SEVERN TRENT Employee Reviews

Found 128 reviews matching the search See all 229 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place To Work
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands24 January 2019
I currently work as a Customer Advisor in the Operations department and no two days are the same. It is a very fast paced environment where each call is different from the last. The role itself is rewarding as you can directly impact the experience of each customer that you speak to. I can't fault the management of the department as they are all very friendly and down to earth - from the team leaders to the department manager. My colleagues are a fantastic group of people who I happily spend time with outside of work. My favourite part of the job is knowing that I am able to make a considerable difference to the customer's day by getting their issue reported and raised, giving them advice etc. The hardest part of the job is dealing with difficult and demanding customers who think that just because they pay a water bill to us, they have the authority to demand that we come out to a minor issue immediately.
Pros
Fantastic working environment and colleagues
Cons
Difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t bother
Complex billing advisor (Former Employee) –  Derby28 January 2019
As a customer service advisor your jobs more focused on getting Homeserve transfers and there services you get no commission for it just sweets now and then everyone’s leaving due to poor management and expectations set to high very clicky if your face fits.... environment different shifts every week so difficult with child care and work life balance none exsistant extremely busy no time of the phones call after call as so short staffed no one stays!!
Pros
Bonus in July of about 600
Cons
Shifts management job role and the expectation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much Red Tape if you work hard you do not shine!
Prefer not to say (Current Employee) –  Prefer not to say6 November 2018
Your experience of STW will be determined solely by the area of the business that you work within and the quality of your line manager.
If you work really hard this will be taken for granted. It will not be appreciated and if your performance drops you will be pulled up about it.
Where as to the contrary colleagues who do not work hard just get away with it and if they ever do anything over and above their ordinary they are thanked and rewarded!
There are lots of great people in the business but there is also a lot of red tape. If you want to do something that your line manager is not keen on they will tie you up in red tape to prevent you from doing it.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Selfish Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Severn Trent Water
Planning Assistant (Current Employee) –  Staffordshire Moorlands, Staffordshire18 July 2018
Severn Trent on the whole is a good company to work for. I have learned a lot working here, obviously about the water industry and the various processes in the disposal and generation of water. A typical day would start at 7 and finish at 3pm. The Management is generally fair and good but can change quite frequently. The most enjoyable part of my job has to be the variation of people you meet and deal with on a daily basis.
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Business Analyst CRM/GDPR (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands16 August 2018
good days at work always, good working environment, the culture is really of a solid team building. learnt a lot about management, managing people the
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cosc
CUSTOMER SERVICE ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Coventry21 January 2019
The job was more of a passing through role till I found something I really wanted to do, The hours and management are both as bad as each other.
the only positive was that I learnt how to use SAP, which did not meet the criteria for the job role.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but poor decisions by upper management
Trainee Mechanical Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Nottingham30 May 2018
good company to work for, job for life if willing to stay, poorly managed however by upper management point of view. Salary is below what other companies offer, but have things such as a good pension and share save scheme in place which can potentially counteract this.
Pros
Pension and share save schemes
Cons
standby
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast passed customer services
Customer Advisor (Current Employee) –  Shelton21 September 2018
a brilliant company to work for if you like resolving customers queries over the phone, plenty of opportunity to do things in the local community. fantastic career opportunities if you are willing to travel
Pros
free parking
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rife with nepotism and backstabbing.
Technician (Former Employee) –  United Kingdom3 April 2018
Half the colleagues only got the job because they knew the manager or another senior colleague. Rude and snobby management with lots of time to spend on paperwork and they criticise you for every minor mistake, Colleagues will snitch on you to management to further their career. Also, CEO has lot of new ideas but they simply don't work in what is a practical job. Endless team meetings. Best advice: do not trust half your colleagues.
Pros
None
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company to work for
Business Change Analyst (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands9 July 2018
Benefits, salary and opportunities make the company an exciting and fast moving utility. Severn Trent prides itself in taking the health, safety and wellbeing of its staff as paramount.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ST Water
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Coventry27 August 2018
Great company to work for, challenging and promising career. Utility company supplying all UK commercial and business customers.
I work with great people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learninng
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire10 July 2018
i learned a lot whilst at severn trent
water
i looked after customers on the phone with their quieries about bills and also helped change hteir account if they moved address
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for who take their responsibilities very seriously
Telemetry Technician (Current Employee) –  Leicester, Leicestershire15 November 2017
Work starts at 07:45 and stops at 16:00. Half an hour lunch generally at the desk and usually whilst carrying on working. A varied workload and lots of opportunity to meet new people. Health and Safety taken very seriously down to the point that we are all held personally accountable for watching out for near misses etc and documenting them on the company repository. The workplace culture is very relaxed if you are at one of the satellite locations but the opposite if at head office!!
Pros
Company Bonus
Cons
Little chance of promotion, No guarantee of more money if new job falls in same "job family"
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands7 March 2018
Poor management led to a poor culture within the department. They had built a culture of fear and had people worrying for their jobs constantly. It could be a fantastic place to work with a change in leadership in IOC
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people make it great
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Derby, Derbyshire24 April 2018
At team level a great company to work for, supportive, committed and loyal. Senior managers are remote and any feedback that questions high level decisions is perceived as negative which leads to a culture of distrust and means that people are reluctant to voice concerns.
Pros
Great people, lovely customers
Cons
Poor life/work balance due to shift patterns
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taxing workplace
Credit Manager (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands13 July 2018
Working in IOC was Emotionally taxing.
Dealing with customers can be difficult and this is made more difficult with management constantly monitoring you, you feel pressurised constantly from all sides.
In addition a taff are only allowed ten minutes per day to go to the toilet some shifts are ten hours long and this doesn’t change. You are expected to go in your two 15 minute breaks or the half hour lunch, if you go over ten minutes management highlight you have gone over the time limit to the whole floor via email and if you go over repeatedly you will get in trouble and the management make out that you may eventually lose your job adding more pressure, uncertainty and stress, this makes you feel like a child who can’t make their own mind as to when to go to the toilet.
A new call out system was brought in where you automatically call people, sometimes calling the same person multiple times or if they have paid their bill but it hasn’t updated on the system which can be embarrassing and can make the customer angry and rude/ abusive.
The job is monotonous, and although quite easy can be quite emotionally taxing as you don’t know What mood the caller will be in. Interdepartmental cohesion is poor especially with the billing department who take no ownership of customers issues.
On a positive note the floor staff are great and really friendly you couldn’t ask to work with more supportive people, in addition you can learn a lot from a job in ioc but not for long as it is dead end, poorly paying and stressful.
Pros
Great teammates
Cons
Pay, abusive customers, overbearing management, treated like a child I.e toilet breaks, general dissatisfaction, no upper movement unless you are there for ages
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional
Contract Administrator for sub contractor (Former Employee) –  Horsham, West Sussex29 August 2018
professional company to work alongside as part of an external sub contractor, responding to emgergency drainage issues as part of the agreed contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with pockets of "Brilliant people"
Currently ITE Lead (Current Employee) –  Coventry3 February 2018
Overall a great place to work. The origination is currently pushing on in all areas to be the most trusted water Company by 2020 .

I Currently work on a shift basis and spend the first 20minutes of each shift setting direction and energising the Team ready for the shift ahead. The position I hold at present is very much based around Incident Management so we have to be on the ball from the minute we walk through the door until its time to go home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employer
Credit Management Adviser (Former Employee) –  Coventry, West Midlands2 April 2018
stw is an amazing employer and i have to say when i was employed by them, my work life was the best it has ever been i just couldn't work with the shifts i was given which was a shame but it was pleasure to work for them for the time i did regardless.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive and nurturing atmosphere
Senior Advisor in Public Health and Standards (Former Employee) –  Coventry12 July 2018
- Highly motivational and professional teams of people
- Very open to members of staff from all walks of life
- Emphasis on customer satisfaction and the science behind protecting water quality from source to tap.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SEVERN TRENT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 229 reviews
573
474
350
212
120

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture