Screwfix Employee Reviews in Bristol

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 638 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good company to work for
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol16 December 2017
A good company to work for. Good bonus scheme. Alot of hard working individuals. Good career progression. Always had good customer experiences and good customer feedback.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intimidatimng at times but a good time overall
Customerv assistant (Former Employee) –  Bristol, Bristol21 November 2017
A typical day at Screwfix consisted of a lot of work. You start to realise as your time there progresses that you end up doing a lot more work than more senior members of staff.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Expected to do a lot more work than the managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked for bleak pay
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bristol area21 February 2017
I worked at screwfix for over 4 years, starting as a service assistant from school, and progressing to a Supervisor before moving elsewhere.

There is a brutal bully culture between higher management extending its way down work force. Between all the unessecerry KPIs, auditable requirements and mountain of health and safety, as a manager in this place the pressure is unbelievable considering the peanuts they have you working for.

Service assistants are given false promises about extra hours and progression they are unlikely to see in the timescale that was promised to them.

Supervisors are essentially underpaid managers, having nearly identical responsibilities, but given half the training and resources and left to get on with it.

Being my first role, I didn't know how bad I had it until I moved into a different business. The culture is shocking, the treatment is shocking, the hours are shocking and the expectations are shocking.

Avoid like the plague.
Pros
Made some lifelong friends in my time there.
Cons
Stress coming from the top of the chain working its way down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked like a mule
Management Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bristol4 November 2016
Worked at the Yate store and the staff would rather chat and be on their phones than helping a supervisor.

No help from a manager as you haven't been working there long and they pretty much call you a liar.

Over worked coming into work ill and even on a day off ask you to come in to cover someone who has a sore throat.

Very sad to work with and I highly advise stay away from Yate
Pros
Can go to the toilet
Cons
Over worked, rapid weight loss, no good training, no help, everyone out for themselves, no progression unless you screw someone over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too serious
Supervisor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Bristol28 June 2016
do not cater for employees with children, take everything way too serious, treat you alright untill you make a mistake.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walked before pushed
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bristol1 March 2016
Terrible i wouldn't work for the company again if you know the area manager and i mean if you know him on a personal basis you go far

Very clicky, if you want progression it is not happening

First manager lovely bloke couldn't fault him second one flapped to much and ignored issues around him third manager was out to get you down everyday and made you feel his problems a lot of favoritism and third manager spoke so rude of other people didn't his relise repercussions.

On top of that i love my colleges they were fun and lovely team but they will get you in the back for a chance to put you down

i could do my job but the lack of support is terrible always eager to throw you under the bus when not doing so well.

Overall it started great ended bad.

also you we made to feel like horrible by customers/staff so have to be confident and let it go
Pros
somewhat good pay, okay hours
Cons
you have to work through your breaks, paid wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
service assistant (Former Employee) –  bristol13 February 2015
the most awful place i have ever worked the management is terrible the work is terrible i couldn't think of anything worst than work there again i would rather blow my leg off then worked there again i have learned anything because its that bad the most enjoyable thing was LEAVING
Pros
leaving
Cons
starting
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't bother says ex employee
Customer Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bristol, ENG22 April 2014
Don't expect help with training from management because you won't get it, be expected to work extra hours which you are meant to do as free to them,expect no breaks but do expect loads of letters of concern and disiplinarys if you do something remotely wrong,they say that the customer is number 1 but its more like 100, staff are great but its the higher management that are bringing them ddown. It has a ridiculous turnover of staff the branch I worked at in bristol had 11 staff members come and go in 2 months!! Its all about the money and blue sky thinking quotes such as one team one dream. Work for b and q same owners better company!
Pros
good pay and pension
Cons
outdated fusion system, really poor managemeny
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 9Report

See more Screwfix reviews

You may want to try: