Scope UK Employee Reviews

Found 271 reviews matching the search See all 272 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming and Safe
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rochdale22 November 2018
I worked as a part time volunteer and every volunteer and payed staff member was welcoming and friendly, and helped me progress throughout my time there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but at times slow
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands14 November 2018
There was not much to do at the charity shop, but when there was, the work was fun. Mostly watched over the shopping area, although there weren't a lot of customers so I often had to give out donation bags. Sometimes I would get to label and stock clothes or organise a display. The other workers were friendly, so it was a good environment.
Pros
Meet different types of people
Cons
Can be boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Amersham13 November 2018
Volunteering at Scope was so fun and exciting, I always looked forward to the days that I was going in. I’m so happy that I had the opportunity to spend some time with this wonderful charity.
Pros
Paid travel, good lunch and breaks, friendly staff
Cons
Small shop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCOPE Placement
Helper (Former Employee) –  Leeds, West Yorkshire5 November 2018
I enjoyed today at Scope learning to listen to Management and learn how to clean and polish items and also to fold clothes and pack them.
Scope can help people!
Pros
Improved confidence
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace providing....
Retail assistant (Current Employee) –  Harrogate25 October 2018
In my experience at Scope, i think i have had alot of fun volunteering tere. The peope are nice, the customers are nice and most importantly your hours are flexible to suit you. The downside however is when there aren't enough volunteers. The workplace becomes hectic and you end up doing jobs that noramlly other people do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much to do not enough staff
Manager (Former Employee) –  East Anglia18 October 2018
Although it's a charity being employed by them is more like working for a labour camp.
Not happy to just have donations from the public and sell them, they want you to sell raffle tickets offer will writing services. Sell new goods bought in by the company, as well as trying to keep the shop tidy, well displayed and build relationships with customers. There are never enough volunteers of either sound mind or able bodied enough to achieve all this.
Pros
Cheap clothes
Cons
Expected to do more than whats possible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm and welcoming workplace, with outstanding staff
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  St. Neots, Cambridgeshire17 October 2018
I personally had a wonderful experience volunteering at this charity shop. The staff were lovely and verry supportive. it was a pleasure spending time with them, and helping raise money for this amazing charity.
Pros
Free tea coffee and biscuits. Rewarding job.
Cons
Long hours and sometimes there are no customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, friendly staff
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Warrington14 October 2018
The staff there were always kind, always friendly and understanding. I loved the atmosphere of the shop everyone worked as a team, everyone was happy.
Pros
friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dewsbury, West Yorkshire9 October 2018
No day was ever the same. New stock arriving daily.
Always kept busy each shift.
Lovely team members.
Always willing to lend a helping hand. Polite, friendly and punctual
Pros
friendliness
Cons
unpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy , Efficient , Productive and Enjoyable
KEY Voulenteer (Current Employee) –  Eastbourne, East Sussex3 October 2018
A typical day at work starts off with signing in and undergoing the tasks the manager has assigned to the team.
This includes working on the shop floor (operating the till, tidying and hanging clothes on off the racks) or working in the basement and back room. (storage room tidying and delivery management)

I learned how to be more confident and be better at multitasking I also gained work experience in retail and customer service.

The management are caring and understanding.

The workplace culture is fast paced, comedic and professional

Hardest part of the job is trying to make deadlines when there is a short number of staff and when there is a storage room clean out

What I enjoy the most is leaving at the end of the day knowing that I put a smile on someone's face and that I helped out my community.
Pros
Staff discount on clothing and items, long lunch breaks, Reinbursh travel expensives
Cons
6 to 8 hours of intensive unpaid work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Scope UK?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Apprenticeship (Former Employee) –  Trowbridge, Wiltshire29 September 2018
I stayed with Scope for 2 weeks, only because I had to leave the company due to unforseen circumstances.
Great place to work, Friendly, jokey staff and very laid back. I am sorry to have left them, but my health must come first.
The shop was always kept beautifully tidy (my job, and the Till work) But when I first arrived it was like that anyway.
The manager was very fair and understanding. I could see she had worked as a manager before, because of her way she spoke and how she led her team.
It has been a good experience of knowing her family and Mucking in where necessary.
Pros
No pressure
Cons
You have to do, what you plan to do that day and stick to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Sutton Coldfield28 September 2018
The shop itself is successful as it’s charity shop
It raises money for disabled children who can afford the necessary items
The staff are lovely and are so positive and helpful
Pros
Good course
Cons
Low pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and helpful. At scope they are always willing to make any adjustments needed for wheel chair users.
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  United Kingdom28 September 2018
I have enjoyed working at scope and meeting new people, gaining confidence and work experience, also being able to help others and make a difference in my community is definitely a plus.
Pros
Making new friends and gained work experience.
Cons
Not enough volunteer roles available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying and Educational
Work Experience Placement (Former Employee) –  Coventry27 September 2018
Working in Scope taught me time management skills and communication skills as sometimes it was difficult to manage customers even when it was my break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good charity work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beckenham15 September 2018
Work experience through college. I enjoyed because was a charity shop. I enjoyed helping people and sorting out stock with the shop manager. I was a good experience for me.
Pros
Voluntary if you have time to spear
Cons
Voluntary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
scope
scope Driver (Current Employee) –  Buckinghamshire9 September 2018
rubbish overwork and underpaid feel unwell after a days work just wouldn't recommend or work for them again

like i say never again

management are on u left right and centre

enjoyable part i suppose is chatting to some of the loving volunteers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 September 2018
productive daily outcome, very busy store and friendly staff

good management team working under tight deadlines.
fun working atmosphere and high turn over of stock
Pros
relaxed when not busy
Cons
busy most of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Voluntary Worker (Former Employee) –  Beverley4 September 2018
It was a great experience and helped me to improve on certain skills and I appreciate the time they gave to me to help move my career life forward and also give me the tips and advice I need for later life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working in scope
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Peterlee22 August 2018
Learnt a lot of skills in retail I priced stock I sorted the stock I off code items to put new stock on the shop floor also sorted children's books ;video games ,dvd .
Pros
Giving me experience in retail and customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lincolnshire21 August 2018
Epos system and pdq machine Customer servicing dressing windows merchanting answer phone taking messages maintenance shop following companies policy
Pros
Bring your own dinner
Cons
I work 8 hours three days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Scope UK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 273 reviews
5138
486
334
212
13

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture