Serco Employee Reviews

Found 646 reviews matching the search See all 3,166 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work
Call Centre Operator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham14 August 2018
Start work at 9am, i have to call patients that are in need of medical supplies. i learn new things everyday. in a typical day i have to make 120 calls to patients.
Pros
good learning atmosphere
Cons
non-productive environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One big family!
Team performance manager (Former Employee) –  Bolton, Greater Manchester25 July 2018
Worked at Serco for 12 years. Lovely people and like a big family. Work/life balance was brilliant. Always new challenges and I really miss everyone and the place due to redundancy unfortunately.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Sky Regional Support Team (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth18 July 2018
I wasnt there that long so cant really judge it but for the sort time that i was there it was a nice place to work and very secure. the job role was easy enough and would happily work there again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
HGV Class 2 Driver (Former Employee) –  Winchester9 July 2018
Serco were a good employer complete your work and go home or if you wish go out on overtime st a good rate had lots of laughs and management would listen to your opionions and suggestions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Operations Director and the Senior Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow4 July 2018
great workplace with some great people that are sharing the same passion you are and help you reach your goals. theres always plenty to do and the office is always busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning assisstant
Learning Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlow, Essex29 June 2018
As this was only experience based work i didn't get paid for the experience on a wage however this experiences was useful where i was able to learn need skills and how the business manage their data. Which while having work experience for a week within the business i would listen into calls and work with the admin people and how they manage their admin, also i learnt how to rebuild a computer system which once i was learnt this they allowed me to help them to start rebuilding some of their computer systems.

The workplace culture was high standard which all the people i got involved with they all knew i was there for experience and i didn't know everything so if i needed help they would offer and help in any area i didn't fully understand.

there was really any hard areas within any of the roles, however some of the days within this experience did become long winded when i would mostly be watching how they work instead of actually working.

The most enjoyable part for the role was being involved with new people and learning their experiences within the business and to be able to actually get involved within some areas of the running of the business.
Pros
lunch breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual Lifeguarding
Lifeguard/Leisure Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sheerness20 June 2018
Days are often long with minimum pay. Managers vary, some are great others not so much. All other staff members are friendly. Staff training is now more frequent and flexible. As a casual it is either very hard to get shifts or being constantly asked.
Pros
free use of pool and gym
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited opportunities
LEVEL 2 CUSTOMER SERVICE ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Shop Direct Worcester18 June 2018
Didn't enjoy the work culture of Serco but they only operated the contract for a short period before redundancies and the closure of the site. There were always communication problems.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a great employer
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  plymouth, Derriford14 June 2018
very poorly managed with errors within the important office roles particularly payroll. The organisations of this company lets itself down significantly.
Pros
none
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Logistic and transport co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  London27 May 2018
You would have different shift patterns. You will 100% finish on time. snack cupboard near the desks. chilled environment. management really need to take courses as some of them don't have a clue how to engage with people.
Pros
finishing on time
Cons
poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Porter (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, IN21 May 2018
Serco provided all the training and support needed for me to be successful in the role of a Porter. The appraisals helped me to develop and move forward. It also gave me training opportunities which I was delighted to take advantage of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job work
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newton Abbot19 May 2018
really enjoyable job and easy to get on with the people around me, A typical day at work would be making meals for about 200 people.
i learned a lot at this job as things had to be completed by a set time so there was a lot of team work involved, the management was amazing at supporting us as staff and was always there to support and help us if needed.
Pros
payed lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the worst job I’ve ever done.
Prison Custody Officer (Current Employee) –  Doncaster2 May 2018
Been working here for Three months and have been live on the wing for a month after training. Have to say the time flies there are no two days the same . It can be challenging and frustrating at times but my colleges make it a good day and having a good team behind you makes it all better. Management on my house is good but they could do allot more about the shift patterns to make a better work to life ratio. Changes are being made hopefully it will be better later in the year . The job is different you are dealing with prisoners some who can be compliant and others who won’t training does not fully prepare you for what’s ahead but if you have a strong mind and keen learner and know to say no then you won’t have a problem. If I could go back and have the option to pick this job again I would .that says it all.
Pros
My colleges make it good my wing is run good and it’s different everyday.
Cons
Long hours shift patterns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane
Inbound Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Newcastle upon Tyne25 April 2018
Whilst here, the team leaders were very strict, which no open mindedness about the approach taken to complete a task to help a customer out, this was very restrictive to my nature
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it here
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester25 April 2018
lovely place to work just the pay was an issue, no career progression
but made some good friends and gained lots of experience in the customer service role
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Colleagues within the workplace-management treat non-management like rubbish
Stores Officer (Former Employee) –  London Borough of Islington, Greater London25 April 2018
+Good pay
-Poor management who treat others like dirt. A do as i say culture.
-Sourcing equipment for £ rather than customer safety.
+Ethnic Diversity
-Inconsiderate for family life
-A blame game culture.A dog eat dog environment where back-stabbing is rewarded, albeit even encouraged. Leading to promotions throughout management only. Rather than sacking a failing manager, they are simply moved to other contracts.
+Days in lieu earned for overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people poor management
Sales (Former Employee) –  Shropshire16 April 2018
Great staff to work with, very friendly and make the work very enjoyable each day.
Job benefits are good, pension, pay vice versa and good job security.

Some site managers have no respect for employees, only bothered about pushing you through training within days because targets need to be hit. Even when your new and your not fully competent with products and site yet, they still expect you to be hitting the monthly target with minimal support.
Pros
Great Staff, good money, working patterns
Cons
Management has no respect for employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good
Inbound Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Victoria Station manchester11 April 2018
the job was easy enough however the employees were constantly targeted on time and were always expected to sell more than they were, this would often lead to employees being frustrated
Pros
good facilities, decent pay
Cons
very high volumes of inbound calls
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy contract
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Canterbury, Kent10 April 2018
A typical day consists of working closley with the Nhs trust to optimise the positive experience that greets the patients and families alike. This is generally achieved by making sure all clinical areas are spotlessly clean and that they achieve a 98% score minimum upon audt.
i have learned over the years that good communication and being there for staff continually supporting them reaps great rewards.
things change rapidly in any given day so it is important to be flexible and extreemly organised to meet any up coming problems,
Pros
keeps you omn your toes
Cons
sometime work /life balance suffers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job
Grounds Maintenance Operative (Current Employee) –  Thetford, Norfolk7 April 2018
Looking at job sheets, prioritisng work load, cutting grass, spraying, planting, loading. The job is different daily, working as a team and providinga good quaity work.
Pros
Enjoy the team work and the job
Cons
There are too many lazy staff who you have to carry
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report