Screwfix Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick moving and innovative
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  London / Gatwick Airport, West Sussex17 December 2017
A very service focused business that reacts quickly to market changes and in fact has helped redefine its own market. Demands on Store managers are very Audit and Process heavy and the structure of the business is rigid to its framework.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mangement will make you feel little, gets boring / repetaive
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swansea, Swansea16 December 2017
I'm currently working for Screwfix alongside Universtiy,

If you working in the main store of your area expect it to be busy.

Learning at the job can be frustrating at times as there are so many things to take into account.

The management is last to help you out and the first to give you disciplinary action and make you feel little as possible.

The hardest part is having expectations set very high by managers

If you have good communication skills you will have a great time on SBS (shopfloor) and will make friends easily with your colleagues just be careful of the mangers
Pros
Good work force
Cons
Pay is poor and unreasonable for the level of work required for partime and full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol16 December 2017
A good company to work for. Good bonus scheme. Alot of hard working individuals. Good career progression. Always had good customer experiences and good customer feedback.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Trade sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Leamington Spa, Warwickshire12 December 2017
enjoyable work environment friendly staff hours can be long as store closes at 8pm weekdays unfortunately management work hours around what suits them and not what helps others or company needs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to work for
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Scotland12 December 2017
job role itself is good not to hard of a graft.
learned how to use the systems and how to use the gun to put away stock in the right locations.
management is good.
Pros
none
Cons
no full time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont look after staff
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon11 December 2017
Used to be a nice place to work but in last couple of months have become more target and results driven and less interested in their people.
Quick to throw disciplinaries at anyone for anything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
trade manager (Former Employee) –  Guildford, Surrey7 December 2017
my team was very good at their job which made it a bit more easier for me , no aspect of promotion within the company , I was stuck in rut with no signs of progressing through the company and no wage rise .
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Account Support Representitive (Former Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset6 December 2017
Working for Screwfix is just OK. The hours are OK, the pay is OK, the job is OK. But there isn't much chance for advancement and there is no flexibility in my day to day routine
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Poor Middle Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh1 December 2017
Great company to work for Easily work for them again don’t expect you to be up to speed straight away give you a few weeks to settle in really enjoyed my time working for them
Pros
Discount
Cons
Open 12hours a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New Basford30 November 2017
It is great place to work, management are great, cant do enough for you. There used to be a supervisor that thought she was the bees knees but was a complete idiot and self centred, but luckily they realised they couldn't cope with what this job entailed so they left. It can be hard work, but with the right team its fantastic.
Pros
Management
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ellesmere Port, Cheshire27 November 2017
when i first started it was great however as time went by they became very controlling and stopped looking after workers. You get no praise for work you do
Pros
B&Q discount
Cons
Management, customers, everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Braintree22 November 2017
Typical day consisted of serving customers, answering phone calls, calling other stores, accepting delivery, putting delivery away.

Management were brilliant, all positive and happy to help whenever.
Pros
management
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intimidatimng at times but a good time overall
Customerv assistant (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol21 November 2017
A typical day at Screwfix consisted of a lot of work. You start to realise as your time there progresses that you end up doing a lot more work than more senior members of staff.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Expected to do a lot more work than the managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Screwfix
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ilford, Greater London21 November 2017
I had bad times n good times
Its all about helping customer And gave ur best serivces and do the task ahead of ur and keep on asking silly questiin and its okk
Pros
No good
Cons
Silly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be demanding
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset14 November 2017
A typical day is to answer all calls they come in and deal with all queries in a professional, confident and friendly manner. I have learnt how to deal with challenging customers and to keep calm under pressure. The hardest part is staying calm when customer shout at you and not to take is personally. The most enjoyable part is working as part as a close team.
Pros
workplace comfert
Cons
challenging people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oh what a life
General Assistant (Full time) (Former Employee) –  Reading14 November 2017
If you are looking not to progress, get treated like dirt by specific management and enjoy a really good job!, then this place is not for you.

Awful management, aside from one. Life and Work balance is appauling, hours are awful, communication is poor and it seems management are happy to tell you where you are 'going wrong' when they do nothing themselves.

Oh what a life.

Please, steer clear. It's not difficult to find a better job. Believe me, I have.
Pros
I found a better job within a week.
Cons
Please see above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Stafford, Staffordshire9 November 2017
The work is easy and the salary is good. However the work is tedious. The most enjoyable part of the job is clocking out. And the hardest part of the job is staying there for 8 hours.
Pros
good salery
Cons
night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Trade Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancaster, Lancashire9 November 2017
A typical 8 hour day consists of personal face to face engagement with customers; which has enabled me to become more confident.
Multiple beneficial factors like pensions but also discounts at other stores as well as ScrewFix itself.
Progression is always a topic of discussion, so if you are wanting to better one self, then ScrewFix is the place for you!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, good customers
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Byfleet, Surrey9 November 2017
Enjoyed working the company for the two years that i was there for, especially the customers and my colleagues approach to the work. It also helped me widen my knowledge in certain areas in separate trades.
Pros
Sociable environment, enjoyed the customers company, good pay
Cons
Under-staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but boring
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Redditch8 November 2017
one of those jobs for me that just felt tiresome and reletless, there was talk of promotion from within but when i got to that level i found out they like to move you store. i couldnt travel 30 miles and so hit a barrier within the company. otherwise fair wage fair work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Screwfix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 580 reviews
5168
4173
3115
255
169

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture