Sense Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your face fits your ok
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Accrington, Lancashire2 June 2018
I was bullied by the manager, Reported a safeguarding incident and they made my life unbearable. Residents were wonderful, pity there families don't know what happens. Beware of some colleagues, don't trust any of them
Pros
The residents
Cons
Extremely bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You'll Love the people you look after.
No Comment (Former Employee) –  London12 March 2018
I worked for Sense for more than 15 years and I've loved all the people I cared for a worked with. When I first started Sense was a company that had a great Ethos and actually took time to invest in their staff, however this is no longer the case, so it was time for me to move on. Middle management like in most places are nothing more than a bunch of little egotistcal career climbers who want to come in, take charge of everything, screw it all up and and by the time anyone finds out, they have moved on to the next company most leave before they are fired! They do not invest in loyal capable employees and each year take more away from the care staff such as salary increments and more.
Pros
Nice living enviroment for the clients Because of the good care given by the staff.
Cons
Very little possiblitiy of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun rewarding and supportive
Casual Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands4 March 2018
I am a current casual support worker for sense so i work in different homes. The support i have recieved is great, managers are all lovely and supportive. The service users can be difficult due to their disability but it's very rewarding and would recommend the job to anyone who enjoys doing care and likes a challenge.
Pros
Very supportive and a lot of activities
Cons
Being casual so not guaranteed hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be so much better staff and clients not treated equally
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Kettering, Northamptonshire25 February 2018
Management not great alot of favouritism going on . Clients challenging behavour full personal care .new staff not told how complex and last 5 minutes .
Pros
Not bad pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work but a lot of changes
Support Worker (Bank) (Current Employee) –  Birmingham4 February 2018
Assist with personal care.
Help towards independent
Activities
Support in the community
Sign language
Finances
Challenging behaviour and how to deal with it.
Working alone and in a group
Cooking or aiding to cook
Pros
Deaf blind people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Education Administrator (Former Employee) –  Kettering30 January 2018
I enjoyed working at the college, the team were very friendly. Management needed sorting out when I was there a few years ago, not sure if this has been sorted yet. Diverse and busy place to work.
Pros
Schoool holidays off, life-long friends made
Cons
Pay is basic. College on the A14 so on days i didn't have a car it was a long walk
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Job, Little Support, No Advancement
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Scarborough29 January 2018
I absolutely love the actual Job. It is varied, and fun. BUT it is HARD WORK! Do not apply if you are not willing to fetch carry, climb ladders, crawl around the floor.

There is very little in the way of advancement, and the pay is shockingly low for the level of work needed to run the shop. Performance related pay comes in this April, but is a DEMOTIVATOR in a lot of cases.

Hard to find amazing volunteers, but you need them and when you have them, they are often a pleasure and a chore.

BUT

If youre willing to work hard, for little money, this is the job for you. Very Rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont believe what is said
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Sense east23 January 2018
The advert for the job is misleading, does not give a true picture of the level of disability and behaviours the service user have. Management is poor, and don't expect any support. Training is poor, it does not relate to your work environment. Sense expect you to put the company first and have no work/life balance. Don't expect to work up the job ladder unless your face fits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
volunteer (Former Employee) –  london16 January 2018
I was a volunteer so i did not get paid and i can not realistically provide anybody with any valuable information on this establishment. it is nice, but i only worked there an hour a week
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment to work
Shop Manageress (Current Employee) –  Whitstable, Kent7 January 2018
great place to work, every day is a new challenge. Love it.
Happy to help in the lives of the deaf and blind. I have a great team of volunteers who are the back bone of this business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management, attitude like a High school setting.
SW (Former Employee) –  High Barnet21 November 2017
If you don't mind not having respect and support from management than work here, if you want respect, support and also value your mental health as well as physical health then stay away from here.
Very unprofessional, most management especially main manager is very rude, disrespectful and could not care less about you. I was bullied here and no-one cared. If you are willing to be a puppet and make other people's work life bad then you will get far.
Poor place to work for and nothing is done about bullying here.

Support workers do not get a break, our dinner breaks involved still supporting clients eating as well as eating yourself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Cradley Heath21 November 2017
A typical day at work could be sorting donations/pricing
Handling money/using the till
Keeping shop well stocked, tidy and clean
Communicating with Customers/Staff/Other volunteers
Shop displays
Pros
Free drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Louth, Lincolnshire7 November 2017
I have enjoyed my experiences with this work place. I am a volunteer and have be for the year that I’ve been there. They have put me through 5 training courses which is brilliant. The staff are welcoming and understanding. Really have nothing bad to say about working there. Every day is a new day and something new will always happy to challenge you big there is enough support to help you become a better support worker to the service users. It’s been my pleasure to be apart of the team and that do certainly make you feel apart of there team. Thank you sense for my opportunity and for making my 1job after having my kids a pleasurable one
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  Newhaven29 August 2017
Voluntary so no salary. Great place to work. Lovely staff. Always a fun place to be and you learn a lot of important skills and abilities to use elsewhere
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did enjoy it enjoy my time there.
General Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kidderminster, Worcestershire17 August 2017
I found that it was very different to what I'm used to. The management were very good to us all. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Accrington, Lancashire10 August 2017
I worked at this workplace for four weeks to gain experience to get back into work. It was a very nice place to work and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Friendly staff and lovely customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
voulnteering
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wakefield1 August 2017
brilliant local shop to work with amazing staff with a brilliant knowledge of the shop and all the different jobs to do also work with sense helped me with my confidence and teamwork would definitely recommend this shop to anyone who wants to get involved volunteering or buying items/clothes from there
Pros
friendly people to work with
Cons
not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding place ro work
Learning Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pinchbeck, Lincolnshire12 July 2017
I have worked for sense for almost 10 years. I work in a day centre supporting deafblind individuals and individual with various physical and learning disabilities. I have run sessions, earned by BSL level 1 and undertook a comprehensive training scheme through sense. I support the individuals in all.aspects of theit daily care. I'm hard working and had a lot to offer any company.
Pros
Working monday to friday
Cons
Not appreciated by management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
current Employee
Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands24 June 2017
Supporting the Guys has always been a pleasure and I have seen the people who I have supported over the years have Grown. The job is rewarding has long as you have the attitude and dedication but After spending over 10 years at sense there only so far you can progress in the organisation and if your face fits you will progress but if it don't you stay still. I've always liked working for sense and still do. I would recommend the organisation to anyone who wants to start off in care especially the home I have had the pleasure of working in but unless your face fits you will eventually hit a brick wall in any career progression within sense..
Pros
Trips out Activities
Cons
No career Progression and Unsocialble Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bank work
social tutor (Former Employee) –  Street, Somerset9 June 2017
I worked on the bank team and was able to pick and choose which shifts to take. On the whole an ok company to work for, but couldn't comment on what it's like to work for them permanently
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sense. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 107 reviews
552
428
315
23
19

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture