpful & are unable to run their departments effeciently so many cleaners have now left 3 more since I left without being replaced it must be like a pig sty in there cleaners are now doing 3 floors by themselves when I handed in my notice after being offered another job nobody batted an eye lid loyalty is not rewarded they dont care .although just a domestic the company should realise that if staff are happy in their work they will stay & a companys profit is earned by their staff however low down the pay scale they are
Pros
None
Cons
No support management utterly useless
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring place to work at, Fun, loving
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol14 November 2017
Amazing care home to work at, the staff and mangement is nice and caring, recommended place to work at. The hardest is taking it in with what you got to do, but you will get the hand of it in a short amount of time, the enjoy is having team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workpace
Day Care Support Worker/Activities Planner (Current Employee) –  Horsham12 November 2017
I enjoy my job as no two days are the same. I love working with the elderly and gain immense rewards in knowing that i have made a positive difference to someones day
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad to be leaving a great Company
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh8 November 2017
Have worked for Shaw Edinburgh for 18 months. Sadly due to family commitments have have to leave a great job. Worked alongside some excellent carers..going to miss you all.office staff are very supportive and management approachable..i would recommend anyone wanted to work in care to apply to Shaw,they do a great job looking after the elderly..
Pros
Bonus bus pass great team
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Wigan, Greater Manchester1 November 2017
good company to work for, supportive in certain areas. changes are needed. staff are not always listened too. pay is not the best in the industry. staff members make the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and supportive company
Support worker/ team leader/ deputy manager (Former Employee) –  Steyning, West Sussex27 October 2017
I loved working for Shaw healthcare and spent 6 years with the company. I started as a carer and am now a care Home Manager else where. The company progressed my career in care very quickly and were supportive throughout. The Home Manager and deputy were extremely supportive and motivating. I’m gutted I left to progress. I would definitely go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company stay away
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh13 October 2017
management are so evil to you speak to you like a little girl. you are never paid correctly so you have to keep check of what you have done and work out for yourself what you are meant to get. they dont have clue how to care for anyone and they dont care about you what so ever they just employ anyone who comes in there direction
Pros
other colleges and great service users
Cons
long hours not good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
swings and roundabouts
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rushden, Northamptonshire9 October 2017
It isn't bad, but it's not great by any standard - like Swings and Roundabouts

work life is okay but like any workplace, there are the certain people who bring you down with comments or actions.

Management is meh - requests take time such as annual leaves or rota's being later than they really should be.

pay is flat-rate so good for younger generations but lags if older.
Pros
good pay for younger people
Cons
management, early working hours, poor pay for older people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh2 October 2017
Good place to work. Long hours. Good office staff and help support you when out working on the field. Free uniform and money pack on bus pass. Salary is good on a monthly basis. Learn on the good. Weeks training before you start. Paid training
Pros
Free uniform
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management - all for profit
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol19 September 2017
Worked with shaw for 6 months. My probation was cut short a week shy of the end of it. Was also done on the sly. Management very up themselves, not prepared to work hard if staff shortage. A lot of favouritism from management to certain members of staff. No real support structure. Lots of pointless and unnessicary training thrown at you. Constant phone calls for cover whilst on days off and annual leave.
A lot of bad practise within the house that is reported but dismissed for unknown reasons.
Build you up then drop you from a pedistal. I was given a higher position within the home to then be dismissed two weeks after for things beyond my control.

Wouldn't recommend.
Pros
Lovely service users
Cons
Everything other than the service users
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Fun Company
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Portishead, Somerset15 September 2017
A very relaxed house, great residents. A great team and respect of each other.
Excellent education and training and on going training.

A fantastic range of hours and respect of having a Family life and work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours
COMMUNITY SUPPORT WORKER (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh10 September 2017
To much of a hard workload, not enough time off. Way to much travelling from destination to destination. However I was working with great people and they all do a great job.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Domestic Assistant (Current Employee) –  Crawley30 August 2017
Good company to work for, manager is lovely and management are great, most of the other colleagues are lovely to speak with and they help you if and when asked. The odd grump and horrible person but you get that everywhere. Pay is pretty bad for all the hard long labour of hours.
Pros
Good management, staff.
Cons
Long hours, pretty poor pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Shoreham by Sea, West Sussex22 August 2017
Not always singing from same song sheet within other locations of Shaw Homes. General feeling of not being appreciated even when everyone is trying their hardest and working to best of their ability. Long standing members of staff witnessed high staff turnover and lots of agency staff used which is not conducive for good care.
Pros
Free parking, uniform supplied. Training provided.
Cons
Long hours, 12.5 hour shift one half hour break which is unpaid!!. Have to pay for food.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loneworking
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Ashton-in-Makerfield, Greater Manchester7 August 2017
Being your own boss in your own vehicle has it advantages, very difficult to manage own time due to split hours, not enough pay due to only being paid from entering the house to leaving and only allocating patients 15 minuet calls.
Pros
Own boss
Cons
Split hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and underpaid!
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Waverley house leominster12 July 2017
Expect minimum wage and to work without breaks! very little support from management, never listened too, I would not recommend working here to anyone! Sad really as it could be a nice place
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, min wage, no support from managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patronising management
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Bristol6 July 2017
New manager has started. Very patronising, rude to staff and not supportive, makes the work place very uncomfortable enviorment and uneasy, which is a shame due to having a good team which has been tore apart and new rules which meant we did not work as a team anymore, which also meant the service users were isolated into there rooms and we would get be told ' why are we not in there rooms ' when they did not want us in there. Constantly having to watch your back as the manager would spy on us out of the top window, cannot sit down for 5 minutes during a 12 and a half hour shift with only a 30 minute break without being shouted at and spoken to like you were a kid. I would NOT recommend this company or this particular house to anyone, mainly due to bad and unfair management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place
Domestic Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Worcester, Worcestershire3 July 2017
Bad place in house bullying reporting does no good .management seem uninterested in helping staff.staff are used and made to do duties that are not in contract.residents un keep most days ..desent staff leave ..everyone walks out
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shaw Healthcare. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 83 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9