Saga Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search See all 126 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just run ... don’t do it !!!
Facility’s (Former Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent5 June 2019
Saga has got to be one of the worst employers I have ever worked for , they talk the talk but can’t even walk .long hrs for laughable wages middle management are a group of friends that have as much training as a performing chimp and have no people or communication skills what so ever. If you want to get ahead and progress good luck unless you are sleeping with a manager, everyone is always stressed and or crying every day .... good luck you’re going to need it
Pros
Home time
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, but no possibilities to advance
Employee (Current Employee) –  Redhill, Surrey29 April 2019
Although the company provides an excellent working environment, it fails everywhere else. The salary package is not in line with the regional market, there are no possibilities for development and the middle management are not supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Services (Current Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent28 February 2019
Terrible company,
Treat there staff terribly with constant favourites, your timed and monitored every single Minute of the day.
The managers talk down to you, the pay is absoubtly shocking. Some targets impossible to meet if you say 1 wrong thing on the phone you can’t get to your target all as another way of making sure they can pay you next to nothing.
no progression, no care. Working very very hard and not seeing the benefits. 99.9% of staff absolutely despise working there. Do not work there. It’s a black hole of disappointment.
Pros
Free bus
Cons
There aren’t enough bullet points in the world
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt give them the time of day
Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hitchin, Hertfordshire2 February 2019
Expect you to work 24/7 pick up loads of overtime and not pay you, change rota without telling you, add or change calls without telling you - no communication. No confidentiality, office staff will ring and tell you who's off sick and why. Director doesn't care none of them do as long as you work to your bones. Discipline you for being late to calls when they don't allocate you enough travel time.
Pros
Lovely clients
Cons
The whole company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Robs you of all self confidence
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Thanet District, Kent6 September 2018
I worked here for 2 and a half years as a customer service advisor. The job in itself is ok, you get your fair share of grumpy customers but generally people are ok to deal with and you never know what the next call will be about which adds some variety.

The problems I have with this company are that you are basically bullied into saying certain things to customers to get them to either buy something like an add on or to renew regardless of the type of customer you have on the other end of the phone.
If you aren't hitting targets you are threatened with coaching contracts on a regular basis.
Any tiny mistake will have you in HR begging for forgiveness. So demoralizing.

Commission is very easily lost...it seems that they will go out of their way to find a fault with you so you don't get your commission you worked so hard for.

In a nutshell if you really need a job it will get you by ok for a while but I couldn't stay here long term.

Working hours are good if you are part time but full time hours have horrendous shift patterns.

Nice canteen and free parking.
Pros
Nice office and surroundings
Cons
Stressful. Always fear making mistakes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away do not join Saga
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent2 August 2018
I'm based in customer service in Folkestone. I'm earning about £8.15 an hour and don't get sick pay. Someone actually asked me why i bother going to work as my pay is so poor. Manager's will go on about the 'Rem levels' but unless you never go sick, never go non comp, always hit your targets you'll never move up the rem levels. One Saga doesn't exist as call centre staff are treated appallingly compared to other departments. Staff are leaving all the time and morale is rock bottom. No-one listens or cares. Don't fall for the bull they give you at the assessment dsys, progress is virtually impossible from customer services to elsewhere in the business, money is dire, targets not achievable and perks pretty non existent. Just walk away and consider yourself lucky if you never get to work here.
Pros
Home time, private healthcare
Cons
Pay. Management, morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weirdly run
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent27 July 2018
For all their talk of a unified company, no one know what others are doing, so frequently work streams are duplicated. The top bosses, paid huge amounts of money, seem unaware of this. Chaotic. Frustrating. A shame as the brand is placed to benefit from an aging population but it appears not to understand them, except in the most superficial way. Hence the company is not doing very well. Heard people in the call centre are not paid for sick days... v low wages there too.
Pros
Some good staff benefits. Nice workers
Cons
Bad internal comms. Low salaries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great company in the early years
Many various roles (Former Employee) –  All over Kent26 June 2018
As with all big companies, the attention to detail sometimes gets overlooked and the workers become mushrooms (kept in the dark and fed manure) . It's only gone this way in the last 2/3 years and is a great shame, as it was fantastic to work for in the beginning.
Pros
Salary was good
Cons
Where does one start :(
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work
Ticketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent13 June 2018
I enjoyed my time there and thought the people were lovely. Everyone made sure you understood what you were doing and that you were settled in. I thought this was a great atmosphere to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying culture to carers
Carer (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire14 May 2018
Long hours , split shifts, 100 miles a day all over the place
Chaos and terrible shift planning .
Gone really down hill
Don't care about their carers or clients
All about making money
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better than most care companies
mobile social care support worker (Former Employee) –  Hertfordshire2 March 2018
better than most companies in the social care sector but suffers from the chronic underfunding of the sector and the difficulties of trying to compete in with companies which the current government encourage as a race to the bottom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will miss some people.
Claims Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kent25 January 2018
Pushed hard for little reward. Joined because I wanted a career and was enticed in by offers of progression, but that’s really not the case there. I was sold a fib and got worked to the bone for pittance.
Pros
Hometime
Cons
Nothing is what it seems - chase your dreams elsewhere..
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Marketing Executive (Former Employee) –  Folkestone2 January 2018
This is a great company to work for, who look after their staff. I gained so much experience across the whole marketing mix in my time there, both offline and online.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once great company gone downhill
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Thanet, Kent23 September 2017
Once a great company to work for. When Saga was owned by the family of the founder it was the best company I had ever worked for. The only target being excellent Customer service. As soon as a management buy out took place things started to change almost immediately. Sales targets were introduced and gradually increased to an almost unattainable level. Dismissals for failure to hit targets were frequent. Hard earned commission was reduced or removed by failure to include one or two precise words in a telephone conversation with a Customer. System failures were common. Team meetings were no more than an information shower with employees' concerns never passed back up the chain of command. Sadly, Saga had gone the same way as many other companies with only those at the top of the food chain reaping the benefits of the efforts of those at the lower end of the chain. The most objectionable part of the job was having to sell additional products to elderly people that they didn't want or need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pressured workplace
Sales (Former Employee) –  Hastings, East Sussex18 September 2017
The workplace was very pressured and it seemed the more you did the more was wanted from you. The hardest thing was selling additional things to the customer. The most enjoyable was talking to the customer and being able to help them even if they didn't want to take on additional cover.
On the whole I found my colleagues very nice, the management were just management they didn't impress me to that extent. They had targets to meet and that was passed onto us.
The last thing I will say is that Saga need to stay in contact with their company who check references so as to avoid any confusion.
Pros
consessions on insurance & holidays
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Folkestone, Kent16 September 2017
Stressful place to work with poor work life balance due to constantly changing shift patterns. You also get timed for comfort breaks which is time spent going to the toilet. Hardest part of the job is sitting down all day taking call after call. Best part of the job, the people you make friends with.
Pros
The people
Cons
Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
carer
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  St Albans, Hertfordshire6 August 2017
Great company to work for. Office team really improved. Have a four week rolling rota which great. I know when my days off are. Feel well supported in the field by my team leader.
Pros
Care about staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non flexible hours
Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Hertford5 August 2017
Working as a carer means giving up your social life. I worked there when I was young so for me I felt like it was not the right job for me at the time. However, it was great working with the elders and it was very rewarding
Pros
Sense of achievement
Cons
Long and unsociable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent forward thinking Healthcare company
Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Hertfordshire - Community3 August 2017
I love working here!

Great team in the field and lovely clients.The team leaders are always there for you.

Flexible rotas which makes me feel valued.
Pros
Benefits, extra hours and mileage
Cons
Occasional delay in getting the rota out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely clients
Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Community hertfordshire24 May 2017
Lovely clients. Poorly run. Office staff aren't very good. They pester you to do overtime but then over cram your week
They don't tell clients if you are running late and they lie about it
Pros
Lovely clients
Cons
They expect everything and give nothing back
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Saga. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 126 reviews
538
433
325
216
114

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture