Selfridges Employee Reviews

Found 331 reviews matching the search See all 350 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Purchase Ledger Assistant (Former Employee) –  Leicester14 January 2019
Only benefit of working here would be the discount

-Poor management and of delegating workload - rewarded by your hard work of being given other incompetent members of staff to do
-Incredibly b**hy immature colleagues
- very poor salary and no progression
- very unprofessional behaviour by other members of staff- not a nice working environment with a lot of negative attitude by others
Pros
Nice office, great discount
Cons
Colleagues, salary, no progression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Greater Manchester6 January 2019
Incredible company with amazing benefits for workers. Designer clothes and accesories. providing great food and products from all around the world. Amazing company to work for given the opportunity
Pros
discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London6 January 2019
Working for Selfridges was an unexpected experience as I learned so many new things, met completely new people and I was able to network with amazing people as well as working with an amazing team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed environment, fun place to work
Sales assistant menswear (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands manchester30 November 2018
good team memebers
good culture
good insentives
managers understanding
customers are respectful
highly respected brand name
great team bonding games in morning
Pros
great discount
Cons
commison varies drastically based on department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London28 November 2018
Selfridges is a great place to work in terms of how you feel a sense of fun working there with all of its happenings and workplace culture. Also working in a department store is always better in my opinion, rather than a stand-alone store because you feel a bit more freedom with how big the Selfridges stores are, there are always things to see.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Kurt Geiger
BRAND AMBASSADOR (Current Employee) –  London26 November 2018
Worst management I have ever, EVER come across. The rota is unfair, the hours and days are unbearable. 1% commision is so low compared to other brands in selfridges. Payroll always get my wage incorrect. They dont pay you holiday and there is limited sick pay. When I fell very ill I ran out of sick pay and had no money for months. The managers are unorganised, unfair and very lazy and unproffesional. It seems most managers across selfridges are this way.
Pros
discount
Cons
long hours, unfair rota
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A prestige environment and friendly busy environment.
Sales Assistant Main duties (Former Employee) –  London7 November 2018
Your day is very much different to the next. Meeting people all the time helping them identify their needs.

Having attention to detail and very good communication.Polite and courteous at all times has being professional.
Pros
Staff Discount Benefits
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I grew up at Selfridges and loved the place
Computer Service Delivery Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Oxford Street, Greater London7 November 2018
Selfridges really will hold a very important place in my heart. I 1st joined when I was 21 and left when i was 42 so I think that says a lot about how muck I enjoyed working their.
Pros
Just a great, fun place to work
Cons
I had just got to the stage where I needed a change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place to work
TAILOR FITTER (Former Employee) –  Oxford Street5 November 2018
Too many management layers who all look at everyone under them with jealousy. They talk about development and your future but this doesn't come true unless you are up the managers ****. The only good thing are the other workers on the floor, all very nice and friendly. There is NO work life balance only work work work. Your are there to serve the rich.
Pros
n/a
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London24 October 2018
Really Interesting Place
Good Environment
Amazing Values
Great trainings
Positive managers
I suggest everyone to have a work experience here.
It will teach you really useful things
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working environment review
Brand Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Central London22 October 2018
Was fraught with immense superficial atmosphere. Where there is an vast array of ego's to contend with.

Somewhat overbearing emphasis, on the notion of physical beauty, coupled with vanity.
Pros
meal discounts
Cons
long hrs, frustrating, arrogant clientele at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London13 October 2018
It was one of the best lace I have worked in. The amount I have learned from it, is undesirable. The people you work with and you serve are different from any other place I have been working since.
Pros
Great challenge
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bond Street Station8 October 2018
its good place to work meet a lot of nice people gain a lot of skills aswell as luxury customer service skills. management is great people are very passionate about the job however very kind and welcoming especially to the newbies and yeah overall a very fun place to work as theres always something going on
Pros
meet good people, amazing bathroom facilities, eg shower straightners, blowdryer, mirrior ect
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
customer services (Former Employee) –  Bond Street Station20 September 2018
Great atmosphere
Met lots of celebrities
Kids getting to choose as well as have fun
Pay was great
Will do it all over again
close to home
Always enjoyed helping
Pros
Fun
Cons
Swaps.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To work as Cctv controller and a door Supervisor.
DOC CLEARING (Former Employee) –  Cleaning19 September 2018
To do my best to support the security group including monitoring the interior and exterior of the company, checking to make sure that certain doors are locked when they are supposed to be and reporting my suspicious activity to the local police department immediately.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency Staff
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London19 September 2018
I was agency staff so missed out on some benefits that real staff had. Other than that great working environment, although at times the staff would be slightly rude especially to agency staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  London16 September 2018
It is a good company to work with, it is hard but that's the job, the radio goes is on all the time, they treat you well they are nice people all the staff are being nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Supervisor at Agent Provocateur (Former Employee) –  London2 September 2018
Work/life balance doesn't exist due to the opening hours and shift patterns. Getting into the store and on the shop floor takes at least 10 mins reducing the time of your breaks and start time at work. Despite this it's a fairly friendly place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For retail, it doesn't get more typical
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London30 August 2018
This is a typical department store place of employment. High staff turn-over. They should probably focus on some sort of career progression plan in place for employees that aren't there as a temporary job.
Pros
Staff discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be hard work mentally
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  London30 August 2018
it isn't as easy as it sounds working there but if you can manage the stress it can be very very very rewarding. The money is good too but london life is expensive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Selfridges. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 350 reviews
5144
4100
363
222
121

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Selfridges Reviews by Location