Screwfix Employee Reviews for Customer Service Representative

Found 81 reviews matching the search See all 641 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Inclusive Workplace
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Amersham25 August 2018
Days are very busy but, co-workers are helpful and enjoyable to work with. Sales rewards are available during certain sales periods. Managers are generally good but the management, of breaks, could be better as some days you would not receive your deserved breaks as adequate time hasn't been left between other co-workers breaks and the ending of your shift.
Pros
Good Co-Workers
Cons
Poor Management of Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and thriving workplace
Customer Service Representative (Key Accounts) (Former Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset7 December 2018
A vast array of opportunities await at Screwfix, a thriving environment where everybody knows everybody. Based in a small town with the mindset of a big city company its by no mistake they are one of the nations biggest retailers.
Pros
Good social aspect
Cons
Genuinely nothing springs to mind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wandsworth30 July 2018
Terrible place to work.
Managers don't see the problems. Don't want to deal with it.
They don't know how to manage staff.
People with different color will not be told to do there job.
Only 3 people will do deliver while others will just talk.

For overall Screwfix don't care for staff
No air conditioning in summer!!! SERIOUSLY!!! SAFETY SHOES AND JEANS IN SUMMER.
No water points just tap water for you to use.
Only few small fans for the whole store.
No overtime
Unpaid 30 min lunch break.
When it comes to payslips.Hard to figure it out if you have been payed Bank Holiday (extra)
Pros
You can hide and be on a phone for an hour no one notice.
Cons
No overtime /unpaid lunch /no air-conditioning in summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great colleagues
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Llanelli, Carmarthenshire14 December 2018
Fast paced home improvement outlet where customer service excellence is delivered daily. Fast paced and friendly supportive team of colleagues. Up to date stock levels delivered and online orders delivered quickly and accurately
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable, overall good company, but stressful sales goals
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  North East19 September 2018
Work hours are given with plenty of advance and working here is certainly reliable. Chances for progression.
Learned a lot about sales to go with customer service skills.
Management is the pitfall as the area managers and branch manager (in my experience) can be poor in terms of encouragement. There is a significant amount of pressure on the Trade Plus team and if the sales aren't going well for the week, the managers make it known. It can be discouraging and stressful.
The sales assistant and supervisors on the team in general are a great lot though. Sense of family with it.
Overall, Screwfix side of things is good but Plumb and Electricfix need to focus more on encouraging staff than making them feel like nothing is ever good enough.
Pros
Discounts for Screwfix and sister company B&Q. Regular hours.
Cons
Working Trade+ means more pressure and stress; unreachable goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work only left because of uni
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bognor Regis8 September 2018
Working here was a great time and everyone is treated very well would have happily stayed for a lot longer was it not for moving away for university, wouldn't mind working for the company in the future
Pros
Good money and discount
Cons
Late finishes/early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t bother
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  South East London, Greater London13 October 2018
Wouldn’t bother at all
Mangment don’t train you probably they leave it to others and then slag new people down
If your full time you get special treatment
Part time people do everything
No team ethic
Just don’t bother
Pros
Pay
Cons
Loads
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work!
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Midlands18 April 2018
Over 2 years service and still treated like a nothing/nobody. The management employed have no idea what they're doing and are thrown into the deep end on their first shift putting the whole store in jeopardy. Screwfix has a high turnover!! Do not even waste your time applying as you will soon want to leave asap. The list goes on for cons for this place!
Pros
You may find a few people you get on with and make friends.
Cons
Rota's are never done in time and changed last minute.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Yeovil5 July 2018
Screwfix are a brilliant company to work for, always room to progress or change field. Only downside to the company is a poor salary compared to competitors such as Travis Perkins.
Pros
Great career progression
Cons
Poor salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours and great pay
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hersham, Surrey29 March 2018
Screwfix is a great Company to work for as a student as they have a good rate of pay and are very flexible with working hours, i have gained a lot of confidence working with the public and my work colleagues.
Pros
Great pay & Flexible hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Workington, Cumbria22 April 2018
I used to enjoy my job for years when I first started 5years ago, good people tow ork with and a good team. nall that has changed now, it is awful place to work with a bad management team and mostly backstabbers!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplacw
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Newhaven, East Sussex28 May 2018
Great place to work. Easy to learn, supportive team members, understanding management and you get a good balance. Very good pay as well. Never a dull day.
Pros
Good money
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire3 April 2018
treat you with respect and willing to help nice bunch excelent progression oppertunities in the company for anyone looking to make a carrrer of it give it a go
Pros
decent wage fun job
Cons
lil short staffed at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, Devon12 February 2018
I love working in screwfix it's great meet lots of new people that are so nice. Only downside is now I'm no longer a student I'm still only on a 16 hour contract but I do have lots of over time which helps :)
Pros
The managers and work ethics
Cons
None its great
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be demanding
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset14 November 2017
A typical day is to answer all calls they come in and deal with all queries in a professional, confident and friendly manner. I have learnt how to deal with challenging customers and to keep calm under pressure. The hardest part is staying calm when customer shout at you and not to take is personally. The most enjoyable part is working as part as a close team.
Pros
workplace comfert
Cons
challenging people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job, relaxed work environment
Customer Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Yeovil, Somerset12 February 2018
The call centre is quite relaxed with easygoing management that are supportive.
Quite a dull day however with little rewards but very easy and doesn't cause any stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All smoke a mirrors.
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lancaster9 January 2018
It's not the "career" they make it out to be in the interview process.

all managers I seemed to work for only seemed to take any notice of yes men and people who'd tell them everything is okay when clearly it wasn't.
Pros
20% Staff discount
Cons
High turn around in staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  West Drayton, Greater London21 February 2018
Leant A Lot Of New And Exiting Stuff Was Really Good Learning Kurb For Me And Enjoyed It Very Much. Was Really Nice. Had A Lot Of Fun And Learnt A Lot.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best thing about the place is that you'll rack up a good stretch of walking distance each day. But that's it.
Relish/customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Wincanton4 October 2017
Nice people who work there, but if you want to progress for such a huge company you've come to the wrong place. No real incetives or culture to the place. You're just a number, simple as that.

Your typical warehouse working environment which suits any labour market.
Pros
Canteen.
Cons
No opportunites to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Screwfix Employee
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Penicuik, Midlothian13 September 2017
I currently work for Screwfix, this is not a job that I want to be doing for the rest of my life, I enjoy working with people and being able to help them. I work great on my own or as part of a team. I have great knowledge in customer service, administration and cash handling. I pick things up very quickly so I am more than happy to take on any training.
Pros
Working with the public and being able to share my knowledge with customer.
Cons
Quiet, not being pushed to my full potential.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport