SEMICHEM

SEMICHEM Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow19 December 2019
Customer's are what made the job worth getting out of bed for but the senior management were a joke didn't encourage you to better yourself and gave you no support , I felt as if I were just a number glad to be out of it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely job
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Blairgowrie27 September 2019
I had this job as a Saturday job when I was still at school and continued it when I was at college a couple days a week. Really enjoyed it, friendly staff, good money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great time with Semichem
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen12 September 2019
Enjoyed working at Semichem. The Store Manager was very helpful. Enjoyed working with the team. My daily tasks included cash management and handling. We provided excellent customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly Workplace
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Peterhead21 June 2019
Friendly work colleagues and a strong team to work with. Nice environment to work within, can pick up extra shifts when available but would like more contracted hours
Pros
staff discount
Cons
saturday job (would like more regular hours)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Customer Assistance, Part Time (Current Employee) –  Thurso3 January 2019
working here is one of the best places, everyone gets on and we are always polite to customers. the hardest part of the job is getting stock out and serving customers at Christmas time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Kirkcaldy, Fife22 August 2018
My job was very fun, I dealt with lovely customers and picked up what to do very quickly, and I had an amazing experience working with new people and memebers of the community.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Long hours, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting point
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Armadale, West Lothian21 August 2018
Was a good Saturday job to have when at school - good for some more money and get me in to working life and earning a living. Lovely staff and a good work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
SENIOR SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Kirkcaldy, Fife28 March 2018
great time working for this company,great staff everyday different always kept on your toes.staff all fantastic,loved meating new people everyday and i loved being part of a team
Pros
staff discount
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hands on in shop floor, stocking shelves
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Inverness13 March 2018
Stock replenishment and ordering, till checks staff training

Most enjoyable part, reaching targets set by head office
Hardest part dealing with shop lifters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
deputy Manager (Current Employee) –  retail26 February 2018
Different everyday and I get to meet new people. The team I work with are fantastic and work very hard. We are a family within kin the workplace and help each other when needed. we just don't like the stairs we have to walk up and down with delivery every week
Pros
Good team
Cons
stairs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Deputy Manager (Former Employee) –  Fife8 February 2018
Fun place toeork, great staff atmosphere. Good opportunities to progress. Looked after by company in time I worked there. Good holiday entitlement. Enjoyed my time there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semichen
Senior Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterhead, Aberdeenshire22 November 2017
Great company to work for, they offer continuous support and are keen to listen to new ideas and any grievances. The staff there were a friendly bunch who helped each other and worked as a team.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
On the job training, no actual training scheme
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disappointing
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Consett1 November 2017
This job was none stop. Which I really didn't mind! But, you did not know your shifts from one day to the next and they would change them very quickly too. you never really knew where you stood.
Pros
working with the public
Cons
not knowing shifts from one minute to the next
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy atmosphere
House keeping (Former Employee) –  Strabane, County Tyrone27 September 2017
A busy atmosphere, constantly go go go. Always happy to see new customers everyday, especially those who were recommended to visit by previous customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent staff
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leven, Fife22 August 2017
Brilliant to work for, have no negative things to say about the staff and workplace enviroment, Good hours and local shops in the available area for easy access.
Pros
Various shops and location near by
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh15 August 2017
Good place to work, friendly staff. Breaks are paid if under an hour.
Managers are flexible and try to give you the time off you need.
Never have to work beyond your finishing time.
Pros
Free breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Belfast, County Antrim19 July 2017
A lot of customer service required as well as operating tills, deliveries working out the back loading and unloading as well as obtaining the ability to work flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The will only employ you if you are female.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Broxburn, West Lothian15 July 2017
Men are not employed by this company. Only gossipy, nasty women get in.

Don't bother with this one, unless you are middle-aged, female, and enjoy spreading lies about people.
Pros
It's nearby
Cons
Cramped store, poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Retail Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glasgow20 March 2017
my day at semichem was fun and productive always had a laugh with the work colleagues I learned a lot of new retail skills. the hardest part of the job was trying to keep out for drugies or alcoholics and shop lifters while doing you daily tasks.
Pros
great teamwork
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy, happy, fun and friendly
Senior Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Blairgowrie5 January 2017
great understanding boss, great team to work with, very busy shop and hours always go fast.. happy wee shop! have never worked for such a well run company/shop.
Pros
brilliant management
Cons
none really!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SEMICHEM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 30 reviews
519
43
33
23
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.0Culture