SCC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Management Support
Project Coordination Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands28 March 2018
Need a serious review of management at director level.

SCC used to be a great place to work with talented professional individuals who took pride in their role.
Over the last 5 years i have watched the company destroy itself to the point they are now unable to retain staff with a staff turnover of enormous proportions.

Continual staff changes have resulted in severe lack of company and process knowledge.
Pros
Local to home
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's dificult to find the words
PS Engineer (Former Employee) –  North East6 February 2018
SCC is a family run business. SCC has a successful, long-standing management team. They have successfully maintained a 1970’s management culture of controlling employee behaviour through intimidation and fear.

The whole business is built in silos with conflicting objectives, everyone is defensive and a blame culture is prevalent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company to work for
Service Delivery Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham5 December 2017
The pay and benefits are good if you are in the right role but other than that I cannot think of any reason to work at SCC, and would not recommend them as an employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  East Midlands27 October 2017
The management promoted poor practises and had very little care for the mental and physical welfare of its employees.

The duties you were expected to perform would change with very little warning and little to no training.

No consultation was encouraged with a 'do as I say' mentality.
Pros
Non
Cons
Too numerous to mention, poor company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work for
Sales (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands20 October 2017
Worst managers/ Team leaders in the operations team ever. This team its not about what you know its who you know as long as your in it with the managers your face fits you get away with anything!!!!!. Not professional at all all from managers to team leaders, worst place ever would never recommend to any one.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything you can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor environment , mismanagement ,no benifits
(Specialist Computer Centre) Warehouse Operative (Current Employee) –  Tyseley5 September 2017
consider carefully a job here ! i can only only speak for the managed services side ,warehouse environment .This large I.T. company is raking in record profits but is not passing any on to the lower paid worker ,there are employees who have worked there for years and not had a pay rise! ,they have also removed any perks that make the job a bit more bearable ,all take no give .
Pros
1 hour lunch break, there used to be 2 x 15 min breaks also but now axed.
Cons
no compassion in the management structire
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very commercially minded
Project Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands29 August 2017
Great people, location not the greatest. Very commercially minded and good experience on that basis. Good project opportunities in the PS space but not so interesting in the DCS projects area.
Pros
Subsidised cafe
Cons
Very commercial
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All be it a short time I enjoyed my time here
Software Solutions (Former Employee) –  Warrington, Cheshire29 July 2017
Having only worked a short time here I found my work colleagues easy to work with. A typical day was dealing with telephone enquiries, keeping CRM system up to date and providing quotations to customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uninspiring place to work
Video Producer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham28 June 2017
A good place to start but it soon becomes apparent that there is little room for progression. The work is demanding and not particularly rewarding, it's no wonder the company has such a huge turn over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Left without support
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Basing, Hampshire19 May 2017
Poor management support and understanding of delivery roles.
Remote support teams not very responsive
Poor benefits and no social culture
Poor on boarding process
Pros
Great customer
Cons
Poor management and business focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We make IT Work... really?
SCC Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham5 May 2017
A mostly positive view of the company until early 2017 when a sudden and unexpected shift has caused a massive downward spiral in job satisfaction, work ethics, productivity Etc... I currently don't receive a proper or full break if at all and my criticisms of this and the constant under-manning goes unheard.
Pros
at the moment? none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be good if you get the right work
Technical Specialist (Former Employee) –  Nottingham11 April 2017
Depending on the project you get assigned too will greatly determine your thoughts about working here. You could end up traveling all around the country on a project with very little home life and doing work that you find beneath you ability.
The pay is good and if you are located around the Birmingham main office then you have a much better chance of being exposed to more areas for advancement.
The company management style is all about tracking your time about being able to bill it accordingly which can become tedious and puts more focus on that than your actual job.
Immediate managers can forget about you if your on a customer site which isn't always a great thing.
Overall be cautious and ask a lot of questions at an interview!
Pros
Good salary. Potential for career progression
Cons
Can be a lot of travel and long hours. Mangers not great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work if you are hard working
Customer Support Engineer (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands3 March 2017
Like all jobs, at times it can be a stressful working life, but overall the people are very pleasant and will always assist where they can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable workplace
Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Tyseley20 February 2017
servicedesk work is very repetetive.
can be very tedious at times.
Is not very hard to pick up via training but not much progression in a service desk.
Pros
easy to pick up work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of flexibility
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 January 2017
There are so many rules and regulations pertaining to every facet within the office....almost ridiculous. I found the office environment very stifling and management had no real conversation with me even when I made polite requests....anyway this is my own opinion.
Cons
Need permission for virtually everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands2 January 2017
too much negativity despite there being many very intelligent people, company culture has not seemingly changed in a long time and security of a job is non existent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not too bad. Wasn't the one for me.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham UK17 November 2016
This wasn't the right company for me. I certainly think that there are better organisations in this sector.
I was not happy in this job but can see how it might appeal to others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy understaffed office.
Network Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham31 August 2016
Manage a small team of four engineers. Provide technical backup and support. As network manager I schedule the project work load for the engineers and monitor progress. I design new networks / additions to existing networks. Generate capacity and event statistics for the monthly governance meetings. Generate and monitor budget and spend, Negotiate new rates with service providers.

Looking to relocate to the Ipswich area. A simpler lower paid job may be acceptable.
Pros
Well paid, techically challenging. Interesting.
Cons
Excessive hours. travel into Birmingham a nightmare.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure and encouraging employer with training options
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rykneld Primary School30 August 2016
School office work is a mixed and pressure varied with the added benefit of interaction with pupils, parents and outside agencies.
Crucial to have a great rapport with colleagues as there is no time for personal differences, though human nature interferes sometimes.
Need to keep a smile and a level head and the ability to prioritise on a daily basis.
Being in a Learning Environment is a very encouraging and enlightening experience.
Pros
Time off with own children
Cons
Progress within small schools
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oracle Investment
TAM and Lead Pre-sales Oracle Consultant (Former Employee) –  Livingston12 August 2016
SCC wasn't focused on Oracle business and made 5 of a team redundant.

I worked on Tenders, proposal and configuration of hardware and software requirements as well as software licensing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SCC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 133 reviews
532
444
335
29
113

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture